We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“broken aircon, smokers paradice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Save Saved
You added Moorings on Cavill Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fill The Gaps To Save!!!
auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“broken aircon, smokers paradice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The first day we checked in the air con was broken. We stayed there during October where the temp was from 24 to 36 degrees. During our 13 days there many excuses were given such as the owner will not pay for a new oneand its under warentee and are waiting to get it fixed. This never happened. We wre offered another unit facing the road. The trafic noise was so bad in our bedroom it would have been impossible to stay in the new unit.
The pools area was lovely except for the fact that there were always smokers around so you could never escape the smoke, and for a non smoker this was not good. This should be a non smoking area
Every Friday and Saturday night the party boat are right next to you so be expected for a lot of young people yelling and partying all night

Room Tip: Make sure you are facing the river and if the aircon doesnot work then check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are very sad that your stay with us wasn't what you had expected. After visiting our building prior to your stay to check if we were up to standard you seemed quite happy. We endured your complaints of the last hotel you stayed at. Unfortunately in this business things do break down and we are at the mercy of service providers to repair or replace faulty items. Sorry it wasn't as quickly as you required, however we did offer you a room with a working airconditioner. You refused that because you felt it would be too noisy, and had you moved rooms you may have been qualified to say that the noise level was too high, but you didn't. Our owners of the units are keen to keep all appliances working and we do not go around say things like they wont repair, because that is simply untrue. We do not allow smoking in our apartments or anywhere in the building, unfortunately there are some who smoke in the open spaces of the pool area because it's the only place left. Those who do so sometimes are forgetful of smoke sensitive people like yourselves. Your suggestions of an alternative would be appreciated. We do appreciate your feedback and hope that your future travel plans are issue free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    93
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
269
125
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our family of five had a wonderful stay on the 13th floor. It faces the river and offered the most amazing view.
The apartment is simply complete. With the fully-equipped kitchen, we had our breakfast and dinners at home most of the time. We did the laundry almost every day, and our boys enjoyed swimming in the pool.
The location is just brilliant. There are Woolworths and Coles across the road and its a 5-10 minutes walk to the shops, restaurants and the beach. The theme parks are at most 30 minutes away.
Our heartfelt thanks to the friendly, helpful, lovely and cheery hosts, Peter, Margaret, Erin and Nan for making our holiday in Gold Coast such a memorable one. When we return to the Gold Coast, we will definitely book the Moorings again.
And, I would surely recommend the Moorings to anyone who wants the comforts of a home while on vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Room - The room was great; very clean, spacious, well funished/equipped and amazing views.

Location - Perfectly located two minutes walking from the supermarket, cafes and restaurants and about five minutes from the pubs and clubs.

Amenities - Large pool that was always the perfect temperature, never the slightest bit chilly; was also immaculately clean at all times. Same applies to the spa and sauna.

Staff - Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, always happy to assist wherever they can; couldn't ask for an easier group of people to deal with.

The next time I'm in Surfers Paradise I'll definitely be looking to stay at The Moorings, overall a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Amazing place to stay! Great location and fantastic views! I stayed at the Moorings for a week with two friends and we had the most amazing time, the apartment we stayed in was clean, modern and had plenty of room for three teenage girls :)
Definitely would stay here again in the future!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Attractive modern clean apartment. Very close to main shops, supermarkets, beach etc. Picturesque view over the canals. Friendly hosts and easy to check in after hours. Nice pool area although would be even better if the children's pool was heated. Lots of extra TV channels for relaxing at night. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Apartment 12 was lovely. Faced the canals and nice afternoon sun. A little street/people noise lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

nice clean hotel and it had the friendliest owners. my stay was really nice and the location of the hotel is right on Cavil Ave the central street in Surfers Paradise. the owners margaret and peter really made an effort to make it a pleasant stay. the hotel also has amazing views of the river and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Guest Relations Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad we could make your Schoolies Week full of great memories! All the best with your future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Moorings during school holidays. It is walking distance to woolworth, the beautiful beach and all the yummy restaurant. Also inside of the apartment is clean and modern decorate. All the kitchen facilities are provided. Sky TV have kids channel to keep our two little monkeys engaged while me and my husband having a rest after a long day walking in the theme parks.
So, just love it, would come back again:)

Room Tip: We had the top floor so it is less noisy as the building is next to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Address: 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage.Call our reservations team direct for more great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings on Cavill Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.