We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Sun City to your Saves list
Mantra Sun City
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Mantra Suncity in the school holidays. The pools were amazing. The staff we so friendly and helpful and the room was so big for our family. We had an excellent time and would return here every holiday. thank you so much for making a family holiday so wonderful. All amenties were amazing and the pool and the slides were so much fun. We didnt want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Bec A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us along with the leisure facilities on offer.

We do hope to get the cjhance to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    197
    98
    65
    64
See reviews for
226
170
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kakadu National Park, Darwin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after booking a mystery room through Wotif.com.
Check in was a breeze, thanks to Lily.
There was plenty of complimentary parking under the hotel, and the car park spaces were easy to get in and out of. Such a nice change after some of the other hotels I've stayed at.
There is construction going on around the hotel (train line) which makes it a bit hard to access the hotel, and creates a little bit of noise. Nothing too concerning though.
Our one bedroom self contained apartment was enormous, with fabulous facilities including a laundry (washing machine & dryer), full kitchen, dining, lounge and separate bedroom with walk in robe. The unit could be joined to the motel room next door to create a two bedroom unit.
The two-way bathroom was over sized, and featured a shower and double sinks, but no bath. The bath towels are small - more suited to small children than adults.
The furnishings are a little dated, however I believe a lot of these units are privately owned, and furnished to the owners taste rather than the standard of the Mantra name.
The large balcony overlooked both the ocean and the city, so we had plenty to see.
We visited both the indoor & outdoor pools (and indoor spa which was divine; so warm). These are lovely, however the walls of the indoor areas could do with some touch up paint. A minor issue in an otherwise lovely hotel.
We moved from here to a 5 star hotel nearby for a wedding, and unfortunately wished we had stayed at the Mantra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear WizardofAus1

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're very pleased that your check in with LIly was a breeze and that you enjoyed your stay in the one bedroom suite. We do appreciate the feedback on the apartment and the leisure facilities within the hotel.

I can advise that the indoor pool will receive a new dehyumidifier in the near future which will remove the issues associated with humidity in that area. Once this is installed we will move forward with a full paint of the area also.

Thank you again for your feedback, we do hope to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Coast NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night for her birthday. We loved the pools, the slides and the spa. Staff were friendly and attentive. However, the metal chairs and stools in the room are very heavy to move and uncomfortable, and I was very disappointed to have to sleep on 40% polyester sheets at a hotel of this standard. I had a very uncomfortable 'sleep'. Also a little disappointed that room service was delivered in a take away container in a plastic bag! Overall, not bad, but disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear maryatbruns,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your overnight stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We certainly appreciate your feedback regarding the pools, slides, spa and the staff, it's great to read and I'll be sure to pass on your comments ot the team.

I am however to read that the stools in the room are heavy to move, this is the first advice I have had on this problem so I'll be sure to investigate your room and the issue you have raised.

I also offer my apologies that you were not happy with the standard of sheets, Unfortunately this is the standard that all of our properties use on the Gold and Tweed coast and again the first time the issue has been raised.

Our room service meals are clearly stated on the a la carte menu on how they are served, the reason for htis is maintain a competitive price to our guests and also the issue of room service trays in our corridors.

maryatbruns, thank you once again for your feedback, we do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location approximately 100 metres to the beach and around a 1km from Cavill Avenue. Stayed in a one bedroom ocean view apartment with plenty of room and views of the ocean and hinterland. The rooms are looking a little tired and are in need of a refurb but overall they were clean and comfortable. A little frustrating with getting in and around the area due to the light rail system being put in but overall we had a good stay. We would definately stay here again!!

Room Tip: Definately go for an Ocean View on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Lissielou71,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent short break to Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're pleased that you found the room spacious and clean and the general location of the resort.

We are constantly working with our owners to ensure that refurbishment and refreshing of the rooms is happneing and we will again continue this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City Resort

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Quite a good location, although at the moment the Gold Coast is under construction with the light rail being worked on so all around the property and the streets is fenced off and sometimes gets quite noisy. Request a high level room with ocean views as they are fantastic, if you happen to get a hinterland view this is also okay but we prefer the surf side. Hotel has all the services and things you need but the decor is a bit outdated with the colours etc but overall very clean and well kept. Down in the lobby they have a nice area to buy snacks,drinks and icecreams. Also happy hour in the bar for cocktails.

Room Tip: high level ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear o12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort.

We thank you for your contribution outlining the hotel's accommodation and leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with myself and child. We stayed on the 32nd floor with ocean/amazing view. The check in was quick, however swipe cards didn't work and had to be redone (no big deal). The room was clean and well fitted out. Although it was very 90s decor and fittings. The block out curtains were a real plus (esp with kids!!)
The hotel itself has some sort of Aztec, Indiana Jones, Vegas theme going on... which probably makes it feel more dated! It also has the atmosphere of somewhere a bit derelict / that was quite busy in former days, eg bar that was never open, atm that was out of order...
Pool and outdoors areas were really nice and appeared well maintained. Indoor pool is supposedly heated but wasn't. Had to pay non-refundable $3 for a towel.
I noticed other comments about the smell on the room floors - didn't notice it myself except when putting garbage in the chute!!
Roadworks around the area made it frustrating to get to, and seemed to change on a daily basis - although this is no fault of the hotel. There was also a bit of noise from the backpackers across the road (again no fault of the hotel, but it does travel - even to up to the 32nd floor!)
Overall, really good - if a little dated. Staff helpful and friendly. Location good, and good facilities.

Room Tip: Ocean view up towards main surfers is great for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear lilbluehorse,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent short break to Mantra Sun City Resort, we certainlyh appreciate your contribution.

It's great to read that the apartment and resort suited your needs and I thank you for the detailed feedback on the resort's leisure facilites and services.

The theming you mentioned is certainly Aztec and the Body Corporate are working closely with a project management team to have this refurbished in the very near future, bringing the theming a refreshed and renewed look which will certainly assist with the whole look and feel of the building.

The light rail work that is currently occuring will be with us in the short term but major construction work should be completed by the end of this year ending traffic congestion and unwelcome noise.

Once again, thank for your contribution, we do look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards
Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the easter weekend for a night, got a mystery deal through wotif and ended up with a one bedroom ocean view apartment. Check in was speedy and the staff were super friendly. View was fantastic nice ocean view on a high floor and the apartment was huge, however all the furniture was very old, the couches were ripped and faded and the matress on the bed quite small and uncomfertable, hubby's feet hung over the end. Wouldnt pay full price for this particular room with the way it was looking and state of furnishing, it would be muh nicer if it had newer furniture. However i do have a girls night next for a friends birthday next month and this was the only place with 3 bedroom apartments so hopefully the next stay will be in a better room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Tristan M,

Thank you for your recent review following your overnight stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I am pleased that the staff were super friendly and your check in experience speedy.

I would appreciate it if you could please email me directly at the hotel so I can liaise with the owner of this apartment to upgrade the furniture with urgency.

My email address is Damian.Sillars@mantra.com.au

I would also like to have a look at your next booking for your girls weekend away.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#21 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.