We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moorings on Cavill Avenue to your Saves list
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Armadale, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Heavenly Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Both the location and renovated suite we stayed at were fantastic. Marg was an absoulute delight to talk to and helped us with any queries we had. The other desk lady (can't quite remember her name) was the nicest person and only added to the great experience we had. If you are looking for a great place to stay right in the heart of surfers without the price tag, then this is the place! A 2 minute walk to EVERYTHING! A++

Room Tip: The superior rooms are recently renovated and offer that extra but of comfort. Well worth the minima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    123
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
320
143
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Everything was sensational. From the moment we arrived we were blown away by the friendly greeting we received by Pete, Margaret and Jackson. They just couldn't do enough for us. The room had breathtaking views from absolutely every room in our apartment, looking both ways up and down the river. Everything was spotless, and the apartment was very spacious, with absolutely everything you could want in it. The gas heated pool was lovely and the water temperature was just perfect. The garden areas were also stunning.
The location was perfect, with the river at our doorstep, the beach just a 5 minute walk down Cavill Avenue, and all the shopping in between. I will be recommending The Moorings to all our friends and cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Booked this place because of its perfect location and its rating/reviews on trip advisor - it definitly was a fantastic stay. Stayed only 3 nights from the 6th - 9th November and from arrvival we were able to check in straight away even though we arrived at arround 10.30am so that was very much appreciated. The room itself, a one bedroom apartment was very spacious and modern with really pretty furnishings, alot bigger than i had expected, especially the lounge room. The bathroom itself was great, separate bath & shower - the shower did have amazing water pressure. When we checked out we were also able to leave our bags in a secure room for most of the day as our flight did not leave to 6pm that day.

I have been to Surfers Paradise a few times before, and although i have never had a bad experience accomodation wise this place has definitly been my favourite and i will be booking here again as it was a great price, fantasic location and just an amazing place.

The pool and spa were also quite nice, good water temp and fantastic views, the main bus stop was just down the road, only a 1 minute if that walk so that was very convenient getting from the airport and going to theme parks etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

With stunning views, great location, modern decor, private and spacious apartment, Moorings on Cavill ticked all our requirements. Walking distance to the beach, the river, eating places, shops entertainment, it's a great home away from home.

We stayed on 8th floor with amazing views, the hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. As our kids are allergic to dust mites and have asthma, we are usually a bit concerned when away on holiday. But this certainly wasn't an issue as this place was super clean, thumbs up!

It is now in our very short list of highly recommend places to stay to relax.
thanks Margaret, Peter and Erin for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views to the river on the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The reviews I read for the Moorings were true! We had a fantastic stay in the 3 bedroom apartment - it surpassed our expectations for the size and quality of fittings. While we went to the theme parks Gran stayed happily in the apartment and watched the weekend activity on the river, rested and ventured downstairs for some retail therapy across the road. Margaret was a delight to deal with, and we enjoyed our chat by the pool. I will recommend Moorings without doubt (I already have!). Thanks Margaret for your kindness to us all - and what a relief the All Blacks won the World Cup!!!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom apartment on north west corner - sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We just returned from a 10 night stay at The Moorings and it was so wonderful.
The apartment was amazing. We stayed in the 2 bedroom penthouse and it was incredibly spacious. The view was gorgeous looking over the river and the city. The apartment is fully stocked and you don't want or need a thing. We felt so lucky to spend our time there.
We didn't hear any noise at all. The room had double sliding doors and we slept soundly.
The pool and the bbq area are beautiful. We spent our best night on holiday having our own poolside bbq and it was a highlight.
As for Peter, Margaret, Erin and Liz, they are a credit to the complex. Everything is spotless - you could spill your food on the ground and the 10 second rule wouldn't apply. The gardens (and the best lawn I have ever seen) are maintained by Pete.
I have travelled to many places and it makes a world of difference if you spend your time (and money) on a place to stay and are greeted and treated like you matter. With Margaret and Peter I would have had just a good a time in a tent having them around.
Thank you for making our holiday and my birthday so special. We won't forget you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Everything was just perfect. The staff are really lovely. The position is just a short walk to the beach and the bus stop to 'everywhere' is right outside!! Thoroughly recommend the 'Mooring on Cavill Avenue'

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Address: 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage.Call our reservations team direct for more great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings on Cavill Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.