We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is a relative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Location is a relative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in June 2008. Overall hotel is clean, spacious, slightly dated in the lobby but nonetheless good value for money at the rate I get.

Hotel rooms are modern but without long bath due to the rates I booked. Location is way out of the action/night life. Suits us as we travel with 2 young kids.

My only complaint is the lift, it is obviously very old and need to tune up or replace. whenever it arrives, instead of giving a crystal clear ping sound it has a dying, lingering noise, kinds of like old electric bell that is under power or losing its magnetic properties.

This really nail the coffin shut cos it is very obvious that the owner/management dont even bother to rectify this small problem. You can draw your own conclusion how long this property has been here and how long it will stay open.

Staff service is good and efficient, to be expected of Crowne Plaza.

There is no direct access if you travel from pacific fair returning to hotel, You would have to circle round the block but not a problem for us. Macdonalds, petrol station and plenty of restaurants around this area.

  • Liked — Modern and clean
  • Disliked — location is not that great
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    238
    81
    27
    12
See reviews for
95
206
36
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

Jeremy from Brisbane May26th 208
My Wife & I have just returned from a night away at the gold coast which we stayed in this hotel
I must say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in recently in Australia.
The staff were all very pleasant and eager to please, the food in the four winds revolving restaurant was a buffet and they were constantly replenishing the trays even before they were empty. This was also the case at breakfast in the terrace restaurant overlooking the pool, I think they ran out of muesli and my Wife asked for some more and they immediately brought some. We had requested a king size room but had not booked the ocean view but had asked if possible if we could have one and we were pleasantly surprised to have a great view from the 16th floor overlooking the sea. The room was of above average size I would say with large plasma/lcd TV had all the facilities you would expect. We visited the sauna and spa and my wife went for a 50 minute massage all were very pleasant only down size was the pool was very cold but I was told there was another heated one in the other block

  • Liked — the four winds restaurant and the views
  • Disliked — not as near to beach as some hotels
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We are frequent visitors to the Gold Coast, primarily on business. This business trip was to attend the Sanctuary Cove Boat Show. We selected the Crown Plaza because of it's star rating and we were offered an attractive deal.
Overall the hotel was clean, neat and tidy and the staff were polite, efficient and helpful.
The only downside, and it was a big downside, was we were unable to sleep due to the noise of the lifts. It would appear that the noise came mainly through the airconditioning system and went on all night!
Thank goodness we had only booked a one night stay.
The design of the hotel would indicate that a majority of the rooms are close to the lift well, therefore I would be reluctant to stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, neat and tidy
  • Disliked — Lift noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

Well all we can say is that it was nothing special at all. The hotel looks very 70's and although there is nothing Wrong with the room, there was nothing to write home about. The balcony was sooooooooo small, it was pointless, the beds were just horrible, we had one of the worst nights sleeps ever and the pillows were hard and stiff, there was a pillow menu but since we only put out head down to rest after midnight it was not an option. The towels are clean but worn and just bigger than a hand towel. there were no robes or slippers and we had booked a package deal which was to include Sparkling wine and chocolates ... which from previous hotels would be nicley displaid , instead ours was just stuck in the mini bar with a little note attached , there was no chill bucket and you could not pu tthe bottle back in the fridge upright .... and they didnt even give us champagne glasses, just two wine glasses of very different sizes ! Breakfast was included in the rate , and was presnted in a large dinning area overlooking the pools. It was packed to the brim, full of rude people all pushing to get to the food at the same time. The food was average, no seasoning used and just all slapped into big dishes . the coffee was awful, cheap powder coffe tastes better.
i know this is alot to moan about , but we have stayed in many places along the gold coast and this was so dissapointing even though it holds a higher start grading than many others ... i wouldnt waste my time !

  • Liked — the lifts - good view going down
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

The Crowne Plaza is a large two tower hotel half way between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach on the Gold Coast. I stayed in the Gold Tower and by any standards the room is absolutely huge and very well appointed with flat screen television and all modern amenities. The room was very dusty and obviously hadn't been used for a few weeks.

