We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was up for the travel conferance and stayed here. Loved the pool and teh spa, it was a great way to relax.
The staff are very frendly and welcoming. Close walk to the beach. $10 cab ride to all the resturants in Broadbeach, and around the same for Surfers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello David N,

Thanks so much for your feedback and positive comments on our staff and pool and spa area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    277
    96
    29
    13
See reviews for
112
250
43
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recently stayed here in order to attend the Gold Coast International Rugby 7’s tournament.
On arrival we were pleased to see that all of the competing teams were there too.
After check-in we were even more pleased to find our room was on the Aussie floor.
The room had great views to the north, east & south.
We were perplexed to discover that by opening the balcony door (even momentarily) caused the air-con to shut down & could not be restarted for about half an hour!
We used Relish lounge for bar snacks & the restaurant for one dinner – all of which were fine.
We used the 4 Winds restaurant for 1 dinner & 1 breakfast -wonderful views.
The hotel was obviously very busy due to the 7’s teams & entourages. However there was no degradation of service to us lesser mortals!

Room Tip: We were on 22nd floor facing the beach - nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello MarieG60,

Thanks for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise on your recent trip to the Gold Coast whilst the Rugby 7's tournament was on. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during a very busy time.
Our air-conditioning does turn off in the rooms in the Main Tower once the balcony door is opened as part of our environmental sustainable practice. However, half an hour doesn't seem correct for the air-conditioning unit to start up again, so if you're able to send us the details and room number of your stay I will most certainly have someone look into that in that particular room and timing.

Glad to hear you were with the Aussie team during your stay!

Kind regards,

Victoria
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive
victoria.thornton@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked a Wotif Mystery Room for a night and found ourselves staying at the Crowne Plaza. Staff were really friendly and checked us in quickly. Having paid a bargain-basement price, I expected a basement room, so was pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in an ocean-view room on the 9th floor. The room was of average size, with 2 double beds and appeared to have been recently refurbished, with tasteful decor. The bathroom was a surprise, with a bath big enough for two people and a separate shower. The room was clean and tidy, with the exception of the glass shower screen, which was clouded with soap scum. The housekeepers could also pay a bit of attention to the tiles adjacent to the shower floor. Although I have a firm mattress at home, I found the beds so uncomfortably hard that I had trouble sleeping, as did my son. This is my only major criticism of the room. We didn't dine at the hotel, but there are a number of dining options available, including a revolving restaurant on the top floor. There is an attractive, large pool area - for those days when conditions on the nearby patrolled beach are unfavourable. Free parking is available underneath the building. Surprisingly, the car park is unsecured, allowing anyone to enter the carpark, so I would be wary of leaving anything of value in the car. There is lift access from the carpark and I am concerned about the potential for unwanted 'guests' entering the building without being detected. If you are staying at the coast to enjoy the bright lights of Surfers, this may not be the hotel for you, unless you are prepared for a long walk or a taxi ride. We met family at the Marriotte, on the north end of Surfers for lunch and a taxi cost between $16 and $20 each way.

Room Tip: I have read complaints about traffic noise on the western (hinterland)b side of the hotel. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Roscoe63,
Many thanks for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us and I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed our service and facilities.
With regard to the car park - this is secured overnight from 11.00pm with a roller door, and anyone entering the lifts from the car park have to exit on the ground floor of the hotel after 9.00pm.
I am surprised to hear you found the beds were hard as we generally receive very good feedback about the comfort of the beds throughout the two towers.
I do apologize for the standard of housekeeping which you experienced on this occasion and rest assured I have followed up with my team accordingly.
Once again, many thanks for your review and I do hope we can be of service to you once again in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My partner and I needed a break after a pretty exhausting couple of weeks, so I tried a last minute booking via wotif, lastminute etc... really hard to find anything decent that wasnt taken.
Crowne was sold out but Tracey was nice enough to put us on a callback list, and sure enough, rang back half an hour later with a room. She was even quick thinking enough not to mention anything to my partner in case it was a surprise. Nice touch. Really helpful, a great start Crowne.
We checked in and got a nice corner unit in the Gold Tower, which didn't seem busy and looks like the older end. The room was great. Great view, nice spa bath which was a little cramped, but no biggie. Room Service was great, including the service from the young lad who was very on the ball.
Sunday breakfast in the revolving restaurant was included, you could eat downstairs too but it seemed busier.
We didnt really care about the location as we had no interest in shopping etc, the beach is only a couple of blocks away. All in all we were very impressed and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear AdamC,
Many thanks for your extensive review on your recent stay with us and I am very pleased to hear that Tracey and the rest of the team looked after you so well.
We would love to see you again sometime soon!
Many thanks once again.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was packed with all the International Rugby 7's teams and support staff during my visit which meant that lots of noise on the accommodation floors with their coming and goings; delays for the lifts due to constant use, etc. My room was clean, comfortable and all things operated as designed. Bathroom is dated. Ocean views are great and nice to wake up to. Rood service meals were prompt, well presented and as described on the menu. WIFI changes by the 2 hour or 24 block seemed expensive.

Overall, adequate and I would return (for business) knowing what to expect but not worth raving about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the noise which you encountered due to the presence of the Rugby Sevens teams which were staying with us at the time. Certainly there was considerable movement in and out of their rooms whilst they were with us but all in all they were extremely well behaved and we have received no complaints from any other guests during their stay.
Otherwise I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your requirements in terms of comfort and service.
With regard to WiFi - we do currently offer complimentary internet to IHG Rewards Platinum or Gold Elite members and all Club members will also enjoy this service with effect from January 1st, 2014.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are currently staying at the Hotel and have been here for 2 nights the staff are very friendly and the room we have is clean and has magnificent views. As a IHG PP and Ambassador member we were provided with this end room which has views from every angle fantastic. The Pool is great and food at the restaurant is the best.
Our only dissappointment is that the Hotel does not provide complimentary water and gift of a bottle of wine at time of check in as acknowledgement of being a platinum member where as Crown Plaza in Melbourne and in Perth both provide these.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear 478missy,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us this week and I do very much appreciate your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Elite member.
Thank you for advising us of the issue with the wine upon arrival during your stay - this is not a standard offering as part of the IHG Rewards Club programme so perhaps it was offered in Melbourne and Perth due to your regular patronage there.
However, I am most pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza when you visit the Gold Coast, Perth and Melbourne.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

just recently stayed at crown plaza surfurs paradise after booking a wot deal online, upgraded to a ocean view room on arriving as we only come to the gold coast so often. as soon as we stepped in the hotel the staff were freindly and helpfull. The hotel is easy to find and has free paring underground. It takes about 25 minutes to walk to surfurs and broadbeach which was a bit of a hike. The rooms are spacious, well kept and have sweeping views over the ocean and city, deffenintly worth upgrade. The facilities are first class all round. The revolving restaurant at the top of the hotel is a great place to dine, it offers a well priced buffet every night with geat views.
would reccomend this hotel to everyone!!

Room Tip: high floors have brillant sweeping views of ocean and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear michael p,
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. "Best Hotel Experience" is a tremendous accolade so I do thank you for this.
I am most pleased to hear you took advantage of our Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant on the 26th floor during your stay.
Once again, many thanks.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.