We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“money value sucks” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Wax Museum

The Wax Museum
56 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
+61 (0)7 5538 3975
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“money value sucks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

everything was behind glass walls could'nt get good photos unless the lighting was brighter in the room it was set like a maze the only up to date figures they had was kylie minogue, miley cyrus and michael jackson then it takes you to the horror wax part where you can't take photos but i didn't want to anyways but its basicly a history of torture materials we humans use to use way back in the day.....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    29
    29
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place looks like it hasn't been updated since 1992. Figures are behind glass and not very realistic. The guided tour part was entertaining and the guide was great, but the self walk wasn't. My sister and I just giggled a lot at how lame some figures were.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not the best in the world”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Look if you have been to Madam Tresards - you will be disapointed. It needs a face lift and more done to it. But its been in Surfers longer than I've been alive! So it must do something right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Expensive....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Wax Museum is over-rated.......the wax figurines were nothing like Madam Tusad's.....the ticket is quite expensive for whatever is being shown.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would not bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First time to the Gold Coast and thought we would do the Wax Musuem. We really should have avoided it. Over priced at $26 entry each. I had never been to a wax museum before but would have liked the exhibits to have been more life like. Most looked like fashion store dummies. The dungeon of horrors tour was rushed and the most entertaining part was the tour guide who had many of her 'facts' partially incorrect and narrated in a bizarre fashion. I would suggest there are many more entertaining things to do with your money on the Gold Coast.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wax Museum also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to The Wax Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wax Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Wax Museum to your Saves list