We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Gold Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moorings on Cavill Avenue to your Saves list
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First trip to Gold Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our first trip as a family of 5 with three below 10 kids to the Gold coast during the winter trying to get away from the HOT Singapore. We had alot of questions prior to arrival, and the Moorings team were most helpful, and provided us with answers and even helped print out the local buses to go to various locations - SeaWorld, Movieworld, shopping etc. The apartment was well maintained, TV controller batteries were changed quickly (as the kids wanted to watch Cartoonnetwork during their down time), beddings were clean and we even had the use of the kitchen to cook some quick dinner noodles (saving some cash as a result), after a five minute walk to Woolsworth. Going free and easy to the Gold Coast fantastic as most of the questions were answered by the Mooring team - Erin and Phoenix. We could have probably seen more with a tour but going free and easy allowed us to go to various places at our pace and also enjoy the air, meet the friendly folks at gold coast.
The kids had lots of fun - catching Australian shrimps and crabs. As a family we would definitely visit the place again and see the other parts of goldcoast. Thanks to the concierge service at the Mooring.
For anyone reading this - if you're with kids, and prefer a non tour trip, try Moorings at Cavill. I am sure if you share your expectations with the team, they will put their best effort to make your holidays enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask them on your preference of where the balcony is facing. If it's facing the astuary river, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    123
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
320
143
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed for 7 nites and we really love it. The whole apartment is clean and we have a good river view. Counter staff are friendly.
Kitchen equipment & utensils are adequate, I did cook few meals for my family. Good location with supermarkets and bus stop in just 5 mins walk. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: choose high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our room was absolutely gorgeous! Apon arrival we got told we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite for free it exceptional views a stunning apartment with all the amenities++ This apartment would be great if hosting others. We will be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed on 10th floor river facing 1-bedroom apartment.

Floors are squeaky clean and river view is magnificent.

Kitchen equipments & utensils are adequate.

However deco is outdated and the floor tiles are stuck in 70s/80s.

Washing machine & dryer are very useful but there are dirt in the washing machine. Our freshly washed laundry ended up stained with black specks.

Cooker hood cannot be switched on despite already being connected to power.

Coffee, tea & sugar satchels are provided. So are single satchel of laundry detergent, dishwasher powder, 1 toilet roll & 2 bars of hand soap. However we have to replenish our own supplies during our 4 nights stay.

These are easily bought from the woolsworth across the road.

Underground parking lot per unit is provided. With security tag access.

Lifts are also only accessed by security tags.

Boarding to whale
cruises,river cruises etc are at river piers beside the building.

Will probably stay here again next time but preferably in a more modern unit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Moorings on Cavil is nothing flash, but has every thing you need and is clean and in the centre of it all. Also it has a nice clean pool and spa that looks over the river. Staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Moorings is an excellent location at the end of the well known Cavill Avenue overlooking the Nerang River. A short walk to the shops and beach. We had an immaculate apartment {No. 58} with a spacious and modern kitchen/lounge area. The view was spectacular during the day and the night lights were beautiful too. I loved the 23 degree heated pool and sun lounging area with BBQ facilities. A lovely lady, Erin, at reception was very helpful and friendly, ensuring our stay ran smoothly. One thing is for sure ....... we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Dont hesitate we were so impressed great value for money! Lovely staff close to buses, huge penthouse apartment for families I highly recommend the food on cavil is not cheap but delicious and the room has fantastic views over the river with a smokers balcony!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Address: 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage.Call our reservations team direct for more great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings on Cavill Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.