We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Sun City to your Saves list
Mantra Sun City
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good family hotel, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

If we had of received some service from the front desk then I would have increased the star rating for this hotel. We arrived at 2.30pm to be told that our room was not ready. The desk said the room would be ready in 15 minutes & that if we would like to sit down & wait, they would let us know when the room was ready. We asked if check in was at 2pm & the answer was yes. We then asked if there was another room available to which the answer was no. At 3pm there was a change of staff on the desk & the man who checked us in finished his shift & walked out the door without providing us with an update. At 3.15pm we went back up to the front desk to get an update. Apparently the room was ready-we were disappointed that they didn't come & let us know.

Good things:-
* size of the 2 bedroom apartment was fantastic. There was lots of space.
* view was excellent (level 8)
* room service food was a little expensive but the food was great
* lots of pools & 2 slides for the kids
* games room
* convenience store, newsagent & bottle shop on the next block
* putt putt golf on the next block
* easy 10 minute walk along the beachfront to the mall
* tram stop will be right in front of the hotel

NOT so good things:-
* service of front desk was very disappointing. There was no apology for not having our room ready on time & no compensation for this e.g. a complimentary drink while we waited would have been appreciated
* room was dirty even after having to wait for it to be cleaned!! There was hair in the bathroom including a clump of it in the sink of the ensuite
* soap wrapper in the sink of the main bathroom
* toilet in main bathroom ran 24 hours
* dual flush did not work on the toilet in the ensuite
* not sure that the apartment floor had been cleaned - the kitchen floor was sticky under our feet & our feet turned black underneath from walking on the carpet. Suggest that the tiled floors be mopped & the carpet steam cleaned
* mould in the shower & on the seal of the fridge door
* chocolate wrapper & other bits of rubbish on the floor & kitchen bench not wiped down properly.

I would stay at the hotel again as we still enjoyed our time there. Hopefully with a bit more attention paid to the cleanliness of the room, our next stay will be better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear BrisCat,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I appreciate you outining your positive points as well as the areas of concern that we will urgently take on board and rectify.

I have copied your review for all of the front desk staff to read regarding your check in, I do apologise that your room was not ready at the time of arrival and that you were not offered a complimentary drink for the inconvenience.

The most concerning part is that you were not contacted once the room was ready, this would have started your stay off in a much more positive fashion. I will reiterate the importance of communication immediately.

I appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and assure you that I do take this very seriously and will update the housekeeping and maintenance teams regarding your concerns.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, I do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    197
    98
    65
    64
See reviews for
226
170
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment in mid January 2014. When we reached our apartment we were pleasantly surprised by its size, cleanliness and facilities. As our 5th floor room had two balconies we had great views over the Hinterland, pool and beach. We loved the outdoor pool area and the water slides are a great touch. Lily at Reception was fantastic and always helpful. At check-in we were advised that if any additional toiletries were needed we just had to ask. And it was so. We took the breakfast option and found it more than adequate. Again the staff were friendly and helpful especially Angela. Even with the roadworks the beach was just a one minute walk away and Cavil Mall around 10-12 minutes away. We had a hire car and once we had worked out the roadworks for the new Light Railway found it a breeze getting in and out.

We would have no problem recommending this establishment to other travelers and would definitely be coming back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear GlConan,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of the accommodation and leisure faciilities suited your needs.

I have personally passed on thanks to Lily and Angela for their service levels mentioned in your review.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a 10 night stay here january 2014 and we absolutly loved this place and its close to everything. We stayed on the 15th floor one bedroom ocean view which had beautiful views of the of the beach and pool below. I loved the whole feel and decor of this place, the staff were very friendly and helpfull. Our room was very clean and comfortable, now im a clean freak and i was impressed. Because our stay was so long we were suprised one morning midway through our stay we had a knock on the door for someone to change all the linen, towels, bathroom and kitchen supplys. There is so much available without even leaving, the pool was my daughters fav, spas, gym, next time we stay i will book a massage and facial at the spa. we ordered food from the resturant downstairs and took it up to our room we all loved it, all you could hear around the table was try some of mine its beautiful.
We had the best 10 days of our lives.
None of us wanted to leave and my 8yo daughter cryed saying she wants to live here.
Dont listen to the bad review coz they made me a little apprehensive and we had the best holiday ever!!
Thankyou to all the staff and mangement keep up the good work!
We cant wait to come back soon :)

Room Tip: 15th floor or above high up great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Belinda S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm very plesaed to read that you and your family had your best holiday ever, great to read.

