We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Peninsula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfree Peninsula to your Saves list
Breakfree Peninsula
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were thrilled to have room 26A as our children hadn't stayed in a high rise apartment before. We had fantastic views of the beach as far as you could see both north and south, and it was amazing both day and night. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms and kitchen, and it was very spacious and comfortable. Our only slight criticism would be that the kitchen was lacking in some utensils which made it a bit difficult. However, most nights we walked up to Cavill Avenue for dinner, and really enjoyed each night. We ate somewhere different each night, and always had something fun to do such as buskers, night markets, etc. The apartment was very clean and every room great views of the beach and surrounds. The pools were heated and we enjoyed our swim, although most of the time was spent at the theme parks. We played tennis one morning as it was overcast, and it only cost us $6 for the hire of the rackets/balls, and the court was free, and we all really enjoyed that. We have great photos and memories of this wonderful place, which is in a fantastic location. We appreciate them having us stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Dear Fiona G,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time with your family. I am particularly pleased to hear that your apartment was very clean and had direct ocean views. I have noted your comments regarding the lack of some utensils and have arranged replacements accordingly.

Fiona G, I thank you once again for your feedback. It is a great tool for us to know what matters to our guests. Guest satisfaction is paramount to us and we are very focussed on the same.

I look forward to seeing you and your family at Breakfree Peninsula in the near future.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    89
    30
    20
    18
See reviews for
194
51
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed in unit 26C and it was absolutely perfect. You could not ask for a better view, the sunrose directly in front of our unit and sitting on the balcony watching the sun come up was amazing. The unit was spotless and very comfortable and spacious. The beds were great and the kitchen was very functional and well stocked with dishes and pots and pans. The decor was a bit dated but for a family vacation unit it was perfect. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and really made our trip perfect allowing us access to the pool after we had checked out as we had a late afternoon flight. I would recommend the Peninsula to anyone looking for a good place to stay at Surfers, the view of the beach is amazing so be sure to request a high up room.

Room Tip: request a high up room to take advantage of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Jwallybrown,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation. I am happy to hear your positive comments regarding our spacious apartments and the views they offer, their cleanliness and the service provided by our front office.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Breakfree Peninsula on your next holiday to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

After booking through the break free website & telling the receptionist if we could have the highest floor possible as we were taking the kids to a highrise for the first time the whole family was excited,after a 12 hour drive we arrived to be told that we have been allocated room 1a ,after explaining to the receptionist that we asked for a higher room we were told that you should have booked direct as there was no instructions giving to them & there was no way we could change your room if we were told we would be on the first floor when booking we could have stayed in a low rise building for half the price,so our 7day holiday was spent in the room adjacent to the banging pool gate & acess door to the covered pool unable to sit on balcony as u had kids constantly staring at u as they entered the pool ,unable to open blinds as constant peering in .THe room itself lacked utensils to cook with basic items like egg flips & utensils .

Room Tip: Don't ask for room1a if you want piece & quiet
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Scott F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

Due to extremely high occupancy levels at the time of your stay, we were unable to allocate your booking to an apartment on the higher floor. As per the terms and conditions which are outlined on our website, whilst we attempt to satisfy all special requests, we are unable to offer a guarantee. I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met upon arrival with the room you were allocated.

I have noted your comments regarding the lack of kitchen utensils and will arrange for replacements as required.

Once again, I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 via mobile

The Breakfree rooms are clean and well equiped. Facilities, pool etc are also clean and tidy. My problem was that we were two families travelling together who had paid same amount for two bedroom deluxe apartments. Unfortunately the apartments were very different. One was nearly twice the size of the other with a large balcony suitable for dining, etc. The other - at the same cost was much smaller but had a Spa bath. The smaller room was not suitable for two adults and two children although it should have been. Both rooms were clean and tidy though. So, not everyone us treated equally here even if you pay the same amount. I would recommend it but only if you could choose which room you got. I would want to get the same value for money as all the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Lobby62,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

All our apartments are privately owned. They are furnished by individual owners and hence differ in their decor. Your booking was for 2 bedroom Deluxe apartments which were allocated accordingly.

