We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Sun City to your Saves list
Mantra Sun City
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We originally were unsure about the advisability of going to the Gold Coast in the middle of winter (August 2008) but decided to go for it when we saw the pictures of Mantra on their website.

Really glad we went as we had a fantastic time. The room was clean with amazing oceanside views, customer service was fantastic, and the location very convenient. the only downside was that we couldn't swim in the lagoon pool (non heated in winter), however the other pools, spas and sauna/steam rooms made up for that.

Would definitely go back!

  • Liked — Amazing views, pools & facilities, customer service
  • Disliked — Non heated pool in winter
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    179
    86
    64
    62
See reviews for
207
158
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We got a stay for 3 nights pay for 2 in a 1 bedroom apartment so I was happy with the price during the school holidays. The apartment was with ocean views on the 21st floor so that was a nice surprise. It had a very small tv with bad reception. The bathroom was very tired and mouldy (expecially the shower). The toilet had some flushing problems and there was a bad smell coming from the drain in the laundry so we kept that door closed. The room was quiet at night

The breakfast was included so that was a bonus. Lucky it was free because I wouldn't have paid $16 to have it there. They ran out of orange juice and cocopops and had no more after asking. The bacon was very salty and cardboard like. The eggs were supposed to be scrambled but were baked into a solid mass then sort of chopped up with dark brown bits everywhere that had started to burn on the bottom of the pan. Fresh fruit and toast was good and the atmosphere of the restaurant close to the pools was relaxing.

The pools were great, especially for a 6 year old. Only one slide was working (the smaller one) and I was told that the large slide can only be operated when there is a lifeguard on duty. Their lifeguard had resigned and they are apparently recruiting now. Not sure if this is just to bide time to save money excuse after reading other reviews. The place seems to be run on a shoestring.

The indoor pool was nice but one of the underwater lights had come away from the wall and was floating on the surface attached to its cord. This unnerved me somewhat with so many kids in the pool and after the history of the hotel having an electrician dying in the pool during its construction.

I went straight to reception to report it and they said they already knew and it would be fixed. The next day when we went back the first light was still floating around not fixed and now the other second light on the other side of the pool was also detached and floating. Surely this was a high priority to be fixed? It certainly looked very dangerous.

Check out and check in was smooth. Also it was helpful that you can pre-pay theme park tickets at reception rather than line up at the parks. Carparking was almost full but we still found a park each night. Luggage trolleys were also helpful.

I might stay again if I knew both slides were working and that the bathrooms were refurbished. The Chevron is much newer and in a better location convenient to the supermarket and Surfers mall.

  • Liked — good outdoor pool with plenty of loungers
  • Disliked — dirty bathroom and substandard breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

We were 2 families of 4 that stayed at Mantra Suncity. It was a great stay. I don't know if they usually let 8 people stay in the room, but we booked through stayz.com and stayed in a 3 bedroom on level 32- the view was absolutely amazing! We were lucky enough to get view looking over the ocean and main city.
Really clean, really tidy facilities. The kitchen was spotless and it was handy being able to cook our own food. The rooms and lounge was very spacious. It was a close walk to the main shops which was cool.
There is a steam and dry sauna which we used a lot. The pool is large and great for the kids. It seems like the resort was perhaps more for families- the pools and sauna were bustling with kids of all ages. Perhaps not a place for a peaceful vacation for 2?
But we definately enjoyed our stay!!

