We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   18 Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
surfers paradise
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is one of the older buildings but only 1 street back from Cavil Ave and about 50 mt to the beach. This is not the quietest buildings around and has had a bad name. But we note it is in the process of being cleaned up, example is they just had the whole building clean from top to bottom and is fixing the front entrance that was damaged by some visitors to the place. we have made complaints about some of the people staying there and note they are being moved on from the place. We think in time this could be a good hotel to stay once again if they keep getting rid of the rubbish from in and out of the building. Extra Security has just been put in place and hope that the management keep on top of improving the place.

Room Tip: If you have a problem do tell reception or their after hours service and they will have security or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    92
    48
    50
    100
See reviews for
63
133
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

great views and friendly service. Thank you Beachcombers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I Booked the beachcomber last year for our cricket trip as it was in the heart of everything we wanted, I stumbled across it by looking on the net for cheap stays in the heart of surfers, After looking into the Beachcomber and seeing the pics and reading up on whats close with things too do and places too go, i rang them and sent a email, I recived a email and call back the next day from Glenda Ferry, She was nice and also friendly and helped out with what ever i asked!!
The appartments that we stayed in were awsome, Clean and tidy, and everything in them we needed!! The spot was what we were told, a stroll too pubs, clubs and the never sleeping nightlife,
Thats why we returned back this year, Awesome accomodation and everything we asked for, Myself and the boys say thankyou and they wanna come back for the 3rd year running....
Thanks heaps Glenda Ferry once again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalbar
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The location of the Beachcomber Resort is perfectly situated in the middle of Surfers Paradise. My Wife and I booked our accommodation through Wotif.com as our once a year time to get away from the world and spoil ourselves on the Gold Coast. When we arrived we were given our keys and instruction from the friendly staff at the reception. as we opened the room door we were amazed to find the room completely trashed and a smell that was indescribable. I returned to reception saying that the room was not yet made up from the previous people and the reception instantly gave me a key to a new room on the 29th floor. This room was at least ready to move in to, however far from a standard you would expect when paying for a service. The dirt, mold, filthy windows and very out dated apartment was disappointing to say the least. Our print out from Wotif described the room as having a king size bed and a free buffet breakfast. The bed was to single beds pushed together and the breakfast was bacon and eggs with toast - definitely no buffet and the Coffee was extra. At nearly $400 for two nights, I could have stayed at the Sheraton that weekend for $40 extra. After the second night stay, I needed a chiropractic treatment to put my back in - another $80. Please be very careful if booking at this facility.

Room Tip: Inspect the room prior to paying, otherwise don't do it, as there are far better places with bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The best way to sum up the accommodation at Beachcomber is simple. Get a bunch of real farm pigs, stick them in one of their room, let them go wild for a couple of days and then kick them out. Then lease out the rooms to humans who were all excited for their summer holiday to Surfers Paradise, to only get unbelievably disappointed at the pig sty that was offered to them for the next 7 days. Seriously, be aware of this s**t hole. The manager offers you a refund if your not happy as long as you check out immediately, The problem is you end up having to constantly call the c**t to get your refund, only to get the constant response that he is not available. Your calls are never ever returned. Our matter is now being referred to the Department of Fair Trading. If you like living in a sewer pit,stay here, but if not, stay the hell away from this hole.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We arrived at the Beachcomber in the evening and everything went smooth, as they had a good system of leaving the keys etc. in a safe outside the entrance. Quite efficient we thought.
The first room we were given was a dump. It was dirty all over, old fashioned and there were stains on the sofa and lots of dirt in the kitchen area, in addition to dust on the fan and a womans hair (we were two men travelling together) on the bathroom wall. There were also ants crawling around in the kitchen.

The next day we told the reception staff that the room was not satisfactory and that it was dirty. They suggested cleaning the room, but we told them we wanted a new room. One of the receptionists followed us up to the room to have a look with us. She showed clear body language that she did not like our complaint and once in the room she started questioning our complaint. She did not show any understading although the room was clearly dirty. (Something she admitted to after a while) The ants were gone on day two, but we had filmed then and showed this to her. She then told us that a few ants didn´t make up a swarm, even though we had never said anything about a swarm. We told her the room was still dirty regardless of the ants and she didn´t give us any reason to believe she would sort the matter. She told us the units were privately owned and that they were doing the best they could. We then told her that we experienced her as intimidating in her manners and that the hotel could keep the money for the second night and that we would be checking out regardless. Only then she turned and offered us a new room. Even though she had offered a new room, she had to point out that ants were normal on the Gold Coast (even on the 20th floor) and that we would also have to expect to see cockroaches. She basically treated us like two kids. As you can read in our many other reviews, we have not experienced anything similar before.

Once the new room was ready the other receptionist gave us the key with a smile and a more courteous manner of dealing with guests.

The second room was a lot better, still old fashioned, but a lot cleaner. And in the end that is the most important thing. In other words, you could be satisfied at the Beachcomber, but it´s a risk to take.

We would not stay there again, especially because of the lack of training in dealing with guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and be specific when booking that you expect the room to be clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here via a lastminute booking. The owners were great, they let us check in/out as at our convenience. It was like being at home accept for the views overlooking the pool and beach.

It's one street away from Cav Ave and for $500 a week, what more could anyone ask for?

Room Tip: Awesome holiday :-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise

Address: 18 Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Beachcomber Surfers Hotel
Breakfree Beachcomber Surfers Paradise
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.