We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could wish for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Imperial Surf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Imperial Surf to your Saves list
BreakFree Imperial Surf
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, New Zealand.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“All you could wish for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were not sure what we were getting, as our visit was part of a prize package that I had won in a New Zealand Herald competition ; but we were most impressed when we opened the door to apartment 12E and found this huge one bedroomed apartment with superb views all around. It seems that there are only 6 one bedroomed apartments which have the same footprint as the 2 bedrooms, and thus the second bedroom space was actually part of the living room; fantastic.That meant we had 2 bathrooms, a full one with tub and separate shower and a large ensuite in our room with shower as well ! There is also a separate full laundry with washer and dryer and the kitchen has a full oven,cooktop and microwave.. The views from 12E were great, all the way round from the ocean views as far as Tweed heads, through Surfers, and back across to the hills and Tamborine area. We spent many pre-dinner drinks time watching the sunset, the Vomatron and Sling Shot rides, and also the demolition of the old Surfers City motel as part of the light rail project.Once that rail is through it will make the Imperial Surf even more attractive as it is at the back gate.
The property is fairly old, and that can be noticed in a few spots in the kitchen but having said that, 12E was obviously recently re-furbished , absolutely clean and furnished extremely well, and we could not have wished for more. Our package was for 6 nights but we extended it to 10 days as we had not been to the Gold Coast before and were so pleased we had. It was serviced half way through our stay on the 5th day . Staff were excellent , Leanne at reception was so helpful and friendly, together with part time Jacqui and General Manager Rajesh.
Our daughter from Sydney came up for a couple of days as a surprise for my wife's birthday and the staff ,who knew , kept it quiet until she was in our room greeting us; talk about icing on the cake .!
Location is great, 2 blocks from Cavill Ave.,and we zapped around using our Surfside Bus GO cards; weather fantastic, every day sunny,clear and warm; a perfect break for us and thanks to all who made it possible. Would we go back,? we certainly would and would ask for 12E again ,and hope Leanne was still there to give us her advice and make us feel like friends not guests .

Room Tip: If you are just a couple, 12E or one of the other one bedroomed apartments is ideal with its extra l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear David-NZ,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    76
    33
    12
    18
See reviews for
114
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in room 12c which was a beautiful 2 bedroom apartment with full kitchen and laundry. Directly across the road from the beach with unobstructed views of the ocean, TV provided but barely watched as the view was stunning with several dolphin and whale spottings just off the beach. 5 minute walk to Cavill Ave and close to buses etc for easy transport. The lady at reception when we checked in was lovely and went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Will definately be back!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in A, B or C have front balconies facing the beach, D is a side verandah but the angle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear tanyan720,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
We are glad you enjoyed the unobstructed views of the ocean and were able to spot dolphins and whales. I am also pleased to hear that Leanne at Reception was helpful and went out of her way to make sure you enjoyed your stay.
We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Located 5-10min walk from Cavill Avenue which is perfect to eat out at one of the many restaurants but far enough to avoid people stumbling out of the clubs. The Breakfree Imperial Surf apartments offer unrestricted oceans views - depending on your room. Our room (17b - 2 bedrooms) was clean, tidy, comfortable beds, kitchenette, belcony with sensational ocean views which suited all our needs. Patrolled surf beach is acrossed the road from the Apartment. The facilities include a sauna, steam room, tennis court, heated spa, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, bbq facilities however has no WiFi, gym and reception is not 24 hours - which did not concern us ( your key gives you access after hours). There are cheap Internet cafes/shops close by. There is secured undercover car parking and 3 lifts. It's is reasonably priced and we plan on staying again in the near future. This is a good clean apartment and well positioned. I recommend this apartment to travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear SMcinerney 1980,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy to hear that you found the location and the apartment to your satisfaction.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked this apartment through booking.com and certainly wasn't disappointed! We stayed in apartment 18 D. We took our two teenage boys with us and their gasps when we walked into the apartment said it all! The two bathrooms were great and everything we needed was available in the kitchen to cook for the couple of nights we stayed in. The full laundry was invaluable, the black leather lounge was very comfy and the sweeping views were spectacular! We particularly enjoyed the heated pool and spa after our long days at the theme parks! I would certainly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again. As for location, ten minute walk to cavill avenue and literally 50 meters from the beach. The receptionist, Leanne was very helpful and nothing was a problem despite my multiple questions about transport etc!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Michelle A ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
We are very pleased to hear that you found our Receptionist - Leanne very helpful. I will certainly pass this compliment to Leanne. We are also glad you enjoyed
your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Imperial Surf during April this year. Our room was huge. We had everything the Gold Coast has to offer at your finger tips. From seaworld,to the King Tutts Putt Putt to the Vomitron and the steels Jet boat this place is close to everything you need. Yes sometimes the weather was good and sometimes very bad but that's the weather man for you. Imperial.Surf was a very impressive place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Sneazle79,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked through a deal on Groupon.

Wow, we sure got a bargain.

The location is perfect, short walk to Cavil Ave and right on the beach.
We were in apartment 9E, our apartment was extremely dated but functional, 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, full laundry and kitchen. Superb wrap around verandah, views from the ocean to the mountains.... The only down side to this apartment is the lounges are very uncomfortable, the mattresses are old (still ok but should be better), and the showers need a really good scrubbing, also need more draws in the master bedroom, the kids room has the most storage space I've ever seen in an apartment room.

The hotel has 2 pools and a spa, one pool and the spa are indoor and heated. There is also a steam room and sauna.. The spa was heaven, except the second day my husband and children went down and just about went blind from the spa, we are guessing they just loaded it up with chloriene, it bleached everyones swimming clothes and made their eyes all red (they were even wearing goggles in there).

I can't remember her name (Lea?), but the lady at reception is an asset to the company. Very welcoming and easy to talk to.

Over all we would happily book and stay again at this property.

Room Tip: Loved our wrap around verandah in apartment 9E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear sam3lil,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you found the location perfect and our Receptionist - Leanne welcoming. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.We have taken onboard your comments and we will address these issues.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Breakfree Imperial Surf again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this accommodation through flight centre in NZ. On arriving at the hotel we found the reception staff absolutely helpful in very way and continued to be throughout our 7 day stay. The hotel provided plenty of information as to what was available to tourists - just fabulous! The twin share unit was spacious and catered for all our needs. The views from our unit which was on the 26th floor were amazing and we spend many an hour watching surfing, beach combers, sunrises and also Whale watching. I'm sure we had a better view of the whales than even the people that paid to go whale watching! Enjoyed the early morning walks, shopping that we required was in close proximity. I would highly recommend Breakfree Imperial Surf for it's customer service, proximity to everything and the wonderful views.

Room Tip: Best view our room 26th floor C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Cal M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am happy to hear that our Reception staff were helpful throughout your stay with us and you enjoyed the fabulous views. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Surf Resort Apartments is just a stroll from the patrolled beach and on the doorstep to the hub of the Gold Coast in more ways than one. In walking distance to the Surfers Paradise mall with fabulous shops and boutiques and its own complement restaurants, ranging from gourmet to casual alfresco dining. Boasting spectacular view and being one of the tallest buildings on the Gold Coast. All apartments have ocean views, some also feature sights of the hinterland ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Imperial Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.