We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to The Watermark....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast to your Saves list
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 25%
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Welcome to The Watermark....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Problems are abundant, but believe it or not it isn't the worst place I have stayed. Check-in was fast and courteous without a single hassle. Parking is extra at $15 a night.

The hallways of the hotel are looking old and tired, but surprisingly the old ends there. The rooms are well kept, with only the choice of carpet lending to the idea a renovation was recent. The bed was extremely comfy and I enjoyed one of the best in room dining burgers of all time. Just don't order the bread and butter pudding. On the downside, there was hair in the bathroom sink, water leaking out of cracks in the tiles in the shower, TV and Wifi not working and wet carpet on one side of the room, but keep in mind these are all related to just one room. Still housekeeping could be more vigilant.

Breakfast..... Where to start with this oddity... The main thing that annoyed me was the hotel guide telling me breakfast ended at 9am. Early right? Get to the restaurant and the sign says 10.30... I don't need to be anywhere until 2pm, so a sleep in and lazy morning would have been nice. Breakfast itself can only be summed up as chaotic. Understaffed, the poor guy trying to run the show looked like a flustered Mr Humphries. There were no clean tables, but I was lucky enough to find one free of cups and plates. There were no cutlery or cups, but in their hectic routine they did manage to stop and find me some. Even a napkin, bless! The spread of food seems average. I don't see any scramble or eggs in the 'scrambled eggs' thought... Not sure what that was! I would have rated breakfast average overall, but they got another star for going out of their way just for me.

Overall an average place to stay, a super comfy bed and a perfect in-the-heart location.

I'll sign off with one last note: who ever was responsible for the select of staff uniforms... I have never seen a more unpractical uniform at any of the hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Yes, we have had some major refurbishments happening on some floors in the hallways and rooms and are happy to say that in one week it will all be complete. We are very excited about showing it all off to our guests. Great to see that you enjoyed the bed and burger from in-room dining, but please rest assured your comments regarding the bathroom and TV have been passed on to housekeeping and engineering departments for investigation. We note that breakfast must have been very busy on the morning you dined, but are pleased our team were able to go above and beyond to look after you. Regarding team uniforms, we would like you to know this is being addressed and are excited to report that a new look will be introduced early next year. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    352
    140
    40
    26
See reviews for
168
331
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Check in quick and trouble free. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location in close proximity to cavil ave. clean, well maintained Rooms. Great views of surfers paradise beach from sea view rooms. Delicious breakfast but way over priced. We paid $35 each when you can go to cavil ave and get the same quality breakfast for $10.00. Pay for parking. Other hotels included in price or at a much cheaper rate. Fantastic pool/games rooms. All in all, a wonderful stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled to see you had a wonderful stay and have noted your comments about the friendly staff, rooms, views, facilities and buffet breakfast. Due to our location, there is a charge of $15 for secure, undercover car parking but please note this is competitive with other hotels in the area. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a great long weekend at the Watermark for the V8's. Close enough to walk but far enough away not to hear all the noise. We choose the Club W package which was great, with a delicious continental breakfast with a great assortment of food and if you needed something extra you could pay for cooked breakfast. The Free Canapes and drinks from 6 - 7.30pm was fantastic. The rooms were typical for this standard of hotel with a really comfy bed and pillows. The staff were very attentive and friendly especially the girls at the W Lounge. We had a couple of issues on check-in and out but everything was sorted very quickly and efficiently
We would definetly recommend the Watermark for value and comfort

Room Tip: If you pay the extra for Club W you get a room on the 19 & 20th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. The W Lounge upgrade is very popular and it’s fantastic to see you enjoyed the included breakfast and evening canapés and drinks. We also see that you were very satisfied with the comfort of the bed, location and service. We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This Hotel is in the heart of everything.
It's not a "wow 5* hotel" but it doesn't charge wow 5* Hotel prices, so if you want a reasonable value, very clean and smart hotel in a central location, this hotel should be on your list.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are proud to be in the 4.5 star hotel bracket and provide a hotel with a great location and value for money. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Right in the center of Sufers Paradise and all the shopping, you can't complain. This hotel also has pokies and a bar on the ground floor which is very convenient. Buffet breakfast was included in the price and good for what it was. The new rooms are very modern, quite small, but you don't spend much time in them anyway as we were out wondering around all day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for wonderful kind review and for highly recommending us. It’s great to see you had the opportunity to try out our Waves Buffet Restaurant and sports bar and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Overall this was a reasonable enough hotel but certainly not five star. We paid the right price for what I would consider a four star property, so am satisfied with our booking but I wouldn't choose to stay here again unless price was my primary factor.

