We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you'd expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What you'd expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Perfectly reasonable, well appointed and clean rooms for a reasonable price. The place doesn't overflow with personality or character, but I suppose one shouldn't expect that from a large hotel chain. The location isn't ideal, quite a walk to the nearest excitement, the beack is a ten / fifteen minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear DavidMaggie,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review.
Our location is midway between the heart of Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach - but we are proud to be one of the few remaining hotels on the Gold Coast which offers complimentary parking for our guests.
Thanks again and I do hope we have the opportunity to look after you once more in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    277
    96
    29
    13
See reviews for
112
250
43
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here for business during August 2012. I stayed in a lovely room with 300 degree views and plenty of natural light.
As I also attended a conference here I can vouch for the skill of the staff in the functions area, who demonstrated a high level of professionalism when attending to conference goers needs.
Catering was good, both in the hotel function areas and main dining room.
The listing of this hotel is somewhat misleading though as it is much closer to Broadbeach than surfers paradise. However the light rail is being installed at the front door of this hotel and in the near future access to this gold coasts main attracts will be easy.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have the most spectacular view and are well worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear PetaT,
Thank you for your very kind comments on your recent stay with us and I am pleased to hear the conference which you attended went so well.
Regarding our location - we are on the corner of First Avenue and the Gold Coast Highway. First Avenue is in fact the most southern street in the Surfers Paradise precinct, so technically we are in Surfers Paradise albeit geographically we are slightly closer to Broadbeach - so we get the best of both precincts nearby!
Thank you once again.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our third visit to the Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise in the last 18 months and yet again they proved that they are the place to stay on the Gold Coast. Check-in was efficient and thanks for the free drinks vouchers- had drinks in the attached tavern next door. The relish bar wand restaurant was great (again) and four winds seems to have improved even more than last time. The buffet was sensational. Well worth spending the money for breakfast as it was sensational as well.

Room was located on the 22 floor with views of the ocean- could not have asked for better. Room was clean, comfortable and well laid out. Service, as always at this hotel was faultless.

Look forward to staying there again when visiting the Gold Coast (hopefully in the coming Summer!!) The only downside to this hotel is it is located a bit away from Surfers (about a 15 minute walk), however is close to Broadbeach (about 5-10min walk), but that can be a positive as well as you don't get all the noise at night which I like to avoid.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room with Ocean views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear traveltenSydney,
Thank you for posting your review and I am very pleased to hear this was your third stay with us. I was pleased to see you continue to enjoy staying with us and I very much appreciate your regular patronage.
Thanks again.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Initially I found the hotel nice. Great greeting, nice foyer and lovely room. I loved the bed and the shower.
Towards the end of my stay I found the staff a bit standoffish. One of the receptionist has no clue of the Internet packages and was clearly just going around in circles waiting for me to be the conversation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Pixrun,
Thank you for taking time to post your review on your recent stay with us.
I was very sorry to hear of the issues which you experienced with the front office team and please rest assured I will share your comments with them accordingly.
Thank you for bringing your comments to my attention - and of course for choosing to stay with us.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night as we were heading off the next day. Hotel;s relatively closer to the airport than those in Surfer's Paradise itself so it's good if you booked the tourist shuttle as u'll be the last ones picked up and will not have to go round the district picking people up. However, it also means it is further away from food and shops as the main area of Surfer's paradise is a few bus stops away. There are however, a few eateries around the area. The room is clean and bed comfortable. From the sea view room, you can actually see the sun rise (if u ignore the buildings in front of you)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Icyparadise,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review. You are right - we are not in the heart of Surfers Paradise, just a couple of kilometers south, towards Broadbeach.
I hope we see you again in the future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Clean room, comfy bed, fresh linen, great view and very friendly staff.

We stayed here on Friday night with our small child and ordered some room service after a busy day at the theme parks, everything was perfect.

We ate breakfast elsewhere this time so can't comment on it, but last time we stayed in the Gold Tower and the buffet breakfast was superb!

I would not hesitate to book Crowne Plaza again after 2 great stays.

Room Tip: High floor ocean view worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Stays123,
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us and I am very pleased we met your expectations. I do agree, the ocean view rooms - though slightly more expensive- are well worth it with unhindered views straight out to the Pacific Ocean.
I hope we see you again soon!
Many thanks once again.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Bloody fantastic , my wife & I stayed there for 3 days , great service great food great staff , even the cleaning lady , can't wait to go back, some of the food prices are a bit ripe ,but you don't do it all the time so a the slug is worth it .

Room Tip: Book it ,it's worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Mark E,
Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise when you visit the Gold Coast and I hope we can look after you again soon.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.