We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Save Saved
You added Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is in the heart of everything.
It's not a "wow 5* hotel" but it doesn't charge wow 5* Hotel prices, so if you want a reasonable value, very clean and smart hotel in a central location, this hotel should be on your list.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are proud to be in the 4.5 star hotel bracket and provide a hotel with a great location and value for money. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    282
    112
    32
    18
See reviews for
129
259
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Right in the center of Sufers Paradise and all the shopping, you can't complain. This hotel also has pokies and a bar on the ground floor which is very convenient. Buffet breakfast was included in the price and good for what it was. The new rooms are very modern, quite small, but you don't spend much time in them anyway as we were out wondering around all day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for wonderful kind review and for highly recommending us. It’s great to see you had the opportunity to try out our Waves Buffet Restaurant and sports bar and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Overall this was a reasonable enough hotel but certainly not five star. We paid the right price for what I would consider a four star property, so am satisfied with our booking but I wouldn't choose to stay here again unless price was my primary factor.

We arrived via Gold Coast Shuttle from Coolangatta airport. The hotel driveway, for the four days / nights we were here, was constantly blocked with coaches, minivans, taxis and random locals. Running the gauntlet of smokers puffing away in the designated smoking area outside the front door is never a good start for me, and entering the lobby reminded me of a new car salesroom; white tiles, white walls, cavernous ceiling. Oh, and a souvenir (tat) shop...

Front desk service was pleasant enough and we didn't eat in any of the restaurants, but the bar (and bar service) was a real let down. Gloomy and lacking in any atmosphere it boasted several TVs tuned to MTV 80s hits, news and sports. Depending on the night of the week you'll be sharing the bar with blokes on a bucks do, wedding party guests, lost couples searching for somewhere fun or ... no-one.

The location is fine (see below) and the room was adequate. If you decide to book, ask for a hinterland view; the hotel is about a block inland from the beach and there are a few damn big skyscrapers in the way of it and the ocean, but the view to the west over the canals and mountains is very nice indeed.

Pros:
* about four blocks south of the main Surfers Paradise mall - close enough to walk easily, far enough to avoid disturbances.
* one block west of the beach - easy walking distance to the water.
* nice view from a hinterland (west facing) room.
* large room with twin queen size beds.
* pleasant decor with tea/coffee making facilities.

Cons:
* despite (apparently) being a refurbished room, the bathroom was very tired - if you're tall like me, expect to do the usual bend-ze-knees to get your head under the (small) shower faucet.
* despite featuring a large wardrobe (but with only six hangers) there were no drawers or shelves to store underwear, t-shirts, jumpers etc.
* no desk in the room (you're only on holiday in Surfers apparently).
* right now (October 2013) there's road construction right in front of the hotel for the pending light rail; no major drama until you step outside where it's noisy, dusty and difficult to cross the road due to the the barricades.
* due to the roadworks, the hotel pool (which is outside on the first floor, right above the construction) is not a relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Room 1120 features twin queen size beds and a lovely view to the hinterland. Bathroom is dated and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. Yes, we are a 4.5 star property and the hotel is a very popular place to stay, particularly in October, which is why there were many vehicles in the driveway. It’s great to see you enjoyed our central location, the room and the views. Whilst our sports bar is still very popular, we are planning an exciting refurbishment next year, so we hope you have the chance to check it out. All guest rooms feature round tables, but not full desks so we apologise that you were unhappy with this factor. The reason is because the majority of our guests are holidaymakers. The light rail is well on its way to completion and we are really looking forward to introducing it to our guests as there will be a station for easy transport right outside the hotel. Unfortunately, there has been a little pain with the construction, but we believe it will be worthwhile for our guests once up and running. We see that you were not happy with our level 1 pool due to the construction, but wanted to let you know we have another pool on the other side of the hotel on level 2 which has not been affected – we hope you used this one instead. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with the family, good facilities, great location easy access to beaches and shopping . Room was well appointed a little bit on the small side and it had great views of the coastline.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the hotel’s central Surfers Paradise location. We note that you appreciated our facilities and hope you also managed to try our popular buffet restaurant, Waves, or the luxurious L’Aqua Day Spa. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my family. The view from my room was amazing and it's very close to the beach, The only downside is that the room could have been bigger and more spacious. Otherwise, everything was great and I'd stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We agree that the hotel is very well located and it’s great being just a short stroll to the heart of Surfers Paradise and a block from the beach. We are sorry that our rooms were not as spacious as you had hoped but would like to let you know that we do have larger suites available if you’d like to consider one of them for your next stay. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked a Spa suite but upgraded into the Chairmans Suite which was excellent. It has a great full size spa with an out door entertaining area, and lounge area, with wet bar.
IF you are going to have some friends up and a few drinks, or entertain the wife/girlfriend, this room is a winner!

