We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks All Round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moorings on Cavill Avenue to your Saves list
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top Marks All Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We choose The Moorings because of all the great reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. Gracie & Erin were so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We upgraded to a 2 bed apartment because we wanted a river view and we feel it was worth it. The apartment was well furnished, very comfortable and the view was stunning. The Moorings is ideally placed for easy access to all amenities, but this does mean that normal city noise is always in the background. We would certainly go back if we visit the Gold Coast again.
Tip: if you want to hire a car ask Gracie or Erin. They use Paradise Blue Rent a Car and the service is excellent. They deliver and collect the car from The Moorings, are so friendly to deal with and offer great rates.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    123
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
320
143
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong Region, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

- assigned to the penthouse with nice river view. Could see stars at night.
- very clean, even better than a lot of 5-star hotels
- the kitchen has everything. Just need to buy some food from nearby supermarket (Coles and Woolworth)
- 50" TV with 50+ channels
- walking distance to all attractions at Surfer Paradise
- friendly staff
- nice pool
- have a car park, or can take bus/boat/light rail just next to the door
- no free wifi, need to pay
- the Optus 4G recepition is very good

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room with river view!~
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Upon arrival, the receptionist was very friendly and positive. The hotel was clean and close to shops/ activities, situated on the river not beach.

Our apartment was spacious and recently refurbished, with a fully equipped kitchen. Our room unfortunately faced the city street which was noisy at nights, but nothing too major.

The only downfall of the Moorings is that the double bed was two single beds pushed together, which got a little uncomfortable. Other than that, service is spot on and rooms are nice!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Accommodation that is well located with all the facilities you need on site and close by with a fantastic waterfront view. Outside of hotel and foyer would benefit from a bit of updating. Hotel is near a key shuttle drop off/pick up point and close to public transport

Room Tip: Try and get a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2BR apartment. The room is spacious with river view & well equipped kitchen .The only drawback was that the laundry & kitchen washing powder was stocked for only 1 day & for subsequent days you have to manage on your own cost. All shopping centres, activities within walking distance. Staff was friendly and helpful. All water activities depart from just behind the hotel. Overall good value for money & would recommend friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had searched for accommodation with a river view on line and read the previous reviews for the Moorings..We have been to the Gold Coast many times before..I will not waste time again in the future seeking the best accommodation and great value again,,The Moorings is simply the best..
The views of the river and the activities to be seen and enjoyed by just sitting on the balcony was excellent for we 4 senior citizens,,Family that visited us there who actually live close by were blown awayby the view and will plan to use an apartment there for weekends away,,Paradise...

Room Tip: corner unit suited us ,mainly we wanted a view,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed six nights with our two young children and found it to be an excellent location for a week in surfers paradise. Staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is sparkling clean , the apartment was well stocked for a self catering holiday with children. Some parts of the apartment were slightly dated but for the value we were totally fine with this.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Address: 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage.Call our reservations team direct for more great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings on Cavill Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.