We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago and thought that it was a nice, clean hotel to lay your head for the night.

Although it was just one night I would stay here again>

  • Stayed July 2002, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    237
    81
    27
    12
See reviews for
95
205
36
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

Stayed for two nights, greeted well and thou we arrived early a room was found for us, told we would get a ocean view, thats what we got. Parking was free and first night booked the revolving resturant, view was great the buffet was to dream of and plenty of seafood, as well as hot dishes, wine was not expensive that was a suprise. Overall a great two nights we will be back.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

THis was the first ever holdiay my boyfriend and I took together. We stayed in a deluxe king room in the gold tower. I would recommend staying in the gold tower it is alot newer than the eldorado. The hotel is very nice the rooms were gorgeus and spacious and clean we had a spa as well. Buffet breakfast was nice too staff are friendly and helpful as well. it took us about 15 mins to walk to cavilll but it was worth being a bit away from al the noise in the area. I would definitly recommend this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

When I travel, whether it is for business or for pleasure, I always stayed with the Intercontinental Hotels Groups, a hotel chain which the Crowne Plaza is part of. The reason is that I can always be guranteed a clean and comfortable room, friendly service and good food. So when we went to the Gold Coast for our 2006 Easter holiday, my husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise for 4 nights.

While not the worst hotel in the world, our stay was a huge dissapointment.

I booked and paid for an ocean view room in the Gold Tower only to be given a room on the sixth floor (Rm 618) with a view of the next building and glimpses of blue in between. So unless, you are guranteed a room higher than level 10, don't bother paying extra.
I was also surprised to find cigarette burnt (and mildew) on the room curtains in what is suppose to be a non-smoking room. The service was typical of that of a major tourist hotspot -- impersonal and careless.

Worst is the Four Winds, the hotel's roof-top revolving seafood and asian buffet restraunt. While it is understandable that revolving restraunts are usually gimmicky with sub-standard food, this one tops them all -- tasteless and rubbery prawns (imported?!), packet spring rolls and shock-horror -- cream burlee from supermarket frozen food aisle. At what turn out to be $99 (after 20% discount) for two, the only thing worth our while was the oysters. The wait staff have a bad habit of barging in and interupting intimate conversation, and appeared to have no idea about basic food hygiene. Couples are seated away from the window -- any request to be seated closer to the windows are denied even when they are obviously tables available in the half empty restaurant. Then again, they is not much to look at once the sun has set due to the brightness of the lightings inside the restaurant.

On the plus side:
1. The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from the beach, which makes it ideal for a early morning swim.
2. The bathroom with spa bath and large shower is vey nice and inviting after a long day out
3. Breakfast (Sunday only) in the revolving restaurant was excellent with 360 beautiful view of the ocean.
4. The hotel is located about 5-10 minutes away from Surfers Paradise - personally I think this is a plus if you have a car. Parking is free in the hotel's underground parking.

As for real food, may I suggest Teppanyaki at Yamagen Japanese Restaurant at the Gold Coast International Hotel and Omeros Bros Seafood Restaurant at Marina Mirage.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise for one night when on the Gold Coast for a friend's party. Really enjoyed the hotel and recommend it.

We stayed in Room 1619, a 'Deluxe Spa Suite' on the 16th floor of the 'Gold Tower'. While the decor is a little... hmm... 'faded', I loved this extremely spacious room! There was a King sized bed, sitting area with lounge, walk-in wardrobe, a large bathroom with long vanity counter, shower recess and spa bath, and a separate toilet. The balcony had a nice view of the ocean and the skyline, was a reasonable size, and best of all was lovely and sunny in the morning. Apparently these rooms in the 'Gold Tower' are rated 5-star versus the remainder of the hotel at 4.5-star.

I got a VERY reasonable room rate of $155, which also included some free drink vouchers and a morning newspaper.

The hotel is getting a little dated, and the corridors, etc between the two towers do feel a little strange and empty. The hotel's location is on the third block back from the beach but it is a quick walk. Plenty of free basement parking. Two large swimming pools and two restaurants to choose from (including a revolving restaurant on the rooftop).

I do not normally enjoy visiting the Gold Coast, but for some reason this weekend I loved every minute of it! Perhaps it was letting myself behave like a tourist there for the first time? I definitely recommend visiting the Q1 Observation Deck, and the revolving restauarant on the top floor of the Crowne Plaza is a novelty worth enjoying, even if the buffet meal is not quite value for money.

Make sure you get a room in the 'Gold Tower' as based on other reviews they certainly are quite different from the 'Eldorado Tower'.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

We stayed in March for 4 nights in a recently renovated apartment style suite in gold tower.
Pro:
1. Great breakfast. There is a $15 breakfast vocher we were given when we checked in (normal price is $26 still quite reasonable). I really liked their self service juice bar where you can make your own fresh juice. Great staff too;
2. The suite is very spacious, with 2 blaconies and terrific views
Con:
1. The suite is at the corner of the hotel which is right next to the highway, even we were on 19 th floor, there was still some traffic noise at night, other type rooms are ok as they are in the middle of the building
2. The suite feels more like a cheap old apartment rather than a hotel suite. It is definitely a 4 - 4.5 star feeling, not even close to 5 star as they advertised
3. Service is generally Ok. However the assistant manager needs a lot of training - I was blamed by him for hanging out the wrong sign for missing out on house keeping. But I clearly hang the "morning newspaper" rather than "do not disburb" sign; I din't really mind if the staff made mistake, it was the attitude of the assistant manager really annoyed me
4. The location. It is in next to the highway and in the middle of nowhere.
5. The pool was not heated, at least when we were there. It was a bit too cold to swim.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.