We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VIEW to Remember” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
ADELAIDE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A VIEW to Remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Early in September my husband and I plus another couple stayed at this hotel in the Eldorado section. Whilst we had stayed there a number of times it was new to our friends. It was a special occasion for my girlfriend who was celebrating her 70th birthday. From the moment they walked into their lovely King room with its great space, delightful bathroom and wonderful views they were in awe. We had a suite and were equally happy. The hotel just has something special. We have found that apart from one occasion the staff and management are fantastic, present with a friendly manner and ready to help. The outdoor section of the hotel is also delightful has two really nice swimming pools and has the cutest chapel set in beautiful gardens, to me a wonderful place for a wedding. We found the food a little disappointing. It used to have two excellent restaurants when we first visited in 1996 however there is now only the one restaurant in the hotel plus the revolving restaurant on the top of the hotel. This I believe is a separately run place, whilst the views are great the food in the opinion of our friends and ourselves was not up to standard for the price. The hotel is halfway between Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise which presents some limitations without a car although the bus is directly out the front of the hotel. We found that with four of us it was just as cheap to get taxis. The suites have a micro wave but no toaster which means that you either need to pay for a hotel breakfast or go into Broadbeach or Surfers Paradise , a slight nuisance if you are staying for several days or have children and do not want the expense of paying for breakfast although I am of the belief that in the Gold Tower there are rooms with kitchens something to keep in mind if you do not wish to have to purchase breakfast each day. If you are a member of the Priority Privilege Club this is a great hotel to make use of your vouchers to gain a much better room price and have 50% deducted of the food account when two people eat, only in the restaurant.
A very pleasant hotel to stay.

Room Tip: KING room high up on the Broadbeach end as they are on a corner with great views from balcony also f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear TashAdelaide,
Many thanks for your extensive review of both your recent and past stays with us - and thank you for continuing to stay with us when you visit the Gold Coast.
I very much appreciate your constructive comments and these will be shared with my team in the hotel as this forms part of our ongoing commitment to meet and exceed our customers expectations.
Once again, many thanks.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    237
    81
    27
    12
See reviews for
94
205
36
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a nice time at Crown Plaze. The room, beds and bathroom were clean. The Staff was really nice with checkin and checkout. The undercover parking was also nice. Although we didnt use, the pool and tennis court looked great. Thanks Qucikbeds for findinging us a great place to stay....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Quckbeds traveller,
Many thanks for selecting Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to the Gold Coast. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we have the opportunity to look after you again sometime soon.
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

As a regular of buffet breakfast over the last 15 years (priority privilege) it is disappointing to see the standard of service and friendliness of staff slip so much over the past 12 months. The food and range is still excellent, as are the chefs but floor staff would do well to look as if they don't mind being there, a smile never goes astray.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear FelicityW,
Many thanks for posting your review, and, more importantly for the 15 years of patronage of the hotel. Your custom is very much appreciated.
I was sorry to hear you have found the service in Relish Restaurant to have slipped over the past twelve months but please rest assured I have followed up with the restaurant team accordingly.
in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you personally at any time.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have stayed here a few times and quality is always consistent. This time I stayed in one of the spa rooms which are on the corners of the hotel. The room is large with a huge bathroom and great views out to sea. Breakfast is very good, with a large selection of cold and hot food. Room service meal on the other hand was very average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Barry L,
Many thanks for your feedback on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments. However I am most sorry you had issues with room service and I would be very grateful if you could email me with some detail so that I can follow up with my team accordingly.
Once again, many thanks.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very disappointing. Booked a queen room through a reputable, corporate travel agent. We were given a twin room, and the hotel staff told we had been upgraded and that they had done us a favour. When we insisted on a queen bed, we had to wait a long time. I missed business appointments. We were then given a room on level 2 with a view of the Shell petrol station over the road, and lots of pool noise, which ended late and began early. And there is no wifi in the rooms. The cheap motel over the road (near the Shell) has it. So do 2 star hotels in Vietnam. Won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawker, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Loved the free parking ($10 a day valet). The room was comfy and was quiet. Would stay at again. We didn't eat in the restaurant though. The only complaint would be that the reception was only open in one tower which made some things a bit slow

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear webbsm,
Many thanks for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. I was very pleased to hear you had a quiet and relaxing stay with us. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise when you visit the Gold Coast.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We got the spa room with a balcony and view. The view was good but not what expected when you are promised 'ocean view'. The Spa was lovely and clean as was the rest of the room.
The light and airy decor was much appreciated

The staff were helpful and polite and the hotel has some great food available.

Pros: Well priced, a good sleep, professional staff, very clean, no unhappy surprises - JUST LOVELY!

Cons: Quite a walk to central Surfers where all the action is at. It wouldn't be an issue for us but it was raining heavily a lot of the time and this meant we had no option but to taxi it such a short distance.. getting a taxi in Surfers to take you a short distance is a bit of an achievement.

Remember: Make sure you know what type of 'view' you are paying for and that you can't walk to central surfers from this hotel in heels!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear diamonds and pearls_88,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and I do hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the not too distant future.
Thanks again.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.