We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed there for one night as a platinum member. No separate check in/out line for elite members, late checkout offered but no other priviledges. Hotel itself looks bit tired and is not in the best location. Nothing special.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello eaglehaslanded72,

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't receive your newspaper on your recent stay with us. Would you like to send me details of your stay and I will look into this for you?
Glad to hear that you were a fan of our views. Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback.


Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    277
    96
    29
    13
See reviews for
112
250
43
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked through a mystery deal on Wotif.

We weren't disappointed at all.

We were in the Gold Tower, 20 floors up facing the water. The view was beautiful.

All of the staff we encountered during our stay were friendly and helpful. Checking in and out was quick and easy.

Our room was clean and very comfortable... took us a minute to figure out the taps in the bathroom (childproof... and possibly adult proof haha) but that would have to be the only "bad" thing.

We ordered room service for dinner both nights we were there and the food was delicious. Delivered quickly and exactly what we ordered.

Overall we really enjoyed our relaxing stay at the Crowne Plaza and we will be back.

Room Tip: - Gold Tower is away from the main pool so is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello J B,

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us that you enjoyed your time in our Gold Tower and the in-room dining food.

Thank you for taking the time to review Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is at the south end of Surfer's Paradise and North end of Broadbeach. It is a few blocks away from the beach...easy walk. I was efficiently checked in, although I was given the option of a paid upgrade when the weather was raining and predicted to do so over the weekend, I declined. The room was on the 3rd floor which was quite spacious and had a balcony overlooking the reasonably noisy Gold Coast highway. Apart from the road noise, and being schoolies, I could imagine bringing my family back for a holiday on a higher floor level. Eateries are a bit sparse if you don't have a car. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello AJG35,

Thank you for your review and your feedback on the location of our hotel to other travelers. It is nice to read that you were happy with your room after predicting the weather and that you were a fan of our larger rooms.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Me, my housemates and one friend (4 total) had made two days free so we could enjoy our days off at Gold Coast, and wanted to stay overnight. So I was in charge of looking for a good deal, and sure enough, Wotif were having a mystery hotel sale for $126 a night with two beds. That sounded too good a deal, so I booked it. And turns out, we got Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise! So stoked. Two queen beds for each room, the hotel had a pool and spa. Very well set-up, with all the necessities such as mini-bar fridge and ironing kit. Comfortable night of sleep and glad it's a few km away from Cavill Ave Surfers Paradise. I would endorse this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello toannguyenaustralia,

Thanks for leaving us with as review after your stay with us after purchasing a Wotif Mystery Deal for your overnight stay.
So glad to hear that you were stoked with the the hotel and its facilities. We find a lot of our guests are looking to be slightly out of Surfers Paradise, yet still within walking distance, so happy to hear that you were also a fan.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

we stayed in a room facing the waters, was lovely, clean, comfortable. the hair dryer was old and blew up in my face while i was using it, however after i made my complaint they went above and beyond to compensate with a brand new hair dryer and complimentary dinner at their revolving resturant. the pool side is beautifl and room service was immaculate. the food was good but expensive. its what you would expect considering the rooms are priced at roughly 400-500 a night.

Room Tip: ask for upgrade on check in its an extra 20 dollars a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Lngurei,

Thank you for leaving us with your feedback after staying with us recently. I'm sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate incident with the hairdryer, but I am glad to hear that you were happy with the issue resolution.
The pool is pretty spectacular at this time of year, so I'm happy that you were able to take full advantage of it.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

we stayed for 3 days and the rooms were clean and services were excellent, staff were friendly and helpful, we were here on holiday , and the hotel environment was good for our stay.we stayed in 511 and 512. whenever we are here we will come back again in crown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello 007word,

Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent holiday on the Gold Coast. So happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel environment and that you will be coming back to stay with us again.

We look forward to having you stay and again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were offered an upgrade on arrival after booking through wotif mystery hotel and were pleasantly surprised and so glad we did. We arrived 27th november 2013 at 7.30 am on an early flight and the reception did their best to get us into our room when we arrived at 11am! We were very grateful after a very early flight from nz. The views from the room were almost 180 degrees, a large balcony and a separate lounge, even a bath. The sea views were found from every room. The apartment was spacious and perfect for my husband and myself, thank you crown plaza staff for a great experience. The staff were helpful, polite and the room was excellent, we wished that we had the crown plaza back again in Christchurch. Your presence is sadly missed by the locals.

Room Tip: Definitely take the upgraded it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear aotearoanewzealand,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community at large. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
i certainly share your sentiments that the Crowne Plaza Christchurch is no longer with us due to the 2011 earthquake. I did manage that property in the early nineties and have many fond memories of the local Cantabrians support of the hotel.
Thank you once again.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.