We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Imperial Surf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Imperial Surf to your Saves list
BreakFree Imperial Surf
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Great apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

this apartment was everything you could ask for,close to beach,shops and general positioning. The staff were very helpful,but one thing was that i thought they opened and closed reception too late and early.They had hiring of boards. The rooms were great and the view was amazing.The pools are also great would highly recommend

Room Tip: Letters A B C had ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Samantha, I appreciate your feedback and thanks for posting this via Trip Advisor. I am pleased the location and facilities proved convenient for you during your stay and that you enjoyed our wonderful views. I hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
BreakFree Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    33
    12
    18
See reviews for
114
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days over Christmas, it was a fantastic location.Shopping just down the street, lots of eateries and beach activities. We didnt have to worry about finding a park, our car was safely parked underneath and we could walk to so many places. Night walks on the beach were wonderful, coming from inland NSW we dont get to do this often. The beach is lit up so you can safely walk along them in the cool of the evening.
Unit was roomy, esp as we had Christmas presents etc as extra travel gear.
Will definitely be going back

Room Tip: View from level 21 was spectacular and little street noise from this level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the close proximity that we are to everything. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
BreakFree Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed during the BDO weekend. On the 37th floor, fantasic view. As soon as you walk in all you see is the ocean, nothing else. You just dont get the ocean view but also the city view as we could see the view of the cannal. The location was perfect for us, as it is just 2 minute walk to the shuttle bus for big day out and walking distances to the shops and coles.
We onl had 2 issues with the apartment, the first being that block out blinds should have been used instead of the shadie blinds which did not block much of the sun out in the morning as the sun would hit the main bedroom and main area. Second, there was only 2 stove tops for a 4 ppl stay. We used the kitchen alot n it would have been helpful to have the 2extra stove.
Staff was fantasic and helpful. Room was massive andit was just hard to leave the apartment. Love love love we will be back next year to hire the apartment again.
I do advice this room and is worth your money. We've previously stayed at Breakfree Aloha and we thought itwas great... but Imperial Surf is 10 times better than Aloha.
Thank you Imperial Surf for your fantasic hospitality!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback as it is always good to be reassured by receiving positive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back next year. Just remember we only have three Sub Penthouses, so book early not to be dissappointed.
Kind Regards
BreakFree Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I was nervous having read previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised on arrival to room on 27th floor. Views were amazing, and we were across the road from beach and 5 mins to cavill ave. Rooms were spacious and reasonably clean. We are a family of five and we used the kitchen every day. It was clean and operational. Indoor and outdoor pool area was well maintained.

There was a plumbing issue on first day that was addressed within an hour. We had a room service midway through our 10 day stay where sheets and towels were changed.

I am aware that all rooms are different in this complex and it is luck of the draw. I asked most people in the lift what there accomodation was like and got positive comments from everyone I asked. This is 3 star accommodation and is priced accordingly. You need to weigh up your expectations with what you are paying. Before arrival my husband said about my worries, " If it's not clean we will go and get some pinoclean, if it's old we can relax and not be precious with three kids. So what if it's dated we are paying for location."

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on-line regarding you recent stay with us.
It is always food to receive positive feedback about BreakFree Imperial Surf. I must agree with you that we are in an excellent location being directly opposite the beach. We lool forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
BreakFree Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We will never stay at this Hotel again. The unit was filthy, stained carpets, lounges and curtains. There was a cigarette butt on the floor inside the wardrobe and a broken plastic cup. The kitchen was very old and the stove was rusted so no chance of cooking anything in there. We paid nearly $900 for a 3 night stay and left after 2 nights. When asked why we were checking out early I told her the unit was filthy, there were bugs in the unit and we had the worst time there. Her response was " some of out units are individually owned" and we cannot control what the inside of the unit looks like. Surely the management is responsible for the cleanliness of the unit. We stayed in 8D, so do yourselves a favour and have someone check the unit before staying or better still avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not inform us regarding the cleaning issues when you arrived and we would have had Housekeeping come and rectify the issues that you had in the apartment. I am sorry that we did not have the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable.
Regards
BreakFree Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Had to complain about the first apartment as it was filthy with crumbs on the carpet, hairs in the sinks and showers, very old fashioned, stained curtains, sofa & carpets. We had paid $750 for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom ocean view which was expensive. We were given another apartment with no real problem. It was much improved, more modern and cleaner and amazing views. Still very poorly maintained, broken chairs on balcony, dripping taps, dusty tables, filthy under beds, broken alarm clock, dirty walls and curtains,badly repaired holes in doors, rubbish in wardrobe from previous people etc etc. Very disappointed with the money paid. We left after the first night and left my son there with some friends instead. Would have expected this from a backpackers or an unrated place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your stay. We were disappointed that the apartment you were initially allocated was not up to standard. However we are pleased that we were able to move you immediately to another apartment. I sincerely apologise that in this instanace we were unable to meet expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been taken seriously and action taken to ensure these short fallings are not repeated.
Regards
BreakFree Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view apartment. super spacious and quite comfy.

Even though i agree with some others saying it needs to be renovated a bit.

but worth the money, loved the stay.


late check-in can be a bit inconvenient.

Room Tip: ocean view room is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoing you back again soon

Kind Regards
Breakfree Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Surf Resort Apartments is just a stroll from the patrolled beach and on the doorstep to the hub of the Gold Coast in more ways than one. In walking distance to the Surfers Paradise mall with fabulous shops and boutiques and its own complement restaurants, ranging from gourmet to casual alfresco dining. Boasting spectacular view and being one of the tallest buildings on the Gold Coast. All apartments have ocean views, some also feature sights of the hinterland ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Imperial Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.