We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad luck” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   18 Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“bad luck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

it was the unit not to get 29-05 the view was great thats it. the fridge was rusty/moldy- toaster rusty-griller filthy greese/fat inside and out aircon noise bathroom very sticky floors it really needs some supervision and a refit i stayed there 9years ago for 1 week and had a good experience. to see nothings been done to it.it was a shame to see it let go to such a state im very disappointed. photos if requested yours johnnie cocker 0412345643

Room Tip: dont pay up front for the full term
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to write the review, we appreciate your honest opinion.
All our units are individually owned & the quality does differ between units.
I wish you had bought these issues to our attention during your stay so we could have addressed them. I am disappointed to hear that our cleanliness was an issue & i will be discussing this with our cleaners.
We would really appreciate a second chance to show you a better Beachcomber experience.
Please call me personally & i will look after you.
Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    106
    56
    58
    115
See reviews for
78
154
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

we checked into our room on the 14th floor very late on the 17th april and we were very disappointed, the room was filthy, dust an inch thick on the bedside tables and lamps and a wine screwtop lid beside the bed that also had dust on it, there was also no mattress protector on the bed. i went downstairs to reception the next morning an explained the situation, the reception staff were very very pleasant and moved us to a room with a view on the 11th floor, this one was cleaner but still very old furniture and the coffee table was covered in crumbs and the rubbish bin in the kitchen was still full of rubbish from the previous guest...but we thought oh well. then the day we left as i am a housekeeper in Hobart i stripped the bed and the mattress protector was grey and 2 pillows were white and 2 were a disgusting yellow like they were 20 years old and none of them had pillow protectors on them. i know we only paid $85 a night, but cleanliness should be a priority

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
I appreciate your honest opinion. I am very sorry that your stay with us was a disappointing one. Our cleanliness is an issue we are currently addressing & your feedback is extremely valuable. I agree cleanliness should be a priority.
I am glad our reception staff were helpful.
I would appreciate the chance to make your next stay on the Gold Coast a memorable one.
Pleas call me personally & i will ensure you are looked after.
Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Yes the hotel is "cheap", but you still expect a little bit of quality/comfort that is all we were asking for. Instead we were staying in something that resembled a public housing estate that included long term residents.

The apartments are out-dated with broken furniture, paint peeling from the bathroom walls, rust on the outdoor furniture, sliding doors that do not close, broken ceiling fans which are covered in dust, We felt sick thinking about the condition of the mattress the list goes on.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location and views which are fantastic!

Would I stay here again NO, you are better off to pay that little bit more to get somewhere you feel comfortable and safe in!

This wasn't a bargin weekend getway - it's overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, ACT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very Deceiving on the internet and from the outside/reception. The reception area looks great, modern and clean. The website also looked fine. Once you go past the reception and into the lifts it all goes downhill from there. The Beachcomber is old, smelly and run down. All those things are fine, if you are paying the same as a back packers or something. This place is way over priced for what it is. The room was very old and not cleaned or maintained in a very long time. The bed was two single beds pushed together that rolled around the room the whole time. There was a dirty towel hanging in the bathroom as a welcome when we arrived. Shower over the bath was extremely dirty and rusty! Mould all over the roof and air vent in bathroom. I wore thongs on the carpet and in shower as it looked and felt grimy! Sliding door would only open if you used extreme force. Permanent residents were unhappy and very unwelcoming to holiday makers. If you were lucky enough you will be put in a room next to what smelt like pot smokers. Hall ways were very stinky and it felt like you couldn’t breathe. If we could have found another place to stay on such short notice we would have! I do not recommend staying here. If you get a room for $50 - $70 per night, that’s as much as it is worth.

Room Tip: Dont stay here. If you have to - get a room with an ocean view, that dosnt make it seem as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

For a budget motel I say this was excellent. We where on the 15th floor with a beautiful view every morning. Our room was relitivly clean but the grill was disgusting... It was great having a fridge microwave and kitchen though! Yeah the furniture was old but it was comfortable. $80 a night it was worth it. We will defiantly be back!!! We where very happy!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location, so close to shops, beach and restaurants-2 mins walk to them !!! Great service-very friendly and helpful !!!! Good value for money :) good facilities tennis court, and indoor and out door pools and spas !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

the Room was good we were pleased with our room1203 its have the beach view and close to all facilities etc.Reception and staff were very nice and helpful.
Very recommended place when you visiting surfer paradise... Cheers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise

Address: 18 Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Beachcomber Surfers Hotel
Breakfree Beachcomber Surfers Paradise
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.