While it is a great hotel with two pools and spas and all the facilitaties you could expect, its location is not ideal. It is a very long walk to the centre of Surfers Paradise and there are similar quality hotels available at much the same price much closer to the centre of the action.

Another problem was the morgue like atmosphere in the Gold Tower reception area. The hotel caters for conferences and didn't have a holiday feel to it. Families with kids would find the walk to the beach a bit harrowing I think.

  • Liked — the spectacular room
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

We stayed here for one night in April and thought it was pretty much average. We were on a drive up the Pacific Highway between Sydney and Brisbane and decided to stop off for the night in Surfers Paradise. Except that this hotel isn't really in Surfer's Paradise, it's somewhere between Surfers and Broadbeach which made it pretty inconvenient.

We arrived quite early and were pleased to be allocated a room straight away. Not so pleased when we arrived in the room to see two large single beds rather than a double. However, as it was just for the night and we couldn't really be bothered to complain, we moved the furniture around and pushed the beds together. Still slightly annoying - why do hotels think that couples would want 2 separate beds??

During the day of our stay we went to Warner Brothers Movie World which was expensive but really good fun. After a day of being thrown around on rollercoasters we came back to the hotel in need of some refreshment. We walked out of the hotel hoping to find somewhere to get a drink and something to eat but found that the only things within walking distance were attached to the hotel itself. We both wanted to have an alcholic drink and therefore didn't want to drive anywhere else so we settled for the pub/bottle shop attached to the hotel. This was quite good value for money and did some very reasonably priced pub food but it wasn't quite what we'd had in mind for our evening in Surfers.

Breakfast the next morning was good - we had to pay extra for it as it wasn't included in our room rate but there was a good selection and some unusal offerings, eggs florentine and breakfast steak that you don't often see in buffets like this.

Overall we thought this was an OK place to stay, not a great location for exploring either Surfers or Broadbeach but fine for somewhere to stay for the night.

  • Liked — Good value pub attached to the hotel
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

Stayed here for one night and am glad it wasn't for any longer.

I was looking for a nice 5 star stay away from the crowds of Surfers. Most of the new apartment complexes at Broadbeach requires several nights stay so I narrowed it down to Crowne Gold Towers and Sofitel at Broadbeach, and chose Crowne as it had the better reviews and positive comments in the forums. I booked directly through the hotel for a stay in the Gold Tower and was reassured it had recently been beautifully refurbished.

I was completely disappointed. This hotel may have been a 5 star resort in the 80s but probably needed a complete renovation rather than just a refurbishment of very dated furnishings. The original carpet was old with stains, and the balconies needed a good clean - the glass on the balcony doors were dirty and then the balcony glass walls were covered in film that you couldnt see through it. I actually think you would be better off staying in the cheaper but completely renovated rooms in the cheaper el Dorado tower with new modern albeit minimalist furnishings.

Pros
* Buffet breakfast is in the Four Winds revolving restaurant on Sunday mornings
* Renovated bathrooms
* Strong air con
* Friendly reception

Cons
* Very dated rooms
* Old carpet odour throughout hotel
* Spa bath not really for 2 people
* TV - maximum volume was barely audible. I understand this is now general hotel practice, however it was not even loud enough to drown out the people in the next room. (I do think the opening channel i.e. movie channel was quite loud so they may have just based it on that channel).
* Could hear people in next room
* Access. Gold Tower is a separate tower with its own entrance using your room pass. However next to the card swipe, there was a permanent sign saying access through main tower only. This meant you had to leave and enter through the main tower and go through the connecting corridors which was a pain.
* Gold Tower parking - there are only about 10 carspots near the lifts, the rest of the spots you had to reverse out the driveway back into the main carpark and park, maybe about 2mins walk.
* Location - Broadbeach is a good 20mins away, rental car is a must.
* Toiletries - in the bathroom there is a sign on the counter to call housekeeping and they will gladly provide complimentary razor, cotton buds, etc etc. This should be provided in a 5 star hotel.
* Newspaper - you needed to hang the door sign if you wanted a newspaper. Again in a 5 star hotel this should be provided without question.

We went into Broadbeach for dinner and I would have much preferred the convenience of the (much newer looking) Sofitel. I would not return.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The poor value - such an old hotel.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.