We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and easy walk to the heart of Surfers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Save Saved
You added Moorings on Cavill Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fill Gaps Super Special
Ranked #1 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and easy walk to the heart of Surfers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good facilities, close to all Surfers amenities, the staff were so helpful and very accommodating with any request, the apartment was clean but was a little dated, however, most apartments in Surfers are of a certain age so not a major issue, excellent view of the river and on a night the place just lit up. Could hear the traffic where we were but not enough to cause concern. We would recommend this holiday destination to any family or couples wishing to visit the Gold Coast. Just down the road was the Helm Bar and the food, service and ambience was fantastic.
Thank you for a great stay and yes we would have no hesitation in staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for river side apartment in lieu of the road side mainly for noise, did not realise how many sir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    440
    102
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
286
135
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Booked a two bedroom budget apartment on an Early bird rate for a short four day stay in the Gold Coast after flying in from the UK. Drove down from Brisbane and was a a couple of hours earlier getting there than the given checkin time. However this was no problem and the really efficient and incredibly friendly reception staff, (Gracie and Erin) had us sorted out and into the apartment. First reaction was 'Wow'. We had a first floor one overlooking the pool and river and the view was fantastic. The apartment was spotless white marble with all mod cons inc AC and cable TV and very comfortable with an incredible amount of floor space. Gas barbecues in the gardens for all to use, spa bath and sauna as well. Really well situated for shops and anything else you might need, 10 mins walk from the beach (if that). When by the pool you really would not think you were bang in the centre of Surfers. Loads of restaurants nearby.
This is true value for money made even better by the brilliant staff.
If we ever go to the GC again, The Moorings is where I would stay.
The reviews are great and overwhelmingly positive, and thoroughly deserved.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Recently had a boys trip and book to apartments. Both had amazing views and great facilities. Staff were extremely helpful with good recommondations for food and entertainment. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are a large group might be a good idea to ask for an extra swipe card fot the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked the Moorings on Cavill after an extensive search through every web site we could think of. Each time we searched, the name came up either at the top or close to the top. We were delighted with everything. We arrived early but were able to check straight away, the apartment was fantastic with amazing views. There was plenty of room to move around and having our own laundry was an added bonus. Located at the end of Cavill Avenue meant we were only a short walk to anywhere which made things so easy. A couple of things went wrong but were quickly fixed, nothing was too much trouble. Possibly the only downside was the underground parking with no logical sequence to bay numbers so we took some time in finding our way around. We've already decided to return here on our next visit. Thank you Erin for all your help.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished apartment, they are quite something!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Deserved top rate in Trip advisor. Nice and clean apartment. Comfortable beds and spacious living room. Excellent location, Woolworth supermarket just a cross the road. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. My sons love the swimming pool. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone going to Gold Coast. Here I would like thank Erin again for being so helpful to us when we asked for some information.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Can't stop raving about our experience at your hotel! We stayed in the hotel for 2 days as a family. It located just 5 minutes walk to the beach and has wonderful river views. Supermarket is just across the street and everything is handy. The rooms are spacious and clean. Very comfortable bed.Your employees were amazing! Our stay at your hotel was like at home - I would highly recommend this hotel to travellers to Gold Coast!

Room Tip: Call the reception and the girls will help you to choose the best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was the best trip ever we had at the moorings, the best location, service. We enjoyed the hospitality offered by the girls from reception, Gracie, Erin and Phoenix. We were wondering book some tours, but really struggled with many choices, staffs help us call the tour companies about many details we were interested, thanks very much. We had a great cruise with blue water, best price with best view. We will absolutely come back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Address: 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage.Call our reservations team direct for more great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings on Cavill Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.