We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy travellers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Island Resort to your Saves list
Paradise Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Paradise Island, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“Happy travellers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with some friends in early April, the resort was great ! friendly staff on check in who helped us with tickets and wheres good to check out.
the room was nice, shame that the restaurant was closed because of clive palmer, the pool and spa were amazing.
Definitely will be back to this resort, so close to everything and such a good price ! :)

Room Tip: one bedroom rivers are spacious and have great views of the river and surfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Sophie,

We're so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have taken the time to report back to us. As a Manager, it's great to get such positive feedback about our reception staff. I also think they're doing an awesome job.

We're working on re-opening the restaurant, hopefully next time you're back we'll have made some progress in that regard.

The pool is an idyllic retreat from the hustle and bustle of the Gold Coast. Such a peaceful place to relax and unwind (or recover).

We look forward to having you back again soon for another holiday in Paradise. Thanks again Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you for another wonderful stay. Couldn't believe it was the same place when we walked in - refurbished rooms are looking great. This resort has an excellent location, walking distance to Surfers Paradise but surrounded by peaceful waterways and private gardens. Great to see the new managers giving the building the TLC it needs. Customer service couldn't be faulted. Rooms had all the basic essentials and housekeeping had done an excellent job. Hats off to the new managers, we look forward to staying there again soon and would highly recommend the place. Thanks for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Would recommend a 2 bedroom river view apartment - fully self catering. Beautiful views from the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a great review. Thanks Zoe. We really have been working hard since mid-December to improve the quality of stay for our guests, and feedback like yours makes it all worthwhile. We've come a long way in a short space of time. The general look and feel of the Resort has improved dramatically (and will look even better after the internal painting has finished), and the standard of rooms has also risen. Thankfully our individual room owners have responded to guests and our feedback with many quality room improvements like new carpets, furniture, airconditioning, painting etc.

We dont plan to stop here either, we're pushing forward everyday with our plans to return the Resort to the very high standard it set many years ago. We have some great plans we intend to act on to provide even more features and services to our guests in the future. Hopefully next time you stay with us you'll be able to enjoy some of those new features.

Spread the word. Paradise Island Resort is a great place to stay for a great holiday in Paradise on a budget.

Thanks again Zoe, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we loved the location of the resort. It was right near Surfers which was nice and parking was included which help keep expenses down for us
Upon arrival we checked in and got a room that had not been cleaned what so ever. We luckily got another room (the lady at the front was. Wry good about it) but it ended up smelling like someone had smoked in it.
We had also found out that you only get one roll of toilet paper which was odd - if we wanted more it was$1.50. We have stayed in a hostel for a lot longer and didn't have to pay for more paper which was odd to us.
Not sure if we would stay again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Caity,

Thank you for your feedback. Our location and our free parking are two great features of our Resort. Thanks for pointing that out. I'm sorry the rest of your stay was not up to your expectations. We have been working very hard to improve the Resort since the change of management in December, but these things do take time. One of the policies we inherited from the previous Management and something that we have received a lot of negative feedback on is the issue relating to supply of toilet paper. We have now implemented a policy of providing every room with extra toilet paper. We appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests and we hope you change your mind about staying with us again. I'm sure you will notice some of the other improvements we are making around the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a brilliant position...I loved sitting on the verandah every afternoon after a long day at nursing school....the price was exellent...the room was nice....the pool area is beautiful and this place is very quiet...nice and peaceful...I stayed for 2 weeks and the only thing negative I have to say is that there was no house keeping in those 2 weeks and I found the lady with the irish accent at the front counter was unfriendly....didnt even bother to ask if I enjoyed the stay...never saw her smile at all...the other girl was lovely though...I would 100% stay here again! Cheers and fyi I did enjoy my stay very much :)

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi jaknamaste,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our Resort.

We do have some great features which you've highlighted, including our location and our awesome swimming pool. It is very peaceful laying by the pool. We also have a gym with sauna, a spa, tennis court and free secure parking. Hopefully soon we'll have our Restaurant and Bar open again to offer even more facilities to our Resort guests.

We've been working very hard as a team since our change of Management in December to make Paradise Island Resort a great holiday destination, and your review is an affirmation that we're moving in the right direction.

The "Irish Lady" is usually very friendly, perhaps we're working her too hard.

Thanks again for your great review and we hope to see you back at Paradise Island Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Getting a good room here is a lottery. Even the manager agrees some rooms are worse than others. Don't bother about trying to sleep in on your holiday, these guys fire up the vacuum cleaners in the early hours of the morning right outside your door...once again don't complain because the manager really doesnt care...stay away

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi Shaun. Thanks for your review although it is a little disingenuous isn't it. You have never actually stayed at our hotel as a guest have you. Using TripAdvisor as a weapon in a personal matter is in poor taste.

The new management care deeply about the feedback from guests as we have shown time & time again.

Sure some of our rooms are better than others, that is the case in any hotel. We are in the process of renovating several of our older rooms and bringing them up to a much better standard. Perhaps one day if you actually stay at our Resort you will see just how good our rooms are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barellan Point
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 via mobile

the view was obviously just of the other high rises, the amenities weren't that wonderful. Staff were a run around would never give you a straight answer and they took 3 weeks to refund my deposit. But it's all in the price you pay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Lachlan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort, although I notice you stayed at the Resort almost a year ago.

A lot has changed around here in a year. The Resort is under new management and looks and feels a lot different than it did back then. We have been working very hard upgrading rooms, providing professional cleaning to all of our rooms and public areas, and improving our level of service across the board.

We also have other great features besides our location, including an amazing Resort pool with spa and rock fountain, sports facilities including gym and tennis court and free secure underground parking.

I hope you have the opportunity to come back to stay with us to see just how much we've been able to improve the Resort in such a short amount of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

we stayed here for 3 nights early march, we were a bit worried after reading previous reviews. my husband had stayed here on a previous occassion.
we arrived very early and left our bags planning to return at check in time which was 2pm
we checked in later at 2pm and were greeted by a young lady who was very helpfull and friendly. we were given our room keys and told about the parking building.
we collected our bags and went to our room, while this place was looking a bit run down in places, we were very happy with our studio room it was clean and the bed was comfy, roll out bed supplied looked also to be new and was comfy too. was a bit suprised to find only a sheet covering the matress no mattress cover at all.
bathroom was also tidy and the air worked just fine.
we enjoyed the pool and the tennis court.
while this property is a bit run down looks like new owners are getting things tidied,

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi Brettnsue,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel.

Yes, we've had a few reviews in the past which are less than satisfactory, but you're right, we are working very hard to turn things around. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations.

Some of the rooms are a little tired, but we make sure they are clean and comfortable. All of our rooms are individually owned, so we are working with our owners to bring everything to a standard that is suitable for a 3.5 star Resort like ours.

We have some great facilities as you mentioned, and our location is fantastic. So close to Surfers Paradise & the beach without being right in the centre of the hustle & bustle.

I hope you'll come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Island, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Island Resort is your island resort in the heart of Surfers Paradise!!Located only a few minutes walk to the golden sands of Surfers Paradise beach and the glamour and fun of the centre of town, Paradise Island Resort has the perfect location for your holiday to paradise!Our 3 ½ star island resort offers the perfect opportunity for the holiday that has it all- from relaxing by the heated resort pool to having a workout on our tennis court or in our gym, our facilities on offer are similar to many 5 star resorts- but without the 5 star price tag! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Island Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.