We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Imperial Surf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Imperial Surf to your Saves list
BreakFree Imperial Surf
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our first stay at these apartments and we were not disappointed. We had a 2 bedroom on the 23rd floor, bedrooms were a good size, 1 full size bathroom, 1 ensuite, laundry, large kitchen and large living area with panoramic views.
Apartments A,B,C are on the ocean side of the building, D & E on the north & south ends, which means E which we had & I assume D also gets views of the ocean, city view & mountain views.
The room was well maintained with furniture & bedding all up to a good standard, I have read other reviews which say the rooms were old, so best to check maybe before you book as some may have been renovated.
We made use of the indoor pool, (way to much chlorine though) and the free downstairs BBQ, as for location it's only a 5 min walk to Cavill Ave and parking is provided free of charge.
The negatives, cracked bathroom window & sink & the sink took forever to drain, however none of these would stop us from staying in the same place again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Stephen L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    33
    12
    18
See reviews for
114
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a beautiful sub penthouse on 37th floor. Incredible view, spacious, sunny balcony, quiet and peaceful, all amenities we needed. Staff provide friendly service and go the extra mile to help. Property clean and well maintained. We stayed there about 8 years ago and the fine upkeep had been well maintained. Patrolled beach just across the esplanade, and cafe/shops within five minute walk. A superb holiday location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Markinson,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. You are absolutely right, the views from the balcony are incredible. I am glad to hear that the Reception staff provided friendly service and you found the apartment clean and well maintained.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend checked into apartment 26a on Saturday 31st August and were absolutely stoked with the accommodation! A large bedroom with ensuite, large second bathroom, huge living/dining area and great kitchen. I was so happy to see that not only did the apartment have a washing machine but also a dryer which made life a lot easier! Not to mention the luxury of a dishwasher!

Now, the view... It was our first holiday as a couple and the view was just so perfectly unforgettable. We didn't realise that we would have a completely clear view (and access) to the beach and so we were just in awe!

The kitchen was fully equipped, plenty of towels were provided and any other bits and pieces like a broom (to sweep up the sand that you walk into the tiled apartment), iron and so on.

We stayed for 6 nights and during our time had absolutely no issues or complaints. In fact we were really pleased with everything and found all staff to be friendly and helpful especially Leanne who helped us book a surfing lesson and was always happy to have a chat.

We both can't wait to come back to the Gold Coast and will definitely stay at the Imperial Surf and recommend it to others! Thank you all so much for an amazing holiday :)

Tash and Matt

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear blogdie,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were not sure what we were getting, as our visit was part of a prize package that I had won in a New Zealand Herald competition ; but we were most impressed when we opened the door to apartment 12E and found this huge one bedroomed apartment with superb views all around. It seems that there are only 6 one bedroomed apartments which have the same footprint as the 2 bedrooms, and thus the second bedroom space was actually part of the living room; fantastic.That meant we had 2 bathrooms, a full one with tub and separate shower and a large ensuite in our room with shower as well ! There is also a separate full laundry with washer and dryer and the kitchen has a full oven,cooktop and microwave.. The views from 12E were great, all the way round from the ocean views as far as Tweed heads, through Surfers, and back across to the hills and Tamborine area. We spent many pre-dinner drinks time watching the sunset, the Vomatron and Sling Shot rides, and also the demolition of the old Surfers City motel as part of the light rail project.Once that rail is through it will make the Imperial Surf even more attractive as it is at the back gate.
The property is fairly old, and that can be noticed in a few spots in the kitchen but having said that, 12E was obviously recently re-furbished , absolutely clean and furnished extremely well, and we could not have wished for more. Our package was for 6 nights but we extended it to 10 days as we had not been to the Gold Coast before and were so pleased we had. It was serviced half way through our stay on the 5th day . Staff were excellent , Leanne at reception was so helpful and friendly, together with part time Jacqui and General Manager Rajesh.
Our daughter from Sydney came up for a couple of days as a surprise for my wife's birthday and the staff ,who knew , kept it quiet until she was in our room greeting us; talk about icing on the cake .!
Location is great, 2 blocks from Cavill Ave.,and we zapped around using our Surfside Bus GO cards; weather fantastic, every day sunny,clear and warm; a perfect break for us and thanks to all who made it possible. Would we go back,? we certainly would and would ask for 12E again ,and hope Leanne was still there to give us her advice and make us feel like friends not guests .

Room Tip: If you are just a couple, 12E or one of the other one bedroomed apartments is ideal with its extra l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear David-NZ,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in room 12c which was a beautiful 2 bedroom apartment with full kitchen and laundry. Directly across the road from the beach with unobstructed views of the ocean, TV provided but barely watched as the view was stunning with several dolphin and whale spottings just off the beach. 5 minute walk to Cavill Ave and close to buses etc for easy transport. The lady at reception when we checked in was lovely and went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Will definately be back!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in A, B or C have front balconies facing the beach, D is a side verandah but the angle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear tanyan720,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
We are glad you enjoyed the unobstructed views of the ocean and were able to spot dolphins and whales. I am also pleased to hear that Leanne at Reception was helpful and went out of her way to make sure you enjoyed your stay.
We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Located 5-10min walk from Cavill Avenue which is perfect to eat out at one of the many restaurants but far enough to avoid people stumbling out of the clubs. The Breakfree Imperial Surf apartments offer unrestricted oceans views - depending on your room. Our room (17b - 2 bedrooms) was clean, tidy, comfortable beds, kitchenette, belcony with sensational ocean views which suited all our needs. Patrolled surf beach is acrossed the road from the Apartment. The facilities include a sauna, steam room, tennis court, heated spa, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, bbq facilities however has no WiFi, gym and reception is not 24 hours - which did not concern us ( your key gives you access after hours). There are cheap Internet cafes/shops close by. There is secured undercover car parking and 3 lifts. It's is reasonably priced and we plan on staying again in the near future. This is a good clean apartment and well positioned. I recommend this apartment to travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear SMcinerney 1980,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy to hear that you found the location and the apartment to your satisfaction.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked this apartment through booking.com and certainly wasn't disappointed! We stayed in apartment 18 D. We took our two teenage boys with us and their gasps when we walked into the apartment said it all! The two bathrooms were great and everything we needed was available in the kitchen to cook for the couple of nights we stayed in. The full laundry was invaluable, the black leather lounge was very comfy and the sweeping views were spectacular! We particularly enjoyed the heated pool and spa after our long days at the theme parks! I would certainly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again. As for location, ten minute walk to cavill avenue and literally 50 meters from the beach. The receptionist, Leanne was very helpful and nothing was a problem despite my multiple questions about transport etc!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Michelle A ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
We are very pleased to hear that you found our Receptionist - Leanne very helpful. I will certainly pass this compliment to Leanne. We are also glad you enjoyed
your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Surf Resort Apartments is just a stroll from the patrolled beach and on the doorstep to the hub of the Gold Coast in more ways than one. In walking distance to the Surfers Paradise mall with fabulous shops and boutiques and its own complement restaurants, ranging from gourmet to casual alfresco dining. Boasting spectacular view and being one of the tallest buildings on the Gold Coast. All apartments have ocean views, some also feature sights of the hinterland ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Imperial Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.