We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and that's about it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Beachside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Beachside to your Saves list
Chateau Beachside
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Corner The Esplanade And Elkhorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great location and that's about it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location.
Great room rates,
When you walk in the foyer is very clean and modern.

The older female receptionist was surley the entire time, especially when asking about bus times.

You can not turn the door handles as they have a tube over them so every time someone comes or goes they have to slam there door.

The door opened inwards and stopped suddenly as it hit a false wall with a wardrobe behind it.

Infront of the false wall was a bed with a zebra print blanket,
The bathroom was adjoined to the room and comprised of a toiket, vanity and a shower over a bath.

In this the 50's style bathroom there was no ceeling fan, With rotting and broken tiles in the shower, a small shower curtain and a low ceiling.

there is No balcony to stand on But two glass sliding doors open to Good views depending on what room your staying in.
I paid extra for a beach view and it was not worth it being off to the side with a limited view of the beach.

I was disappointed that the room I paid for looked nothing like on the internet. And infanct looked tacky with a false walls and terrible views.

The only thing I like about the room was the fridge and kitchen facilities in my room.
However when i tried to use the hot plate it was broken.

If your looking For cheap accommodation this is for you.
If you Are looking for a nice romantic getaway book else wear.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Chateau Beachside Resort. We genuinely value all feedback as it assists us in Managing what makes the Resort great as well as identifying any areas that may need improvement.

We thank you for bringing the maintenance issues you experienced in your room to our attention. Unfortunately maintenance issues do arise from time to time and measures are in place to ensure such issues are rectified promptly. The kitchens are spacious and great for cooking.

We are regretful that these issues were not brought to our attention during your stay, but wish to advise that corrective action has since been taken.

Chateau Beachside
07 55381022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    314
    85
    39
    33
See reviews for
148
291
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Close to Cavill, the beach and the view! A front corner room meant ocean and beach views including a huge full moon.A short walk to the main centre of Surfers. Very nice reception staff. Good parking. Great pool! The other fascilities looked excellent too! We loved it!

Room Tip: A front corner is fantastic for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Chateau Beachside Resort. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the expansive ocean views from the Hotel Beachfront Apartment. The Full Moon is always amazing, glittering over the ocean. Thank you for your comments on the reception staff as they do work tirelessly in providing a warm welcome and our extended long office hours means we are here for any requirements you may need throughout your stay. We couldn’t agree more with your comments about the Facilities, the pool is amazing not to mention heated, and the free onsite parking is an added bonus with the pricing of street parking on the Coast.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau in the near future. Please book direct for your upgrade and thank you again from the Chateau Team.

07 55381022
Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My family has stayed there on many occasions in the apartments and occassionaly my partner and I in the motel rooms and although Chateau Beach is long standing it is extremely comfortable, excellent location being close to Cavil Ave and directly across the road from the beach. The greetings are always warm and and cheerful. One low point, the prices in peek time are quite excessive for its type. But overall we love staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We love welcoming back our repeat guests to the chateau as this is the ultimate appreciation that we as a team are doing our job properly. We place our customer service as our number one priority to give you the relaxing, stress free holiday you deserve. As for the pricing at Christmas, this is always a little more expensive. Please be assured that we are very competitive in our pricing in the market place and on top of that call us direct and we can offer you and your family a 10% discount and upgrade to a higher level for being a loyal repeat guest.

Our number is 07 5538 1022 or book visit us on line.
Kind regards

Chateau Beachside Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

me and my wife went for 3 nights . Loved staying at Chateau beachside resorts . The room had a great view of city and beach both at the same time . Bathroom satisfactory with plenty of hot water.Right in the heart of surfers paradise surrounded with all cafes and bottle shop .Pool , spa ,tennis court and gym all was available . Very affordable 3 nights stay at city view appartment along with nice ocean view .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, General Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely feed back. We too love our CITY VIEW APARTMENTS. They are positioned to get amazing ocean views not to mention the views of surfers paradise. This is especially spectacular at night with the lights and nightlife. They are the best value for money rooms on offer at the Chateau.
From $89.00 per night it most certainly fits within the budget minded.
We appreciate your comments as we do try to be as helpful as possible so you can enjoy a wonderful holiday break and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

The Chateau Beachside Team
0755381022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

What it lacks in modcons it makes up for in location, view and possibly the kindest most helpful staff I have ever come across. The view I had on my corner room was unbelievable. I was in oz for a month on business and this place excelled. The staff were so helpful and kind. The place itself is a little basic but why would you want to be in your room when u have that outstanding beach an d a pretty good pool. The restaurant next door was pretty good. The place had some great facilities and did I say view? Lol

Clean and tidy, what u see is what u get and £12 for Internet for a week and they also give u a bit for free.

