We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view........end of story” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Imperial Surf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Imperial Surf to your Saves list
BreakFree Imperial Surf
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great view........end of story”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Facilities not available as advertised due to renovations.....still not reflected in advertising for bookings today.Straight deceit in advertising.
Two families separated by 10 floors with no way to go up and down to them due to limitations of security system.Not what we asked for.On the two occasions we asked for help we received a lecture instead of helpfull advice.
Room very outdated and poor maintenace levels.....leaking shower , backed up hand basins, toilet flushes till you press button several times to stop it , the security to balcony sliding dooor consisted of a steel bolt that you drop in at floor level.....dangerous to young children and unnecessary.
If as i understand the apartments we stayed in are owned by private investors then now is the time to STOP putting the money in your pocket and put some of it back into attaining the standards as advertised.
If the apartment we stayed in is perfectly acceptable to your organisation then i challenge you to show it in your facility pics and see how many takers you get.
We loved Surfers and the surrounding Gold Coast but would not come within a bulls roar of the Imperial again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. As we do not manage every apartment in the Resort it is not always possible for us to put parties travelling together on the same floor. I'm sorry that you thought, that when you asked for advice, you were given a lecture, when our Staff were only trying to help. The resort is working with the Owners in an ongoing program of updating many of our apartments, my apologies that we did not meet your expectations in this regard.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    76
    33
    12
    18
See reviews for
114
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

Great location but plenty of others to pick from. Not told that pool, tennis, BBQ closed for painting in peak season. Foldout bed broken. Manager said it was against the rules to use it and all of them were broken anyway. Declined a portable bed for extra $35 x 7 nights. Co-booked with friends but security for owner occupiers stops access to other floors. Aussie staff friendliness? not even close.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback on-line following your stay with us. Unfortunately our outdoor pool and BBQ areas were only open after 4pm Monday to Friday and after 1pm Saturday and Sunday during the exterior of our Resort. Our Indoor pool and Spa pool were available for use all day. We do not advertise sofa beds and do not use any of these that may be in the apartments due to the condition of them. We do hire in beds from an outside company and there is a charge for these. Your booking was for 2 Adults in a 1 bedroom unit that is advertised with a Queen bed. In future should you require 2 beds I would advise you to book a share twin or a 2 bedroom unit.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Don't be fooled by the photos shown on the web, the hotel we stayed at looks a lot different...
I didn't mind the painting and renovating, because this hotel really needs it, but was dissapointed at having to stay off the balconies for some part of the stay....

First the good things, it is extremely spacious. There was 3 of us, but could have easily fit about 4 more people because there is heaps of couches...
And the views of the city and the ocean were amazing..and it was central to everything, so we didn't have to walk that far to catch the bus or to go out for dinner..

at first we couldnt stop talking about how spacious and amazing the place was..

BUT..... withing two days( we stayed 7 nights) of being there the handle on our bathroom door broke off, on both sides... so we had to use the other bathroom in case we got locked in... and we would have asked the staff to come and fix it, but we hardly spent the day at the hotel so we never bothered... and there were other things that were fallnig apart as well, including couches...
Then theres the staff who are extremely unhelpful... once i asked one of the receptionist how much it was for a ticket to movie world, thinking she would refer me to a brochure or give me any info on deals, her answer was "i dont know"... there were other incidences as well of the staff having no knowledge of where certain attractions or bus stops are located...

Anyway if you like great views and spacious apartments, and dont care about the little things, you prob would like this place...

