We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Sun City

Save Saved
You added Mantra Sun City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed two nights, two bedroom condo with great ocean and city views. A few blocks from the main street. Just one block from beach. A new light rail / trolly line being built just outside. Very clean and everything you could ask for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear alaskansurfer,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Mantra Sun City Resort.

We appreciate your review on our hotel and do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    164
    80
    61
    57
See reviews for
195
149
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a great hotel situated right in the heart of Surfers Paradise. We did stay here a couple of time and always had ocean view self contained apartments. They are modern, clean and amazing. It is a great hotel if you are staying with some friends of even for couples.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Ashilr,

Thank you for your review on Mantra Sun City Resort, we truly appreciate your time.

I thank you for the feedback provided on our apartments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra Suncity 04/05/2013 for 6 nights. We had a One Bedroom Ocean Apartment which offers clean and comfortable surroundings with the added convenience of a fully equipped kitchen and laundry. They feature a private balcony offering breathtaking views of the Ocean as well as tea and coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, cable TV and in-house movies.
Located just one block from the beach, Mantra Sun City is the ideal for your Surfers Paradise stay. When you’re not spending your days exploring the bustling beachside city, enjoy the many guest services and leisure facilities we have onsite.

There is an in door heated swimming pool which we used all the time and a fantastic Aztec-inspired pool featuring snake-like waterslides. The spa and gym are great. Sayas Restaurant has delicious food and happy hour between 5pm to 6pm daily.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone " BRILLIANT"

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Shane P,

Thanks for your review, it's greatly appreciated.

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and taking advantage of the hotel's leisure and dining facilities during your break.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City Resort in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have stayed in Surfers before and found it quite noisy so was hesitant to stay there again however SunCity is on the Northern end so noise wasnt a problem at all.
Absolutely fantastic staff that were all really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view and the views of the sunrise/sunset and beach were incredible! Indoor Pool and Spa area amazing, the area is massive so didnt feel overcrowded when others were in there also. We dont have kids, but there are waterslides etc so would be fantastic for those that do! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Getting an ocean view room is highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Renee M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're pleased your found our resort to be in a suitable destination in Surfers Paradise, away from the noise of the mall area. We are also very pleased that you found the staff, the room and the leisure facilities met your needs for your short break.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had read some bad reviews on here so were slightly worried, we arrived far too early, the staff on the front desk were awesome, checked to see if our room was ready but it wasn't. All good though we knew that may be the case, had no issues with checking in, the staff, the rooms, or the property. We had a 1bd ocean view apartment, and were very comfortable. We had room service from the restaurant and enjoyed the meal, it was a bit small but not really a big deal to us. Had a great weekend away and will definitely return to Mantra Sun City

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Carrie G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent short break at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're very pleased that you enjooyed your stay with us and the staff, room and facilities met your standards.

I thank you for your kind words on the check in, should the rooms be avialable early, we always try and assist with an early check in, I do appreciate your understanding that the room wasn't ready early on this occasion.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Mantra Suncity in the school holidays. The pools were amazing. The staff we so friendly and helpful and the room was so big for our family. We had an excellent time and would return here every holiday. thank you so much for making a family holiday so wonderful. All amenties were amazing and the pool and the slides were so much fun. We didnt want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Bec A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us along with the leisure facilities on offer.

We do hope to get the cjhance to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kakadu National Park, Darwin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after booking a mystery room through Wotif.com.
Check in was a breeze, thanks to Lily.
There was plenty of complimentary parking under the hotel, and the car park spaces were easy to get in and out of. Such a nice change after some of the other hotels I've stayed at.
There is construction going on around the hotel (train line) which makes it a bit hard to access the hotel, and creates a little bit of noise. Nothing too concerning though.
Our one bedroom self contained apartment was enormous, with fabulous facilities including a laundry (washing machine & dryer), full kitchen, dining, lounge and separate bedroom with walk in robe. The unit could be joined to the motel room next door to create a two bedroom unit.
The two-way bathroom was over sized, and featured a shower and double sinks, but no bath. The bath towels are small - more suited to small children than adults.
The furnishings are a little dated, however I believe a lot of these units are privately owned, and furnished to the owners taste rather than the standard of the Mantra name.
The large balcony overlooked both the ocean and the city, so we had plenty to see.
We visited both the indoor & outdoor pools (and indoor spa which was divine; so warm). These are lovely, however the walls of the indoor areas could do with some touch up paint. A minor issue in an otherwise lovely hotel.
We moved from here to a 5 star hotel nearby for a wedding, and unfortunately wished we had stayed at the Mantra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear WizardofAus1

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're very pleased that your check in with LIly was a breeze and that you enjoyed your stay in the one bedroom suite. We do appreciate the feedback on the apartment and the leisure facilities within the hotel.

I can advise that the indoor pool will receive a new dehyumidifier in the near future which will remove the issues associated with humidity in that area. Once this is installed we will move forward with a full paint of the area also.

Thank you again for your feedback, we do hope to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#24 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.