We will definitely keep up the same level or service ensuring other families enjnoy their experiences with us and we do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

There were some positives and negatives with our 3 night stay but overall, I would recommend Sun City. Mantra takes much pride in the external appearance, the look of their foyers and the facilities offered to their guests. It's a shame the apartments don't meet this high level of decor and fitout. Our apartment was quite smelly and the kitchen was not as well equipped as we would have ordinarily liked. However, we didn't cook and a phone call to reception resulted in a very quick can of air freshener delivered to our apartment to deal with the smell. Sun City is located at the end of Surfers and there is only one convenience shop nearby. Cavill Avenue is only a 10-15 minute walk away but ... Their guest information book listed a price of $6 for tennis racquet and court hire but we were charged $10. Also, I went to sit in the outdoor pool area one afternoon and a staff member told me I couldn't sit on the sunlounge I was about to sit on as he had to move it to ensure all black lounges were together, all grey ones together etc. I couldn't believe he would stop me from sitting so that he could colour coordinate the lounges, He said it was part of his job to do this each afternoon but someone should tell him that he should do it more discreetly without stopping customers from sitting on lounges. All other staff are very friendly though and I couldn't fault the customer service I received from the people at reception. I was determined not to enjoy it when we first arrived as all my negatives occurred on my first day but I came to enjoy our stay very much. The facilities are great, especially the pools. Love the lizards in the pool area - how fantastic! The new tram stop at the front of Sun City will help travellers to get around. I also understand that a Woolworths will be built next door - phew! I will book Sun City again in the future. It has become my favourite place to stay st Surfers. Fantastic pools, large apartments and great service are the key points for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level. They are still building the tram stop right in front of Sun City a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear optusnet,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm very pleased to read that after your inital negative experiences that it was turned around into a positive one and you would happily return to Mantra Sun City Resort.

I have asked the team to clarifyt the tennis racquet and ball hire immediately and also asked that the public area team do not interrupt our guests enjoyment of the sun lounges whilst relaxing by the pool.

optusnet, thanks again for your feedback, we do look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City Resort again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

From the cigarette butts on the balcony, to the bathroom that wasn't quite clean, to the front door of the room that looked like someone had tried to kick it in, to the missing tv in the bedroom, there were simply too many little things wrong with this property. Then there's the fact that there was only one soap in the bathroom, no shower gel and if you want to use the pool then you will need to pay to hire a towel. And if you have a car then good luck finding a car park as most of the spaces are reserved, making it near impossible to park your own car - and don't forget the very large signs informing you that your car will be towed and impounded if you do park in a reserved space. This property is not worth your time or money. The property is tired and run down, with not even all of the pools and spas open during the Christmas holiday period. With the added problems of construction work for the new tram line, and very poor access to the hotel around earth moving equipment and construction, try somewhere else in the surfers paradise region.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi David S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience with Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm very sorry to read that you faced some inconveniences during your stay and will be sure to bring these to the attention of the team for urgent rectification.

If you can please provide details of the pools and spas that were closed during your stay it would be greatly appreciated; I was not aware of any closures and this is quite interesting feedback.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights with our children aged 7 and 5. We loved the water slides and pools which kept the boys amused for hours. So close to the beach and great views from our apartment. Slightly dated fit out, but clean and everything you need, very spacious, perfect for a family. Probably not the ideal place for couples. Good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear LoveBow,

Thank you for your review following your family holiday at Mantra Sun City Resort.

Very pleased to read that your boys enjoyed the waterslides and the close at hand beach.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed with family for 4 nights and 5 days, in an ocean view 2 bedroom apartment. Very nice, clean and spacious. Was impressed with the view. Great ducted air con, tv and facilities worked well. Lovely pools, well maintained. Food service was great too, very quick. Staff was friendly and professional. Overall had a great stay. The only complaint would be the lizards around the pools, but then again it emphasised the Aztec vibe which was cool. :)

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sydneylife,

Thank you for your review following your families holiday, pleased that everything met with your expectations and you enjoyed your stay.

Sorry that the resident water dragons did not make you feel comfortable, they are very harmless and certainly do add to the theme!

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#21 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.