I am glad that you found our apartments to be clean and well equipped. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities like the swimming pool.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Second stay at the breakfree peninsula and it was as good as the first time.stay on the 32 floor views where amazing was great to watch the beach while having breakfast and the lights in the evening.Our 2 bedroom appartment had lovely clean renovated bathroom and ensuite which was an added bonus to the lovely spacious apartment.Very central location for getting to the local attractions or for public transport.bonus indoor and outdoor pools are some of the facilities available on site which we made use of.Looking forward to coming back again for future holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear elaine r,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am delighted to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations in all respects.

I look forward to your continued patronage and welcoming you back again on your next holiday.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Wow, what a holiday & what a view!!! We were on the 31st floor (31A), lovely 2 bed apartment,pretty clean,with views from every angle. Watched the whales, close walk to everything, my family had a ball! We enjoyed the pools/sauna/spa/gym on site as well. All staff (Adil-when booking), and the receptionists were all very helpful. Will definitely be going back. Thanx

Room Tip: "Just enjoy yourself, don't let minor things spoil your holiday!!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Linda O,

Thank you for your awesome feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a great time and enjoyed the facilities at Breakfree Peninsula. I am also pleased to hear that our apartments are spacious, clean with direct ocean views and centrally located. It is heartening to note that you found our staff to be helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family once again to Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Have just returned from 3 night stay at Breakfree Peninsular in Apartment 31B. This is 2 bedroom delux. The apartment was really clean and comfortably furnished with 3 large couches, 2 of them leather. The apartments also had a few mirrowed walls which made the apartment appear even more spacious. Bed was very comfortable and the complex is within easy reach to Cavil Avenue, althought you are not disturbed by any night sounds eminating from that area.

The views are spectacular although the sun is best in the morning. The only slight negative I would have is, it took a while to get the shower regulated because it is a hand held unit. I would not hesitate in recommending this room.

Room Tip: Ask for room 31B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear RedMelbourne,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am happy to hear that you found our 2 bedroom Deluxe apartments to be spacious with direct ocean views. I am also delighted to hear about we are centrally located in close proximity to the beach, restaurants, shopping and Cavill Avenue.

I have noted your comment about the hand held shower and will get maintenance to inspect the same.

I look forward to your next stay with us in the near future.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Surfers Paradise Esplanade, BreakFree Peninsula offers sweeping views from the Gold Coast hinterland to the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Just 100 metres to the beach and close to the retail and dining hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers quality, affordable accommodation ideal for a weekend getaway or family holiday. Accommodation options include one, two and three-bedroom apartments, most with stunning ocean views. If you want to pay a small amount more you can live it up Surfers Paradise style in our 2 bedroom deluxe ocean apartments that have been completely refurbished. All apartments feature their own balcony, ceiling fans, hair dryer, in-room safe, Foxtel, security access and intercom, and full kitchen and laundry facilities. Onsite there are many facilities to choose from including three swimming pools, children's wading pool and playground, heated spa, sauna, gymnasium, tennis court, BBQ facilities and in-room massage. We are just down the road from Cavill Mall, the shopping and dining hub of Surfers Paradise, and close to all the action of Surfers Paradise without being surrounded by it all day and night. Directly opposite the beach, BreakFree Peninsula offers family friendly facilities and the perfect location for your Surfers Paradise escape. **PLEASE NOTE** Airconditioning is available in some apartments only. Hence it is on request but subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Maintenance Advise: BreakFree Peninsula Refurbishment Works: 1 October - 19 December 2014 & 27 January to 19 September 2015 From 1 October until 19 December 2014 and 27 January to 19 September 2015 refurbishment work is being undertaken. The work includes some drilling and jack hammering noise between the hours of 8am and 4pm. During the refurbishment dates entry to the property will be partially blocked off and there will be restricted access to some balconies. Until 19 December 2014 the outdoor pool area will be closed until 11am daily. From 27 January until 19 September 2015 the outdoor pool area will be out of operation. The indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout the entire refurbishment period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.