We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Sun City to your Saves list
Mantra Sun City
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Kempsey, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After competing in the Kokoda Challenge, we were looking forward to a good sleep. We got to the room and the view from level 32 was amazing. We stayed in a 3 bedroom ocean view room with a spa. It was easy to organise a late check out with late notice, however, the next day we were timed out when packing the car. The unit was massive. Unfortunately, the tv had no signal and we couldn't use digital. It was a shame that the beds were not dressed enough, considering it is winter. The rubbish disposal was close by and convenient, I would stay here again and hopefully use more facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Manda H,

First of all, congratulations on your Kokoda experience - that is amazing!

I certainly appreciate your feedback on your experience with us, I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed the property and the three bedroom ocean view apartment suited your needs.

I'm sorry to read that the beds did not have enough dressing on them however very pleased that you would be happy to return for a future visit.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    176
    85
    64
    61
See reviews for
203
157
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Recently my family rented room 204 for nine nights for a total of AU $2700.

It is not unfair to say that we would NOT be recommending this room to any
perspective hirers.

For a start the state of cleanliness left a lot to be desired.

Most surfaces were dusty and dirty, a soiled sheet remained on the pull out
bed, some blokes cap was behind the couch, old toys and paper beneath the
furniture, cutlery dirty and still with food on them and the crockery.

A lux/vacuum cleaner that would not suck and a mop that was so old and in
poor shape that my daughter in law requested a vacuum cleaner that worked
and a mop that was clean so we could clean the apartment fit for our infant
grand children and my family.

The master bed room ensuite had a toilet that continually dripped and kept
us awake at night.

The hotel handy man said he would look at it but as the unit was privately
rented he did not turn up.

The owner of the unit was advised of the leaking loo but choose to do
nothing about it and we reached the point of frustration that I pulled the
lid off and located the valve for turning the water off, which we did each
night so as to sleep.

The owner also said that the cleaners would come into clean the apartment,
they never showed up. He never chased the cleaners up to ensure they arrived.

The owner will say that we did not contact him enough. Surely the onus is on the owner to ensure the unit is up to an acceptable standard.

The location and state of the resort itself was fine but it is fair to say
that the state of this apartment and the service we got, for the money we
paid, was a disappointing feature of our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good morning,

Please note that thsi review relates to a private unit with Sun City resort and is not affiliated with Mantra Sun City resort and therefore should be removed.

Your boooking was direcftly with a private owner and has no affiliation with the commerical operations within Mantra Sun City Resort.

I ask you to please remove your reivew at the earliest convenience.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a week long holiday here and it was a good winter holiday, the outdoor pool was far too cold to use and so it would have been better if the indoor pool was turned up a couple of degrees, as it was no one stayed in for very long and some like me didn’t even get in a bit of a waste of the facility. I had also chosen this resort because of the indoor pool so very disappointed it was too cold to use.
Apartment was roomy and we had a peep of the sea through the buildings. The kitchen supplies were mis-matched and only 4 of each item so the dishwasher was on more than it needed to be. At least one of the lifts was broken for our stay.
The cleaning was not really up to standard it looked like it had been hurried, not gone into corners when dusting, the stove tray was dirty and covered in a sheet of foil so they knew it was dirty and just covered it up. The cleaning standard seems to be a recurring comment for this Mantra, this is letting the hotel down considerably and needs to be addressed.
When stating 4 ½ stars it should come up to an excellent cleaning standard and contents of the apartment should match and be of reasonable quality. I would rate this Mantra 3 ½ stars.
Good positioning a 7-8 minute flat walk to Cavil Ave if you needed to go to restaurants etc and the beach was just about 80 metres away. There was a bus stop nearby and the new tram stops outside (when they decide to let passengers on it). Good undercover secure parking. The staff we encountered were very pleasant. There was a notice saying “happy hour” but it wasn’t clear where the bar was- the place I thought was the bar looked abandoned.
Overall a good visit and we would stay again if visiting the GC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear NZ Bunny,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort.

I am very pleased that you would be happy to return and stay at the property should you come back to the Gold Coast; great news.

Just for your information, the indoor pool is heated to a maximimum of 28 degrees; unfortuantely it cannot be heated over this temperature due to the dehumidifier in operation.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for a week after driving up from sydney. Firstly rooms were large enough for the two of us and having a kitchen and laundry in the room was great for a stay of a week. The balcony meant we could let in some fresh air if it got a little stuffy. The bed was comfy (even if it was only 2 singles pushed together) although the lounge was not! Walk in wardrobe meant plenty of room for your stuff. Had breakfast buffet the first morning there and they had all your basics there, nothing fancy and wouldnt recommend it if its not included in your rate there are heaps of other options in the heart of surfers. Never ate there for dinner so cant really comment on that. The pool is large and completely lovely, not a single fault with the outside pool itself. First day we went down however we wanted to use the slides which were open but not a lifeguard in sight (saw him there all the time after this first encounter). Firstly there are 2 slides, one shorter one longer. The shorter one I went on first and had no problem. The longer one I somehow managed to smash my head on the end of it and ended up with a sore head a bump a bruise and a few sore ribs. Later on found out u actually need to sign a form and get a wrist band to actually use the slides. No issues with this at all but would be nice to have been told at check in BEFORE we were in the pool and told by the lifeguard we couldnt go down the slide (even tho we'd been down it the day before when there were no lifeguards around). Underground secure parking is good no complaints there. Tennis courts were good, although there was a mix up with the court hire (didnt see a single sole down there for the entire week, and yet we had to book in advance and we were told we couldnt book for 3 hours even when no one was there the whole 3 hours). Spas were great! Indoor pool was out of order for the first 3 days, great at night when open tho. Staff were all great. No issues at all there. Other than a few points above had a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear LazyLozy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort.