Room Tip: mayhbe ask for a room where nothings falling apart:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding you recent stay with us.
We are regretful that the maintenance issues were not brought to our attention during your stay, but wish to advise that corrective action has since been taken. I'm disappointed to hear that you were not given the information that you required regarding Theme Parks and buses as our staff are only to willing to help you with purchasing your tickets for these.
We hope to welcome you back to BreakFree Imperial Surf on your next visit to the Gold Coast.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed for 10 days with my family. The first thing we noticed upon arrival was the temporary fencing around the hotel and paint flecks all over the ground. (They are currently repainting the outside of the building). We were then advised that the outdoor pool and BBQ area was closed Mon-Fri until 4pm and Saturdays until 1. On top of that the tennis court was closed and we were asked not to go on our balcony because of the painting. We were only advised of the current maintenance the day before arrival when we called to advise there would be one extra staying. We were unaware of the extent of the works and lack of facilities. No attempt had been made to communicate this to us. No real consolation or discount was offered to us which was very disappointing. The room itself was okay, relatively clean with what appeared to be new tiling, new kitchen and one of the two bathrooms had been renovated. The view of the ocean was great through the large window in the living room. We had one less for the last night, and attempted to return the additional fold out bed at 1pm for a refund and were advised we could not as the company that provide the beds had already been that day. Had the maintenance been finished and all facilities available my stay may have been more positive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologise that in this instance we were unable to meet expectations. Due to the painting of the exterior of the Resort there were limited hours for the outdoor swimming pool and BBQ area, however the indoor pool and spa pool were available at all times. Unfortunately due to the fact that we have to hire in our fold out beds and these are delivered and picked up in the morning and you never informed us that you did not require yours until mid afternoon we were then unable to have these returned for a refund.
Once again thank you for your comments and we welcome you and your family to BreakFree Imperial Surf. on your next holiday on the Gold Coast.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed for 8 nights and as soon as we arrived we noticed that the front of the building is blocked off due to painting and renovations. Our room had great views of the city and the beach and was very spacious, but than that, it was very outdated and grotty. The fully self contained kitchen very much needs ripping out and replacing. The bench had duct tape on it to cover up where it had swollen in the join. The cups had stains, the toaster had crumbs all over it and the range hood didn't look like it has ever been cleaned - and it would be 20 years old! The shower hose had a hole in it, the couchs absoloutely stunk! (They smelt like an old ashtray) the coffee table had coffee rings all over it, the air conditioning unit too had mould on the inside that you could see once it was turned on - and it too smelt pretty bad. Also, the bedside lamps where broken and had brown stains on them.
On top of all of that, every morning at around 7am the painters painting the outside of the building, stopped outside our room on their scaffolding with their radio turned up loud, swearing and yelling to each other. They had no consideration for people staying there that might be trying to have a sleep-in on their holiday.
Because we got the room reasonably cheap, we put up with it, but I would be hesitate to stay here again unless I got a renovated room.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with same aspects of your stay.
We are regretful that the issues you had, were not brought to our attention while you were staying, so that maintenance and housekeeping could have been sent to you unit to rectify.
The Resort is currently undergoing external painting, which is going to improve the Resort and we are sorry that the Painters disturbed you early in the morning.
We hope tohave the opportunity to welcome you back to BreakFree Imperial Surf again soon and check you into one of our Deluxe (refurbished) apartments
Kind Regards
Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is situated right across from the beach and within walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, pubs, clubs and public transport to get you to the theme parks. And the way the building is built no matter what room you have you will defiantly get an ocean view which i was very pleased with our room was situated at the back part of the hotel which we got both city and ocean views which the city looks amazing at night. I would probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again on your next holiday on the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards
Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Position is everything on the coast if you want to enjoy view and sun from your apartment. Getting the right level and either north facing or southern aspect depending on what time of year you want to visit. In winter the northern facing units are warm during the day and can hold heat for the evening, cold tiles will be good for hotter months. Currently Imperial Surf is undergoing outside painting and disruptions in the form of workmen appearing at your windows and belconys and no access to outside pool and tennis court may be in place until Nov.

Room Tip: email the management prior to arrival to ask for a good floor and room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you recent stay. Agreeibly the side apartments with the ocean and hinterland views do give you a sunny apartment until the sun sets at the end of the day, front ocean views will lose it al bit earlier.
We are looking forward to the painting of the resort being completed by the end of September and all facilities available all day. In the meantime while the outdoor pool and tennis court are only available after 4pm we have arrangements for Guest to use our neighbouring resorts outdoor pool and tennis court. Indoor pool, spa, steam room and sauna are all still available as normal.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards
Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Surf Resort Apartments is just a stroll from the patrolled beach and on the doorstep to the hub of the Gold Coast in more ways than one. In walking distance to the Surfers Paradise mall with fabulous shops and boutiques and its own complement restaurants, ranging from gourmet to casual alfresco dining. Boasting spectacular view and being one of the tallest buildings on the Gold Coast. All apartments have ocean views, some also feature sights of the hinterland ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Imperial Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.