We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was so friendly an welcoming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers to your Saves list
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
3323 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Staff was so friendly an welcoming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This hostel was a great value, felt right at home with the help of the awesome staff going above and beyond to make sure our stay was as good as it could be! Great environment with a close, family feel. Rooms are what you would expect from a hostel. What the rooms lacked the helpful, friendly staff made up for 10 times over.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    12
    17
    11
See reviews for
3
20
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancée and we were hesitant about staying here as some of the reviews had put me off. However, i really don't know what those other reviewers seen as I had such an enjoyable stay and would recommend this to anyone who is travelling/backpacking! The place has such a brilliant atmosphere, clean rooms and bathrooms with excellent facilities and reasonable prices! Staff are extremely friendly here and I want to particularly mention a tall Irish man who's name we didnt get! He went above and beyond for us during our time here. He is a credit to your business! I would recommend Surf N Sun to anyone as it was most definitely a stay to remember!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelo_11, General Manager at Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi
Thank you so much for your nice review.
We had a few bad reviews from non backpackers that don't quite get us.
We are not the ritz , a bit old but a hostel that caters for fun backpackers wanting to socialise.
The staff will be happy to hear this as they are a nice friendly bunch .
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms were really disgusting and felt so dirty. I couldn't even shower in the bathroom because i feel like i would have been dirtier after the shower. The rooms were also very dark and dingey with not much natural light getting in. The room just felt run down and depressing. I have to say the kitchen was clean and the common area and the staff were lovely but it's a shame the rooms let it down. It's close to the beach but a good 15 minute walk into town. Wouldn't recommend staying here, 1 night was enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelo_11, General Manager at Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi

We take all reviews very seriously and have looked into yours.

Our rooms get cleaned everyday but sometimes the other quests that share your room can bit a bit messy.Thats the joy's of backpacking shared accommodation i am afraid .
The bathrooms are a bit old but get a good cleaning everyday.
Calling us a dirty hostel and then saying our kitchen and tv room is clean is a bit confusing??
Not sure what direction lol you where going during your one night stay with us but the town centre is about 7 to a 8 minute walk tops.
Not once during your one night stay did you come in and let us know your concerns.We could of moved you rooms or given you a full refund as you were not a backpacker.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are disgusting even for backpacker standards, the staff are useless and very unhelpful! If u use the laundry room then u need to sit and watch it or the staff will throw your clean clothes on the floor!! I've stayed in many backpackers and this is by far the worst!! Do not stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelo_11, General Manager at Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi

We take all reviews very seriously and take great pride in looking after our guests.

The staff are very friendly and helpful The rooms get cleaned every day. We are a fun and party hostel which you seemed not to like.!!!!!

We would never just throw washing on the floor. If we had to remove your clothes from the washing machine we would put it in the washing baskets provided. Did you come and ask us .No, you are just guessing that it was us and not a fellow guest?
Not once did you come to us to let us know of any problems that you might of had.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nice and friendly staff, clean bathrooms, good spacious kitchen, very happy to stay here as had to move from another hostel. Beach right out front, roadwork very busy around but no problem when inside. Would def. recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I moved from the Islanders backpackers and compared to such, Surf N Sun Backpackers was way better. Staff were lovely, in assisting in surfing lessons with Scotty Edwards "TranzSurf" - it was a lot of fun. Highly recommend. He also recently started hosting backpackers at his cabin, half way between byron bay and surfers. got to see whales in the morning.

Surf n Sun staff were Friendly, and great fun by getting everyone out of their rooms. Met great people whom are already friends. Great location. Lots to do in surfers paradise besides just bars and pubs. Sea world, australia zoo tours, movie world, beach, Q1 (amazing views of surfers paradise).

only thing i am concern about is the payment took rather long to process, it took a month to charge me for the room and if anyone else keeps an eye on their finance might think of fraud. only because you just assume payment is taken at checkout. So best tip: pay cash!

I will defiantly recommend and stay here again when in Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

According to staff, all there is to do in Surfers is pubs 'n drinking. It became an infamous line with my friend and I, as we found there to be so much more to do in Surfers. Highly recommend staying in their private rooms, as you will only have to share the bathrooms with one other room. Definitely not the cleanest or nicest place we stayed in during our trip, but it was suitable. If you are looking for somewhere with a good nights sleep, this is not your place. The beds were college dorm beds and the sheets were disgusting (mine had female stains from the previous user). The bathrooms were gross. However, I am extremely picky about my bathroom, so take it how you will. They are no where up to date, but they do their function. The showers barely put out any water as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers

Address: 3323 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOVE THE BEACH! GOT THE LOCATION! Come Home to the best Hostel On the Gold Goast.Surf n Sun is the only hostel in Surfers Paradise with a fabulous 'beachside' location.If you love the beach well we have the location.Just 30 seconds walk from our hostel to the golden sands of surfers Paradise BeachVoted No 4 Hostel in Australia Hoscar Awards 2012If you want the true backpacking experience that is friendly and fun then come home to* Free WiFi* Free Washing* Free Body Boards* Free Movies* Free Tea and Sugar* Play the wii* Free linen* Free Blankets* Free Towels* Free Nights out and Free Drinks* No Deposits for the kitcken!! all plates, cups, bowls etc are free . * Free bag storage* Free use of the B.B.Q* Bike Hire* Surfboard Hire* Free pick up and drop off* Cheap Drink at the Hostel Bar 'The Surf Shack'Free WiFi and Free Laundry to hostelworld Guests.(Please ask at reception,conditions apply)Lonely Planet - 'The Epitome of Surfers Paradise wrapped up in one big bundle of backpacker heaven.With an emphasis on fun and frivolity and staff that love to party, it's no wonder that rooms here get booked up well in advance'.Backpackers have traditionally voted with their feet. That's why this family owned and operated hostel, has been the No 1 hostel for travellers from all over the world, for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.