We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYPASS BYPASS !!! DISGUSTING & RUDE !!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   18 Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BYPASS BYPASS !!! DISGUSTING & RUDE !!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel, With friends, the staff is so rude and arrogant, Especially the blonde lady, and what a bad look when she was eating a sandwich at reception while talking to us and a young gentleman was also eating while at an other computer and kept staring at us,
( THEY SEEM TO HAVE THE I DONT CARE ATTITUDE TO THIER GUESTS , IT WAS LIKE THEY HAD YOUR MONEY NOW SO BAD TO SAD ATTITUDE IS HOW WE FELT) The rooms are filthy and when we asked for it to be recleaned before we unpacked the Blonde lady said it was cleaned to their standard so if we wanted it recleaned they will do it for a fee.
The pillows are extremely thin , it was like not having a pillow at all , This hotel advertised as fully self contained & free Wi-Fi in rooms WRONG, no toaster, only half the cutelry for example we had 6 tea spoons, a heap of diner knives NO FORKS, The room ws full of dust on the bed was only 2 sheets ( VERY THIN ) sunken in the middle no doona or bed spread, The bathroom vent full of dust , Shower mouldy, No furniture on the balcony just one broken plastic chair , carpets full of stains, Couch Disgusting, Felt dirty every time we were in the room so ended up hardly being in there , we asked if we could get one more toilet roll they said yes , But it would cost $2 per roll , what joke when you go to the shopping centre a get a 10 pack for $6 which we did and took the rest home , Bath towels had yellow stains on them, & they will take a $200 bond on arrival which is fine as most hotels do this but honestly the $200 bond would pay for all the furniture in the room if you bought on online / opt shops etc as it was that old and tired The only good thing about this hotel is the location, otherwise avoid AVOID

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    58
    58
    118
See reviews for
79
159
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Beachcomber for the last 3 years when we go to the Gold Coast V8's and although it is a bit tired the location is fantastic right in the middle of town, and great value for money, the only thing I would say could be better is the rooms need to be cleaned to a higher standard, but if you go to reception and ask for something to be done they organise it.
The pool area is lovely with an indoor and outdoor pool & spa's.
The staff are extremely accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the beach if you like morning sun or if you like afternoon sun facing the Hint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our family had a great stay. So close to everything. No car was needed. Night markets , face painting, jumping castle, so many restaurants to choose from and the ocean water was perfect. The chinese food in the restaurant on ground level was hard to beat. The food was so nice and it was all you could eat for under $20 and the kids were $10. Reception was helpful and our room was clean. We are coming again beach comber

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Kedah, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The staff are unfriendly. The reception is opened only certain hours and even worse on weekends. The rooms and furniture in worst conditions. Pillows and bed - better sleep on the floor but unfortunately the floor is also dirty with multiple stains. The security is not great as there only the key as the door lock. The lift is very slow - please learn to be patient if want to take the lift busy times. There is no room service to clean the room or to replace the used utilities. Especially no free internet in the rooms as advertised in certain websites. Currently there is construction work going on around the hotel, so it is so noisy at night.
The guest is expected to take the rubbish down to the basement and even the garbage bag is not replaced. For all these services, you have to deposit $200 as bond - even much better hotesl than this just request $100. Additional charges for credit card payment. Only the location is great. This is best described as backpackers lodge which expensive charges. Not worth staying

Room Tip: Best for backpackers who want to waste their money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Have stay 2 years running now for holidays, found the resort to be great, staff pleasing, the unit was fine,location is just perfect as is the views, and the shopping, we personally would return again, and cannot fault any aspect of this resort.Had a wonderful apartment top floor,I feel it,s real value for money,
( Noela from Perth. )

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

You get everything you need but its annoying that you have to pay if things run out. Some of the furniture was old and tatty but for the money it was a nice place to stay. Probably best to stay here with friends. also the $200 bond is ridiculous! Still, comfortable place to stay in a nice town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were not advised of $200 bond when we booked online; it was demanded from us when we checked in;
Hotel staff esp the man and wife were very very arrogant... they think they are god! You cannot ask them anything because they will gang up on you; Paging the hotel owners, better relieve the man and wife before you ran out of business.
AND if these people own the hotel, they better go to another business because they are ZERO when it comes to customer service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise

Address: 18 Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Beachcomber Surfers Hotel
Breakfree Beachcomber Surfers Paradise
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.