We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very Happy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast to your Saves list
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 nights with a dinner
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Texas, QLD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overall very Happy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

A great hotel in a goof location and certainly not lacking in amenities. Staff were courteous and friendly and our room was very nice. The bathroom was a bit small for my liking and the shower head was one of those terrible "Water saver" types that you have to run about in to get wet. The room was obviously recently renovated so carpets and fittings were new and modern. The king size bed was comfortable and the pillow selection abundant. My only gripes are having to pay for parking - the facilities are there already & have been since the hotel was built - charging $15 per night is just plain gouging the customer, as id expecting guests to pay for wifi. We have traveled extensively, all over the world, and even the nastiest flea pit in the USA or Europe offers free wifi. Hotels in Australia need to get with thew program. There was some "Upgrade package" offered where parking, wifi and a buffet breakfast was available but this wasnt presented to us as an option on check-in and we only saw it on an add panel in one of the lifts the morning of our check out. The breakfast specials were also frustrating - why have a full buffet at a cheaper price than the continental - very poor marketing. Would stay here again but only if we can't source a hotel with both free parking and wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Upgrade" package to get free wifi and parking, with a very cheap breakfast as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    315
    127
    34
    21
See reviews for
145
292
32
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have visited this hotel many times over the years and had another stay recently.

The rooms are always clean, the hotel has good facilities and the staff are always wonderfully friendly which creates a warm atmosphere. It is also located in a good position within easy walking distance to all the action in Surfers but far enough away that you don't here all the noise.

We love it here and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your terrific feedback. We are so pleased to see loyal guests like yourselves returning year after year and thrilled to see you appreciate our rooms, facilities and staff. And yes, a lot of guests comment that we are in a good spot away from the hustle & bustle, but just a short walk from all the action in Surfers Paradise. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

stayed for 1 night. Average room, very clean, comfortable king size bed. But it is about what you would expect to get for the money I paid. No Balcony detracts from overall comfort. Short walk to main entertainment area.I think that the car park cost should be included in tariff if required. The check in Lass was very professional, but did not point out that if the car park is full it can be parked by the valet in reserved spaces. which would have avoided the cursing i done ( not to any staff ), after i had paid the parking tariff and couldnt find a parking spot. But overall very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see you appreciated the cleanliness of the room and comfort of the bed. We apologise that you were not made aware of our valet services. It is certainly worthwhile at an extra $20 per day. However, please be aware that our car parking charges are comparable with other hotels in the area (as parking is very limited in Surfers Paradise). We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Found the staff to be pleasant. However had large crack in wash hand basin which was brown with age. Had awful pasta chicken dish in Amalfi restaurant where the chicken pieces contained white cartilage and tasted wrong. I had booked this hotel because of spa but tried on 2 occasions and was unable to get in. I was on a 3 day mid week break and all the most convenient times were already booked. There are extensive road workings outside hotel due to tramlines being laid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always strive to provide guests with a refreshing experience during their stay and it seems like you enjoyed the service from our staff. We have spoken to engineering about replacing that hand basin ASAP and apologise for your Amalfi dish. This restaurant often receives great reviews and we have passed your comments directly onto our chef to ensure this does not happen again. The spa is often very busy, so it’s always a great idea to book in advance if possible. However, we are sorry we were unable to accommodate you on this occasion. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights and would stay again. A balcony would be nice but the rooms and lobby area are very clean and modern. The linen and towels were always fresh and clean. The bathroom, whilst a little on the small side, was sparkling and had no mould or dingey dank smell. The location is great; less than 5 minutes walk to the beach and many restaurants and shops. I recommend Mondo Pizza opposite! Overall, for what we paid The Watermark was great value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in Surfers Paradise and had a chance to check out everything that is on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

It's an average hotel where the stay was fairly pleasant.We have no serious complaints to make.The room and bathroom were, although clean, quite average.However the best part of the hotel was its location as it was centrally located thus making it very much part of the shopping/entertainment areas,restaurants and the local beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We focus on providing a great 4.5 star hotel experience at great value and it appears that this was suited to your requirements. We agree that our central location is one of our most distinct benefits and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Check in - we're a family of 2 Adults travelling with 2 young kids from Singapore. As we arrived very early in the morning, I requested upon booking for early check-in which I was told was not guaranteed. Clearing customs took a while and also time to sort out the formalities for car rental, we arrived at the hotel about 10-ish only to be told that our room was not ready. Slightly disappointed but since the kids are sleeping well in the car (tired out from their first ever overnight flight), I was able to use the time to do some grocery shopping at the supermarket. Requested for a room with a view of the ocean but again disappointed when I was told that none was available.

Rooms - we had a deluxe room on the 17th floor facing Chevron Island. The view was OK and it would be awesome if we could wake up with a view of the ocean. Room size was rather tight but manageable. There was hardly any space for me to work since the TV took most of the space which also acts as a computer and dressing table. A small round table became my workstation cum snack area cum utility table. The double beds are OK since we're of smaller frame and sharing each with a young kid. Amenities are sufficient and we can easily get any shortfall from the supermarket. The bathroom is a bit outdated but acceptable. Brightly lighted is a plus to me as compared to the dark dull poor lit bathrooms in some 5-star hotels. The bathroom had glass doors (presumably to replace shower curtains which is flumsy) but it really restricts movement going in and out of the bathtub. Towels were replaced daily and clean.

Parking - daily rates @ $15/- seemed high in my opinion based on my understanding of local conditions but hey, it is cheaper than where I came from. However, it is rather cumbersome having to have to buzz in everytime I enter the carpark, explaining that I'm a guest in the hotel, my room number and that I've paid for parking. An automated entry card would make more sense. Car lots are rather small and in some parts, almost pitch dark. So, strongly recommend more lightling. I like the fact that we were able to access our room direct from the one lift rather than having to change lift at Ground level.

Location - amenities and food are plentiful nearby. The light rail construction just outside the hotel did cause some inconvenience, both as a driver and as a pedestrian, since some roads have been blocked off. And being schoolies week, the roads nearer to Cavill Ave was closed to traffic after 6pm which made accessing the supermarkets there by car impossible. Will avoid this period at all costs in future.

Blackout - there was a blackout when we returned in the evening of 17 Nov. I was told that this was very rare but it certainly wasn't pleasant with very little light in the room, no aircon nor TV. Cannot shower as the bathroom was pitch dark. And there was no torchlight in the room. I strongly suggest one after this. The staff could not help much. Thankfully, power was restored I think after 10pm. We saw 2 fire engines at the front lobby, so I believe that there might be a fire in the generator floor. A letter from the hotel to all guests to explain what really happened would be appreciated but was never done, as if no inconveniences was caused.

Breakfast - only meal we had in the hotel was one breakfast buffet. Choices are limited at the Wave Restaurant but not much issue since we're not big nor fussy eaters. Plenty of better choices nearby hotel within walking distance.

Overall, it was a pleasant 6-night stay. We're generally easy-going people and being on vacation, we did not want to allow these small hiccups to spoil our moods. Staff was generally friendly and helpful which is a plus. The hotel could have done more to make themselves more family friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located alongside the Surfers Paradise Light Rail Station in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas, a fitness centre and games room. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with luxury Amenita amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features ASAP and Waterlily products to ensure pure indulgence; open Tuesday to Saturday inclusive. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner, plus an a la Carte menu. * Opening on 20th December,Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.