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

THE POSITIVES:
I have stayed at Mantra Sun City (formerly known as Outrigger) in Surfers Paradise with my mother on 3 seperate occasions. We have recently returned from our 3rd stay on the Gold Coast and once again it was a lovely one.
The ocean view rooms are fantastic...spacious, CLEAN, lovely decorated and have all you need. We used the kitchen a lot to cook and enjoyed relaxing in the open plan living and dining area. There is a table where you can sit and eat and a lounge suite to watch the telly or just sit and read a book. The balcony has chairs and a table so you can enjoy the scenery. Plenty of natural light comes into the room too!
If you don't want to be amongst the party scene then the location is perfect as you're away enough from Cavil Avenue to not hear the party goers but close enough to walk there whenever you want. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel which makes travelling on public transport easy!
On each of our stays, buffet breakfast has been included in our package and the restaurant where this is served is very nice and relaxing.
NEEDING IMPROVMENT:
This year was the first time that we found things that needed improvment but they didn't spoil our stay:
We found that a few staff members this year wernt as helpful as previous years as they seemed quite new. Kirsty and Geoffery (FOH) were great though and had wonderful smiles when greeting guests.
We requested for 2 single beds and arrived to one double bed.
The TV channels weren't programmed so in the beginning we couldnt watch anything. This was fixed once we informed staff.
The clothes dryer had a faulty door which meant we couldnt dry our clothes after they'd been washed.
The toilet wouldnt flush properly.

Despite these things, we would recommend this hotel and we will stay there again!

  • Liked — spacious, clean room and view
  • Disliked — the standard wasnt as high (but still was high) as the previous times we stayed there
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Sun City recenty to attend a wedding.
The property has everything you need in a resort and seems to be reasonably well looked after by staff. Our room was really good with new furniture and in very good order. Be carefull however as some of my friends had rooms that looked as though they had 20 year old furniture. It seems as though there are two distinctly different styles of room available. (Very new OR very old) always ask for a new room, they are so much better.

The rooms were cleaned every day and the general housekeeping staff seemed very friendly and courteous.

We enjoyed the surroundings of the pool (the water was very cold though) but the pool bar was not open every day. We tried the Mexican restaurant in the resort and were dissappointed in the food. It was not very Mexican. The restuarant had atmosphere and the bar had the best selection of Tequila I have ever seen.

Anthony at the bar seemed to know just about everything there is to know about tequila and mexican drinks. It is unusual to find a bar where the staff are so passionate about their job.This is reason enough for us to return to this resort in the future. I just won't be eating in the restaurant again.

The wedding was held on a high floor and the views from large balcony were fantastic. The reception was held in the restaurant and was simply great.

Overall I would go back to Sun City again and would even recommend it to my friends, especially some of my friends who think they know a thing or two about Tequila, Just make sure you get a NEW ROOM.

  • Liked — Clean New room
  • Disliked — Food in restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

I was over in Aussie for a short break and the Mantra Sun City was recommended to me.
I thoroughly enjoy my stay in a one bedroom unit, Full kitchen and Laundry.
Everything was so clean and bright.
Beautiful pool and very helpful staff. I'm going to Aussie again and will being staying there again. Although I agreed with the toaster in the restaurant, however there is a great selection of food. The selection of drinks at the bar weren't very good, wine was a little vinegary.

So in other words Great room, great staff, great pool, not so good restaurant.

  • Liked — The Room and the view
  • Disliked — the Restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

Well after reading the reviews about sun city we were going to cancel but possibly thought no one had put any good reviews on the site so thought we'd give it a go and see what happened. Glad we didn't cancel. we weren't happy with the hotel room we'd booked (really bad stench on the 7th floor, possibly from the rubbish chute, and a tiny room) so the hotel gave us an upgrade for an extra $50 / night (normally an extra $80) which we were happy to pay as we were going to split it between 2 . we were stunned with the extra room and view. we had hinterland and ocean views that was on the 15th floor. so worth the extra money! we had a whole kitchen, laundry, 2 balconies, dining room, lounge area, 2 tv's and large bathroom. the beds were very comfortable and the place was quite clean.

the staff were all friendly and very helpful too.

the facilities were excellent. the hot spa was the favourite! the steam room and pool were good too. the complimentary breakfast was quite good with a large variety. they had muffins, danishes, toast, cereals, many fruits, yoghurt, bircher muesli, sausages, grilled tomatoes, baked beans, spaghetti, bacon, eggs, fruit juices, tea and coffee. We loved it all!

  • Liked — the large room and view of ocean
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#20 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.