The Club Lounge, or W Lounge is not worth it for the food. Unlike other lounges in hotels where you get canapé's and evening drinks, this lounge only catered on small plate of hot food per person. You did not have access to the food and you only had one plate per person. When I got my plate it was cold and tasted like yesterdays food, so it wasn't the best at all !
The beers were cold and refreshing and a good start to the night, but that's about all.

Breakfast in the W Lounge is just cereal and toast, nothing special. I wouldn't upgrade or pay extra for the lounge, as im sure you can get better food for less of a price on the street somewhere at a nice café.

Overall the hotel was nice, front staff were friendly and concierge were helpful. There is a lot of road works happening at the moment so it can be a little noisy at times.

Room Tip: Choose a suite room for a spacious and comfortable room that you will enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We obviously hit the mark on most things during your stay including the luxurious Chairman’s Suite, but are sorry to see that you were disappointed with the W Lounge. We usually receive fantastic comments about how great it is with a continental breakfast for 2, car parking, late checkout, all day refreshments and evening canapés and drinks for just $55. We will, of course, pass your feedback on and look into the canapés for you. We are, however very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as customer service is of the highest priority at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at Watermark for 2 nights while on Gold Coast for business. First thing is that the hotel has undergone a partial renovation and you have to make sure you are getting a renovated room. A colleague was originally put in a unrenovated room and it was dirty, mouldy and generally unpleasant. After getting moved to a renovated room all was good however.

I was in a twin due to it being busy period and booked hotel late. This made room a bit small due to 2 beds in room but still comfortable. The renovation has been done very well and once all rooms are complete it will definately help the hotel. Only significant negative for rooms is that while there is no noise transfer from adjacent rooms you hear a lot of noise from corridor outside room. If you are a light sleeper this could be a problem given the large number of kids and teenagers staying in hotel at various times.

Gym in hotel is basic but good enough if you're looking to get in a bit of a light workout.

My room rate came with breakfast included. Fairly typical hotel buffet breakfast really. If you get it included fine but I wouldn't pay extra for it, save your money and go to a local cafe or coffee shop and buy a decent breakfast for less money.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for renovated room - Unrenovated are dirty and not value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. The hotel has undergone a partial renovation and we are very excited to see that you were happy with our renovated rooms. By next month, all of our Superior rooms (which make up two thirds of the hotel) will be complete. Great to see you had the chance to experience the gym and buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast offers 4.5 star accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise, just 80 metres walk to golden beaches and 5 minutes away from world class shopping, dining & nightlife. Guests have access to an extensive range of hotel facilities including 24 hour reception, luxury day spa, award winning a la carte & buffet restaurants, 2 bars, hairdresser, 2 pools and gymnasium. There is also the option to indulge in the luxury Club Premier package which offers a 5 star high floor room with ocean or hinterland views, access to Club lounge, evening canapes & drinks, hot & cold breakfast selection, bottle of Chandon on arrival, valet parking, late checkout and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.