We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever with the best hosts at the best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moorings on Cavill Avenue to your Saves list
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday ever with the best hosts at the best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

the moorings is in the best location for all services in surfers paradise. it is within walking distances to shops, clubs and fun things to so. the bus to all the theme parks is about a 100m walk or if you have a car, its on the main road in and out of surfers paradise. the neighbors with the jet ski hire are the friendliest people we met. the units are fit for royalty with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and views that would cost you millions. the amenities in the units are all there, literally you only need to walk in with only your suitcase because everything else is supplied

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    134
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
338
155
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I lived in Adelaide until recently and have been coming to the Gold Coast twice a year, for the past 7years. The first 2years i stayed at other hotels and didnt find them to have exactly what they offered on their advertisements and then found Moorings On Cavill. Since then i have stayed with them each and every time ive come up. The service and friendliness provided from the time i walked in until the time i checked out was a lot more than i had ever received before at any other hotel. My partner and i didnt really expect the apartments to be as nice for the low prices that we were paying for each night the first time we came up but when we walked in and saw that balcony with that gorgeous view of the river both of us knew we wouldnt be staying anywhere else again. The apartment was also a lot bigger than we expected from the outside and the kitchen provided everything we needed on the few nights we decided to cook for ourselves. The bedroom was big enough for our 2 suitcases to sit at the end of the bed, the wardrobe for all of our clothes to hang was more than enough and the bathroom made getting up and ready to go out each day so much easier. If your looking for anywhere to stay on the Gold Coast, i highly recommend Moorings On Cavill as the number one spot.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Hi Margaret and Peter.

Just want to thank you for a lovely stay. Great to meet you both. Appreciate your kindness and generosit over the xmas break. Room was great, view was super, and position couldnt get any better. Great value! We'd definately refer you to others and will be sure to come say hi next time we're there!

Happy New Year!

Raff and Marzia. =)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I have stayed at this place before , and i would never book this myself , as money and price of a hotel room dose not phase me at all. But though i should share with this little gem.

Service - Upon arrival we were greet by the owners , and what a plesant suprise , although i have been to the Gold Coast far too many times to count , she was very very helpful and very friendly . They advised us of things to do and see and what time of room she had held for us.

I have to say the welcomed we were given was amazing and everytime we were in the foyer asked how we were enjoying our stay. I am very use to staying in five star hotels with all the glitz and glamour , but the service we were given was by far outstanding and worth of any five star hotel.

Rooms - Look let be honest you get what you pay for , yes they are a bit dated but the view along the canals by far outweight this , and who is in there rooms that much when on the Gold Coast,

Location - Great location as it is away from the hustle and bustle of the GC , but it only a few minutes walk to the action. The only drawback is that you have to cross the GC highway , which can get busy.

All in all - Yes i will be back as had a great stay and felt very welcomed and if you want a great apartment on a low floor, see if you can get room 13 , probally should tell people this , but its great if you have kids as it has a big balcony overlooking the canals and the pool area , so you can keep i eye on the kids from the balcony.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I was a little sceptical after reading other reviews but we had already booked so decided to go ahead. How lucky were we!!! They have just had new managers take over & they could not have been more friendly or helpful. We had a beautiful two bedroom on the 3rd floor which overlooked the river & the park. It was exceptionally clean & modern ( i understand they all owned by individuals so can only comment on the room we stayed in). Location was brilliant, handy to mall, clubs & river. (had a great day out on a little boat we hired just around the corner). BBQ & pool area & surrounds fantastic. overall loved it - great value & service with a smile - Thanks Marg & Pete you made our stay. Cheers

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Spent a week in a two bedroom apartment on eleventh floor. Marvellous views that seemed to change with each angle of the sun. Specatacular views at night.

Apartment furnished with quality and style. Flat screen TV with Foxtel access. Really comfortable leather lounge which looked brand new. DVD player. Well appointed kitchen stocked with all the utensils we needed. The apartment and bathrooms were neat and very clean.

The pool was always heated to a really good temperature and was very clean..as was the spa. Not into Saunas but it looked fine.

The double BBQ area near the pool and spa was very convenient , and spotlessly clean. It was a surprise that this area was really quiet and private.

Margaret and Peter, the managers of the complex were really lovely and could not do enough for us...we were very kindly shown through a penthouse and another apartment both of which were larger than ours and just as beauitifully appointed.

Whilst there was no formal room service, the apartment contained literature advertising delivery to our door of a multitude of gourmet foods from nearby restaraunts.

Left the best for last......the location......you could not ask for a better spot....across the road is the nightlife area of Surfers Paradise....lots of little restaurants and pubs within short walking distance.. not to mention all the quality clothing stores.

A short walk a litle further and you are on the beach...right in the middle of Surfers Paradise.

At the rear of the Moorings is just that......moorings which include the large jet boat (a top ride) , and numerous cruise operators .....including jet ski hire.

The Moorings on Cavill is well recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Room was great. Roomy,& good appliances. Outlook over the river was sensational.
Hospitality was very good. Central Position.Close to shops & also close to buses.
Could travel to Theme parks by bus. Could go everywhere by bus, so no need for a car.
Very close to the beach. Everything perfect.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Address: 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage.Call our reservations team direct for more great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings on Cavill Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.