We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast to your Saves list
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 25%
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We have come to expect very little from hotel service in Australia but this hotel was an exception. Every staff member from valet parking through to the restaurant and spa was polite, friendly and helpful. Rooms were on the small/average size but well set up and clean. Two pools - east and west mean you can be in sun or shade all day. The restaurant and wine bar is great and the spa is sensational! Central location but very quiet rooms. Would stay again and would also make a great girls weekend away.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your comments. If you are planning a girls weekend away, don’t miss out on a visit to L’Aqua Day Spa for some pampering! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    353
    141
    40
    27
See reviews for
168
334
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I unexpectedly stayed here for 4 nights after my usual Gold Coast venue booking was messed up and they then wanted to charge me close to 3 times the usual rate (shame Mr Meriton) . I stayed on 11th floor with great hinterland views. Only issue was a charge for parking in a too small car park which was overbooked. I needed 24 emergency access to my car so the staff were very solution focused and came up with a satisfactory solution and didn't charge me. Central location for Surfers attractions

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good afternoon, I was wondering around at the watermark this week, and I was trying to find out all the activities. I was lost but Thomas from Food and Beverage kindly offered his services and explained what was on offer and showed me to the day spa. Thank you so much my expectation for this hotel has been proven right. great hotel and great staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback and taking the time to post a review. We always aim to provide exceptional service and are delighted to read that you would highly recommend our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my companion (Flea) were so impressed by your hotel on our recent stay (18th Sept +)
From check in to check out not one problem (a 5 star feeling)
Absolute value for money
We liked the hotel so much, that we extended our stay for an additional 4 days.

The hotel was well appointed with everything we could ask for.
We made good use of the 2 pools which took benefit of the sun from both sides...+ amazing spa baths. The gym got a good work out too.

Our room was very comfortable with all required conveniences, and had a great beach view as I had requested.

Room service and housekeeping were very prompt and professional.

Inhouse food was great and all the staff were so friendly and helpful...

We spent a bit of time in the bar/gaming room on the first few nights and the staff were great!

Special mention to 'Michael' (Waves Restaurant Manager) who made Flea's Birthday Very Special in brekky service with a Happy Birthday she'll never forget.
Thankyou Michael, you made our stay at Watermark so much fun and even more enjoyable.

Cannot recommend this hotel too highly.
Thankyou to all :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments and taking time to post your review. Guest feedback is very important to us and we are really pleased that you had such a fantastic time. We will also pass your comments on to Michael. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at the Watermark. We loved the rooms, service and food. The Waves restaurant puts on a great buffet, so much selection to chose from and a nice atmosphere. We will definitely be staying at the Watermark very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the Waves seafood buffet restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Watermark Hotel & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here before but was years ago. Stayed here with my girlfriend great hotel very poor restraunt. Overpriced and very poor selection of food. I would definitely stay here again just save your cash and go out for dinner

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, but are disappointed to read your comments about the restaurant. We are not sure whether you visited our Waves International Buffet Restaurant or Amalfi Bistro & Bar, but we are always looking to improve our overall guest experience through great quality, value and service, and will pass on your comments on to our food and beverage department. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was OK. Have stayed in better, have stayed in worse. First time I have ever had to pay $12 per night for parking though. Bed was comfy. Staff were friendly. They probably should have thrown away the bottom sheet on my bed, which had someone else's dried, laundered blood stain on it, and replaced it with a new sheet. Also someone else's hairs in the bed, yuk. Although every 4 1/2 star place I've stayed at on the Gold coast is of similar standard. And for the record, it doesn't take much for a hotel to get a 4 1/2 star rating. Star ratings are not only based on cleanliness and style of the room. As long as they do simple things like have a pool, lift, air con, pay tv, provide a mirror, clock radio, blanket for each bed, coathangers, luggage rack, and shampoo & conditioner, that entitles them to 4 1/2 star, regardless of how old or dated the room looks. I manage an apartment complex on the Sunshine Coast, that's how I know.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We continually strive for excellence across all areas of our hotel and appreciate your comments about our comfy beds and friendly staff. Please note, our parking charges are comparable with similar hotels in the area. However, your points about the sheets are unacceptable and this issue has been addressed internally. Please be aware that we work hard to maintain our 4 ½ star rating which AAA determinesby assessing facilities & services, cleanliness and quality & condition. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#13 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located alongside the Surfers Paradise Light Rail Station in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas, a fitness centre and games room. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with luxury Amenita amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features ASAP and Waterlily products to ensure pure indulgence; open Tuesday to Saturday inclusive. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner, plus an a la Carte menu. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.