We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an awesome stay! We are frequent guests ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always an awesome stay! We are frequent guests ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

When we need to stay on the Gold Coast, we always book into Crowne Plaza, Surfers Paradise. We have had trouble finding a room which caters for 2 adults and 2 children under 18 years without having to pay for either 2 rooms or an extra charge for having more than 3 guests in one room.

The hotel is situated down the highway a bit from the Surfers Paradise CBD, so on the last occasion that we needed to be on the Gold Coast, it happened to fall on schoolies week, but this was no hassle for us as we were away from the noise in central Surfers. Only a handful of respectable looking schoolies were at Crowne Plaza and all was nice and peaceful.

The hotel is also only a short walk to the beach and has either ocean view or mountain view rooms and some have large bathrooms with views as well and big marble baths and a shower. Rooms have balconies with views and are clean and stylishly decorated.

We have never encountered any problems during the many stays we have had at Crowne Plaza and for decades we have been visiting the revolving restaurant on the top level of the hotel. Hint for travellers - there are 2 dinner sittings - pick the 5:30pm one (& not the 8:00pm sitting) as you get both the sun going down over the mountains and the ocean at sunset, as well as the night lights and darkness of the Gold Coast. If you go to the 8:00pm sitting only, then you only get to see the night lights and darkness.

The buffet at the revolving restaurant is second to none. It has such a huge choice of food options like Asian, seafood, roasts, soups, salads, desserts, cheeses etc. etc. but all done to the highest quality and exquisitely presented on the buffet.

Just a short trip away is Jupiter's Casino and Pacific Fair Shopping Centre. There is also a gym, tennis court and pool in the hotel and everytime we go there, we are given complimentary drink vouchers to have in the lounge bar/pool area. The hotel also has another restaurant next to the pool, ideal for breakfast and lunch. You can also pick up board games from the reception desk.

We look at other options each time we need to go to the Gold Coast, but we are never able to replicate what we get for our money from Crowne Plaza. Also, there is only one other hotel on www.wotif.com on the Gold Coast, that we can have 4 in one room including one of our children who is older than 12 years included in the room rate, which is very reasonably priced per night for a family.

We will continue to be guests at this fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are slightly dearer, but worth the small extra amount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Many thanks for posting your review - but most of all thank you for your ongoing patronage of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. Please let me know next time you book to stay with us as I very much like to meet our regular guests in person.
Thanks again and I hope to see you soon.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    235
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
93
202
36
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sendai, Japan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed here by myself on business in late March 2012.

The good:

-upgrade to a nice room
-great view of the beach (with the balcony doors open you could hear the surf)
-nice welcome chocolates

The bad:

-serious service issues: not answering the telephone, forgetting requests, not bringing the things requested
-offered newspaper then didn't deliver one
-charged 1.5% fee for using a credit card

Overall:

This is a nice-looking hotel with a good location near the beach (a couple of roads away though), but very overpriced given the service issues.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Many thanks for your both the good and bad comments and rest assured I will take these on board in order to address the service issues which you experienced. Please accept my most sincere apologies for our shortcomings on this occasion.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was my second time here and it was just as good. The service upon check in is friendly and efficient and parking was free.
The room is large and the bed is super comfy. Flat screen TV, little dining table, huge wardrobe space and a great covered balcony with table and chairs and fantastic view.
Good sized bathroom with big bath too.
The location in OK, about 15min walk either side to get to shops and restaurants but only a short walk to the beach.

Overall I would definitely come back as the comfort and service is top notch.

Room Tip: When making a reservation request beach view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great Rooms great views great staff great food. What can I say it's 4.5 stars and breaking into 5. The location is central for the Surfers strip and it's close to the casino. The only downside is that it's a 10 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Many thanks Traveler Tim and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to share your feedback.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise and I do hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Weather it is family, business or a couple's getaway it will not be disappointing. We stayed in the Gold Tower a while back and found that the rooms in the Crowne Plaza are just as nice, so I did not feel the need to pay extra for the Gold Tower.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the eastern side of the building you will get less traffic noise when you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We chose this hotel as it has the revolving restaurant on the top floor, where we had booked for my birthday. We were instantly impressed with the service, since we check in was quick and efficient and by the time we got to our room, our bags were there before us. Thats the only hotel I've ever had the bags arrive before us.
Our room was really quite large, with a lounge area and table near the large windows and wide view out to the ocean.
The bathroom was gorgeous with a large spa tub in the corner. There is plenty of bench space, and deep drawers for cosmetics so we could keep the room tidy. The shower had fabulous water pressure.
The hotel surprised us with a delivery of complimentary champagne, to start my birthday celebrations.
The Four Winds revolving restaurant lived up to is great reputation. We were given a coveted window seat. I loved their pink champagne.
The food buffet is amazing, there is heaps of seafood including bugs, prawns, oysters, fish, crab, salmon, and lots of other fabulous hot and cold dishes. The Service was very good and drinks were served promtly and courteously.
The desserts were also amazing but before we got to them the served a selection of sweets at the table with sparklers and sang happy birthday, it was a sweet surprise.

We enjoyed the next day around the pool, there are 2 pools actually and a spa, since the hotel has 2 towers with the lagoon style pool in between.

The buffet breakfast was sensational, lots of selection, and they even had eggs benedict, which you dont often get at the buffet breakfasts.

The hotel is in Broadbeach, which is close to Jupitors Casion, Pacific Fair - large shopping centre and cinemas, and restaurant precinct. You can walk to the beach from the hotel.
If you want to see the heart of Surfers Paradise then you'd probably want to drive or catch a bus there.
We had no problem parking as there is complimentary parking in the basement. If you do drive, you have to enter the property from driving North to South with the hotel on your left.
If you are coming from the south, you'll need to drive past the Hotel and do a U turn, which is no trouble really.
It pays to be part of their chains Priority club, as when I requested a late check out they as
asked, "are you a Priority Club member,?" and since I was, we had complimentary late checkout.

I'd fully recommend this hotel for its high standards of service, location, and lovely ocean views, and we'll surely return.

Room Tip: Request and ocean view room and you might enjoy a high level room, as the view to north and south is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Many thanks for posting your review and I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments - and for choosing to stay with us when you visit the Gold Coast.
I do hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur,malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

the room is good..but the location is not exactly on Surfer Paradise.it is closer to Broadbeach. I would recommend a better located hotel than Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.