We appreciate the dcetail you have provided regarding your stay and I am pleased that you found it comfortable and would stay again.

I am sorry to hear that you were not warned of the waterslides prior to going down them; this is most unfortuantel.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Mantra Sun City is great value so we keep coming back. If you book in advance and hit upon a special, you can get a 1 bedroom apartment for the same price as a hotel elsewhere. I stayed for 3 days in February and found the location great. It's a few blocks back from the centre of Surfers but for me, that meant the daily exercise was taken care of. Parking is secure and undercover, so that's a big plus and the apartment that I had looked south-east to Surfers Beach. In the day you got the water views then at night, you have the lights of the city skyline to admire from the balcony. The kitchen was an economical bonus for the family, as you can bring your own brekkie and save a few $$$. One night when tired, we ordered takeaway that was delivered to our door. Otherwise restaurants aren't far. A little tip is to look out for the vouchers in the Gold Coast tourist brochures. You can save money by having the main meal at lunch or by eating early. Some restaurants even have buy 1 get 1 free deals. Surfers is very tourist friendly and the Sun City is great family accommodation.

Room Tip: Book in advance and look out for Internet specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Suzy2000,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review rollowing your recent return visit to Mantra Sun City resort.

I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sure readers will appreciate the details you have provided ensuring a great experience on the Gold Coast.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is awesome . Has everything you need. Our room was very nice and I'm having good time here for our honeymoon . The staff very nice and polite . We enjoyed using both pools and spas . We stayed on 13th floor.
Hotel has good view of beach from 13th floor facing éast.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Vince M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your honeymoon on the Gold Coast.

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your apartment met your expectations.

I also thank you for the feedback on the staff; I'll be sure to pass this onto the team.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose this location as the kids had seen the pool with slides on a previous trip. We usually love a serviced apartment.

The good parts - the outdoor areas and the ground floor common areas are all good (a recent renovation and refurb). They are all well maintained. The kids were initially excited by the slides which are quite fast but found them a bit rough especially right at the end - I had a go and came away with bruised elbows, so they are probably more for teens than young kids or adults. There is a hidden outdoor warm spa and outdoor pool down the side of the main slide area (there's also an indoor pool and spa). Kids loved that. The view over the beaches was amazing. Plenty of parking downstairs - although some of the reservation signs are hard to see and the signed consequences are dire if you park in one. It was a 20 min walk into the restaurant areas - be quicker once the tram line is operational.

The bad parts (the ones that ruin the holiday) - room 2006 (level 20)
- the initial sensory experience of the apartment was not good. It smelt of mould. We aired out the apartment and it was "sort of ok" after that (or we probably got mostly used to it). The smell is obviously a common problem to the complex as the reception was selling $25 scented candles. The smell probably comes from the fact that rooms are not regularly cleaned and serviced (Mantra do not service apartments daily - I think this is a risky move on Mantra's part as it generates difficult to remove smells), the laundry area is not vented (the vents didn't seem to do anything) so the dryer pumps out lint laden steamy air into the apartment. The apartments are not aired out between stays or down times.
- The furniture in the room was worn out - ie the sofas looked like they were taken from the side of the road after being thrown out from a beach house veranda (I've attached photos).
- the kitchen was worn out and the bench area chipped and scuffed.
- The shower head in one bathroom was held up with a piece of string to stop it falling down. However, to add injury to insult the string meant that when the shower was turned out, the force of the water pressure showered you in cold water.
- The TV, DVD player and inroom movie systems required three power outlets - however there was only two outlets so you had to swap them around.

From reading other reviews and responses from Mantra manger, I see the failings in room furnishings are referred to the apartment owner (ie they are owned privately and Mantra "manage" the bookings and the common areas). However, in reality the failings are 100% on the Mantra management - if they have rooms which are not fit to be rented out, don't rent them out! The owners will soon get the picture. Obviously Mantra head office is not keeping an eye on their local operations to allow such poor quality.

Basically you are playing Russian roulette with this place as Mantra cannot guarantee you will get an apartment which is of acceptable quality. I'm giving it 2 stars as the pool area and the view bumped it up.

Room Tip: Don't choose a beach view or pool view room from level 5 or below. The new tram line is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear tm007,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience with Mantra Sun City resort.

I appreciate your constructive overview of the entire property and thank you for both your positive comments and also bringing us to the attention of your areas of improvement.

I understand that you have read through other reviews and you have provided your feedback first hand; I have to apologise firstly about the couch in this particular unit; this owner joined our letting pool in February and unfortuantley this couch deterioriated rapidly in that time. The fabrics that are used on some furniture now are not able to withstand the chemicals that are found in sun screens and chlorine etc. all of which are unfortuatnely bought in by guests when returning from the pool and beach. This owner has agreed to purchase commerical standard furniture and we are just awaiting it's delivery.

I also apologise about the issues of smell; unfortuatnely we cannot leave apartments open prior to a guests arrival as this would be deemend an hazard due to the high winds etc. that could cause damage if the unit was unoccupied; the hand made scented candles are locally made and burnt in reception to welcome guests to the hotels; not to mask any odours.

Once again I do thank you for both your positive and constructive feedback; I do hpoe we get the chance to welcome you back.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#20 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.