We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast to your Saves list
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my family. The view from my room was amazing and it's very close to the beach, The only downside is that the room could have been bigger and more spacious. Otherwise, everything was great and I'd stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We agree that the hotel is very well located and it’s great being just a short stroll to the heart of Surfers Paradise and a block from the beach. We are sorry that our rooms were not as spacious as you had hoped but would like to let you know that we do have larger suites available if you’d like to consider one of them for your next stay. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    333
    135
    38
    23
See reviews for
156
314
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked a Spa suite but upgraded into the Chairmans Suite which was excellent. It has a great full size spa with an out door entertaining area, and lounge area, with wet bar.
IF you are going to have some friends up and a few drinks, or entertain the wife/girlfriend, this room is a winner!

The Club Lounge, or W Lounge is not worth it for the food. Unlike other lounges in hotels where you get canapé's and evening drinks, this lounge only catered on small plate of hot food per person. You did not have access to the food and you only had one plate per person. When I got my plate it was cold and tasted like yesterdays food, so it wasn't the best at all !
The beers were cold and refreshing and a good start to the night, but that's about all.

Breakfast in the W Lounge is just cereal and toast, nothing special. I wouldn't upgrade or pay extra for the lounge, as im sure you can get better food for less of a price on the street somewhere at a nice café.

Overall the hotel was nice, front staff were friendly and concierge were helpful. There is a lot of road works happening at the moment so it can be a little noisy at times.

Room Tip: Choose a suite room for a spacious and comfortable room that you will enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We obviously hit the mark on most things during your stay including the luxurious Chairman’s Suite, but are sorry to see that you were disappointed with the W Lounge. We usually receive fantastic comments about how great it is with a continental breakfast for 2, car parking, late checkout, all day refreshments and evening canapés and drinks for just $55. We will, of course, pass your feedback on and look into the canapés for you. We are, however very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as customer service is of the highest priority at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at Watermark for 2 nights while on Gold Coast for business. First thing is that the hotel has undergone a partial renovation and you have to make sure you are getting a renovated room. A colleague was originally put in a unrenovated room and it was dirty, mouldy and generally unpleasant. After getting moved to a renovated room all was good however.

I was in a twin due to it being busy period and booked hotel late. This made room a bit small due to 2 beds in room but still comfortable. The renovation has been done very well and once all rooms are complete it will definately help the hotel. Only significant negative for rooms is that while there is no noise transfer from adjacent rooms you hear a lot of noise from corridor outside room. If you are a light sleeper this could be a problem given the large number of kids and teenagers staying in hotel at various times.

Gym in hotel is basic but good enough if you're looking to get in a bit of a light workout.

My room rate came with breakfast included. Fairly typical hotel buffet breakfast really. If you get it included fine but I wouldn't pay extra for it, save your money and go to a local cafe or coffee shop and buy a decent breakfast for less money.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for renovated room - Unrenovated are dirty and not value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. The hotel has undergone a partial renovation and we are very excited to see that you were happy with our renovated rooms. By next month, all of our Superior rooms (which make up two thirds of the hotel) will be complete. Great to see you had the chance to experience the gym and buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Watermark for three nights and on one of those nights had a babysitter from Rockmybaby Nanny and Babysitting Agency come and stay with the kids. It was great as it meant we could explore the city. Its great that the hotel could recommend them to us and it made our stay complete. The family room was comfortable with great views and close to everything. Only downside when we were there was all the road works for the motor race at the end of the month! Bad timing with school holidays. Kids loved the pool and the spa and want to come back again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is always a bonus and its the one to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you and your children enjoyed the room, pools and spas and hopefully they had the chance to check out our games room too! Our concierge are always happy to recommend outside services and activities on the Gold Coast and we’re thrilled to see you were more than satisfied with our babysitting agency. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and was given an ocean view deluxe room. Room was spacious, view was magnificent but small issues were the bathroom not very clean (couple of hairs found in the bathtub) and also there was old water inside the kettle which is not very pleasant. The things that impressed me the most is the quality of the buffet breakfast and seafood dinner. The foods were yummy, fresh, worth money spent. Staffs were okay. Nothing special can be said as some of the staffs we encountered have this expression that "they don't want to be there working." However, we did enjoyed our stay at the hotel and should we decided to come back, we will definitely be considering to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the rooms and our Waves seafood buffet. Your comments about housekeeping and our staff have been passed on to the relevant departments to follow up and we would like to assure you they are certainly not to our usual standard. We apologise and hope to outshine this stay next time you return to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ok I know the title is "Nothing bad to say", but I just wish it had balconies lol. Anyway, this hotel is excellent. Fuss free check in and out, professional yet friendly receptionists, very clean room and ensuite, one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Location was excellent too, less than 5 mins to the beach.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We often receive really great comments about the quality of our beds and we were very happy to read that you found them some of the most comfortable that you have ever slept in! Your comments about our guest service have been passed on and we look forward to hosting you in the hotel again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We, a family of 7 comprising 4 adults and 3 kids stayed here in April 2013. We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. Prove to be an excellent choice. It is only 4-5 minutes walk to Surfers Paradise, very close to bus stops for buses to all themeparks. Great location....so many restaurants nearby...all walking distance...just opposite the hotel.

The 7D cinema is also just 5 minutes walk away. Plenty of restaurants to choose from ranging from Chinese, Mediterannean, Thai, Western and Indian cuisines.

Good breakfast spread. The rooms are spacious. They have a great concierge indeed. Very helpful staffs. Its good for family with kids too with all the amenities close by. The concierge desk was helpful in giving out directions with maps. Always with a friendly smiling face. Thumbs up to them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. It is excellent to read that you enjoyed your stay, our Waves breakfast buffet and the location of our hotel. We will, of course, ensure your comments are passed on to our concierge team – they will be appreciative. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located alongside the Surfers Paradise Light Rail Station in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas, a fitness centre and games room. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with luxury Amenita amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features ASAP and Waterlily products to ensure pure indulgence; open Tuesday to Saturday inclusive. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner, plus an a la Carte menu. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.