We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foamtastic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaduction

Seaduction
8 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 5635 5728
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: As one of the Gold Coast's premier, two-hatted restaurants, Seaduction has an elegance all of its own. The acclaimed menu is superbly complemented by an intimate wine-tasting room, private dining room and bar.Resisting the seductive aromas conjured by Executive Chef Steve Szabo and his team at Seaduction will prove impossible. Once you've tasted the handcrafted cuisine of our two-hatted restaurant you're sure to return.
South Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Foamtastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Overall really disappointed - the chef needs to concentrate on the main elements of the dish and get rid of all the unnecessary foams and powders. Most of the main elements were good, particularly the shellfish velouté, but there were strange components on all the dishes that just didn't work together. And everything had a foam - understandable 5 years ago if he was trying to be fashionable but a bit dated and didn't add anything. The pork dish was the lowlight - dry pork belly, gelatinous 'crispy pigs ear' and pasty canellini bean puree. Some nice wines but no sommelier and the waitress wasn't able to offer much. Overpriced for the quality. Nice setting and ambience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    39
    22
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Gold!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend away together but were blown away by the package delivered by Seaduction. The Entre made me smile until the plate left the table but then all we did was grab the French wine recommended by one of the wait staff until the main arrived. Our smiles continued as we shared each others experience and talked about the food and wine.
Dessert wasn't as grand as the first two courses and is perhaps the only let down.
Dish of the night - goats cheese Tortellini.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“birthday delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Amazing service incredible food beautiful wines! The best degustation menu ever experienced it is even better than the first time i visited

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Fine dining without fine service!...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had the opportunity to invite friends for dinner at this top fine french cuisine restaurant located on the first floor in the Hotel Sea Temple in downtown Surfers Paradise. We had a great table overlooking the illuminated beach- the decor is modern with good taste. The menu is limited. Portions are small- we had excellent starters but the main courses were a disappointment- eventhough we had each chosen a different main course, the presentation of the food was almost identical but disappointingly served lukewarm.....We had an excellent South Australian Merlot with our meal. The service was a let down-the staff needs additional training as service is such an important part of the eating experience in a fine cuisine expensive restaurant as this one.... they made errors both when they served the food and the way they cleared the table!
This was my last dinner during my recent visit to Australia but unfortunately it was a disappointment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“good value for money lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Four of us had lunch last Saturday without a booking but it was no problem getting in. We had the two course lunch with a glass of sparkling wine. Food was of very good quality but service was slow and the waitress made several mistakes and seemed to be run of her feet or inexperienced. According to our friends who had been before the food was much better then previously.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaduction also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Seaduction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaduction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.