We arrived via Gold Coast Shuttle from Coolangatta airport. The hotel driveway, for the four days / nights we were here, was constantly blocked with coaches, minivans, taxis and random locals. Running the gauntlet of smokers puffing away in the designated smoking area outside the front door is never a good start for me, and entering the lobby reminded me of a new car salesroom; white tiles, white walls, cavernous ceiling. Oh, and a souvenir (tat) shop...

Front desk service was pleasant enough and we didn't eat in any of the restaurants, but the bar (and bar service) was a real let down. Gloomy and lacking in any atmosphere it boasted several TVs tuned to MTV 80s hits, news and sports. Depending on the night of the week you'll be sharing the bar with blokes on a bucks do, wedding party guests, lost couples searching for somewhere fun or ... no-one.

The location is fine (see below) and the room was adequate. If you decide to book, ask for a hinterland view; the hotel is about a block inland from the beach and there are a few damn big skyscrapers in the way of it and the ocean, but the view to the west over the canals and mountains is very nice indeed.

Pros:
* about four blocks south of the main Surfers Paradise mall - close enough to walk easily, far enough to avoid disturbances.
* one block west of the beach - easy walking distance to the water.
* nice view from a hinterland (west facing) room.
* large room with twin queen size beds.
* pleasant decor with tea/coffee making facilities.

Cons:
* despite (apparently) being a refurbished room, the bathroom was very tired - if you're tall like me, expect to do the usual bend-ze-knees to get your head under the (small) shower faucet.
* despite featuring a large wardrobe (but with only six hangers) there were no drawers or shelves to store underwear, t-shirts, jumpers etc.
* no desk in the room (you're only on holiday in Surfers apparently).
* right now (October 2013) there's road construction right in front of the hotel for the pending light rail; no major drama until you step outside where it's noisy, dusty and difficult to cross the road due to the the barricades.
* due to the roadworks, the hotel pool (which is outside on the first floor, right above the construction) is not a relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Room 1120 features twin queen size beds and a lovely view to the hinterland. Bathroom is dated and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. Yes, we are a 4.5 star property and the hotel is a very popular place to stay, particularly in October, which is why there were many vehicles in the driveway. It’s great to see you enjoyed our central location, the room and the views. Whilst our sports bar is still very popular, we are planning an exciting refurbishment next year, so we hope you have the chance to check it out. All guest rooms feature round tables, but not full desks so we apologise that you were unhappy with this factor. The reason is because the majority of our guests are holidaymakers. The light rail is well on its way to completion and we are really looking forward to introducing it to our guests as there will be a station for easy transport right outside the hotel. Unfortunately, there has been a little pain with the construction, but we believe it will be worthwhile for our guests once up and running. We see that you were not happy with our level 1 pool due to the construction, but wanted to let you know we have another pool on the other side of the hotel on level 2 which has not been affected – we hope you used this one instead. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with the family, good facilities, great location easy access to beaches and shopping . Room was well appointed a little bit on the small side and it had great views of the coastline.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the hotel’s central Surfers Paradise location. We note that you appreciated our facilities and hope you also managed to try our popular buffet restaurant, Waves, or the luxurious L’Aqua Day Spa. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located alongside the Surfers Paradise Light Rail Station in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas, a fitness centre and games room. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with luxury Amenita amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features ASAP and Waterlily products to ensure pure indulgence; open Tuesday to Saturday inclusive. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner, plus an a la Carte menu. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.