Value for money this place was on top.

Would I go back....hell yes!!!

Room Tip: Choose a corner sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for the wonderful review!

We are very happy to see that you appreciated our staff as we focus very much on the provision of exceptional guest service. We are very lucky to have so much around us all within easy walking distance. Beach, shops, theme park, cafes, bars, clubs and some of the best restaurants on the coast all on our door step. We love hearing our guests comment on our resort being VALUE FOR MONEY as we try to include as much as possible in the price of accommodation, being........

Free internet
Free secure car parking
Free latest movie hire
Free boogie board hire
Free tennis equipment hire, full size tennis court and table tennis hire
Free foxtel
Free BBQ facilities
We look forward to your return at the Chateau Beachside resort. Please book direct for your next visit with a free upgrade to a higher floor.

Chateau Beachside Team
07 55381022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband, 7yr old daughter and myself, just spent 3 nights in one of the Beachfront 1 brm on the 16th floor and it has been our best stay at the Gold Coast yet. The hotel is directly in front of the beach with no obstructed views and a lovely 5min walk along the esplanade to Cavill Mall. Our room itself had a separate bedroom, a sofa bed, a kitchen with all the nescessities and a spacious bathroom. We found the reception staff really friendly, helpful and always willing to accomodate any of our needs. Our room was very clean and kept very well. The weather was a little overcast but that didn't spoil our stay, with the ping pong in the games room, the jacuzzi and free dvd's. My daughter has food allergies so being able to cook our meals in the full kitchen and undercover bbq was a hugh load off our minds. Not having aircon was no big deal as the breeze was amazing and if nescessary, the rooms had fans, there was no carparking charges and million dollar views from every room. We are budget conscious and have come home feeling so satisfied and recharged. I will have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone. Thank you to all, at the Chateau Beachside!!!

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor and as the staff recommended for just a little extra the beachside room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you Josephine for your amazing comments regarding our resort,

" Hidden Treasure on the Esplanade "

I am so pleased to hear that your recent getaway with us at Chateau Beachside resort was such a memorable one. I am glad that you enjoyed the Apartment, our facilities, location and service.

When you consider that we also include parking, in-room movies, weekly housekeeping and Wi Fi in the rate - I agree it is excellent value!

I'm sorry the weather wasn't that good for you, but you all seemed happy with the table tennis in the games room and relaxing in the heated pool and spa.

I hope to see you again on your next travels to the Gold Coast, and we would love to offer you a upgrade to a higher floor.

Sincerely,
Chateau Team.
www.chateaubeachside.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

POSITIVES: Room clean but dated although well fitted out. Double bed comfortable Air-Cond (OK) kitchen well equipped cooking facilities all in good working order. Dinning area shared with lounge and TV (OK) Bathroom satisfactory plenty hot water shower only. Hotel complex clean and presentable. Tourist info a - plenty at reception. Hotel staff very friendly and have a no problem but professional attitude, nothing was a problem for the two girls working at reception. Hotel tarif per night was a good price, especially with the complex's location right in the centre of the entertainment district. On site parking (Complimentary) hotel guests only. Swimming pool area was great and accessible without a map to get there.
Bar location is hotel ground floor looking at the beach, excellent. Cold drinks Good Food Warm and Friendly Staff. Prices not unreasonable.
NEGATIVES: Wasn't able to stay longer.

Room Tip: Your choice all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and very pleased to add that this is the best negative feedback ever. ( That you didn't get to stay longer). The property is continually being upgraded and is renowned for its beachfront location. We do work very hard to cater to every need to give you the stress free holiday you deserve. Please contact Renae or Maryann when you next visit so we can upgrade you to a higher floor with our compliments in appreciation of you taking the time to post your comments.

We look forward to welcoming back you and your lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beachside

Address: Corner The Esplanade And Elkhorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Beachside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Beachside Resort is the ideal location for your next relaxing getaway. Only one block North of Cavill Mall, The Chateau Beachside is located in the heart of the shopping, dining and entertainment precinct. Featuring 3.5 Star rated facilities and the world famous sandy shores of Surfers Paradise just metres away, you're sure to find what you are looking for right here!Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise, all units have spectacular ocean views of the famous Surfers Paradise beach below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Chateau Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beachside Hotel Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Beachside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.