We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location in Surfers Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Legends Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Legends Hotel to your Saves list
Mantra Legends Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great central location in Surfers Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 weeks in this hotel for our honeymoon in 2008. It is very central in Surfer's Paradise well within walking distance to the beach and many restaurants. Public transport was good with a bus stop near the front of the hotel.
The room was a standard room and was very clean with a small kitchenette that came in handy.
We had hired a car for half the time we were there and the downside was parking during the peak period.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    286
    156
    65
    61
See reviews for
137
289
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia, Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Location is perfect, 2 minutes walk from the beach, with everything's within walking distance, restaurants, supermarket, car hire, pharmacy, doctor's clinic, bus stop to theme parks.... Reception staff is professional and courteous. We stayed at a Ocean View Studio Room on Floor 13. The view is amazing, worth the upgrade. The room is spacious with a very basic kitchenette and a small balcony, king size bed. However not the cleanest, stains on the furniture, mold along the bathtub, blanket smelled but it was summer so don't really need it. The shower is in the bathtub with a curtain screen, very unusal for Australian hotels of this rating. The TV keep losing signal, but each time the technician comes promptly. Comfortable 4-night stay. Loved the pool!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Had a pleasant stay in Mantra Legends. We arrived at the hotel around 10am and managed to check-in early without hassle. Was pretty impressed with the modern exterior and decent sized lobby. The front-desk receptionist was extremely friendly and definately "served with a big smile". Best of all, we got upgraded to a studio room with half sea-view! Room was spacious, clean and definately smoke-free. The location was perfect, right at the heart of surfers paradise and the beach is just 2 minutes walk away. The breakfast was alright, nothing to shout about. Great value and will definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Me and my gf checked into the Mantra Legends for three nights from September 6 to 9, 2008.

We booked our room via the hotel's parent site (Stella Hospitality) and our selection was for a Hinterland View Studio Apartment. To our pleasant surprise, upon checking in, they gave us a Studio Apartment alright, but one that faced the Ocean! This was indeed a pleasant start to our Gold Coast holiday and the Ocean View room was great value (its actually almost A$9 more expensive than the Hinterland one)!

The hotel is sitting on possibly the best location in Surfers Paradise. The Legends itself has two Chinese restaurants on-site as well as a nice coffee house but just across the main road are more Chinese and Asian restaurants! If that's not enough, as our room is an Apartment, there is an IGA Supermarket just a 5 minute walk for purchase of groceries. Furthermore, the popular Q1 Deck is another 10 minutes walk from the Legends but best of all, the world-famous Surfers beach is almost literally at our doorstep (alright, actually another 5 minutes walk!).

As we went on a self-drive trip, parking at the Legends was very sufficient (all in the basement). However, for our first night, the hotel had some function and as such, the basement carpark was full. The hotel valet helped us park our car at a nearby carpark lot though, excellent service and it was free!

Our three night stay at the Legends indeed gave us great memories and one that made us remember this hotel for its "legendary" value-for-money room and superb location. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Probably the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Initially gave us the wrong room type, then gave us the keys to a room that was already occupied! No chance of parking on site, even staff members park in the disabled spots! Had to park 3 blocks away at cost of $35 overnight. Staff were unapologetic and rude.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

It needs to be note before i begin to describe my experience at the Mantra Legends that I booked a privately owened room through Stayz.com

The room was aobsolutely disgusting. Stains on the carpet, hair all through the bed and towls, holes in the walls and only porn on the TV. Do they usually only rent the room by the hour???

The room was so small you had to walk sideways to get around the bed, my husband and I could not both be in the bathroom at the same time and the balcony was so small you couldn't even step out the door.

To top it all off, on a day and evening when the temperature was 30C with 100% humidity, the air conditioning didn't work.

After complaining to the owners and a fair bit of haggling we got a refund and moved across to the Watermark Hotel - what a relief.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

A couple of min walk to the beach and about a 15 min walk to the surfers paradise boulevard, makes this property a good place to be in. We went during our new years celebration and we would walk to most of the shopping joints and to the beach.
We had booked the ocean view studio room and got the same as we had requested. I was quite pleased with the room - good view and well cleant. Our AC system broke down though during one night and had to request a portable fan from the recpetion. The kitchen could have been better equipped with all cutlery.
One big -ve about this property is the staff - from conceirge to the bart tender to the recpetion - didnt find them polite enough or welcoming. Big let down in this aspect.
Pool scene is great though. All in all, barring the staffing not a big regret visiting this place.

  • Liked — Location & Proximity
  • Disliked — Staff & Service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Legends Hotel

Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Legends Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Legends Hotel provides the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. The hotel is just a short stroll to the beach, premium shopping outlets and fine dining restaurants and Surfers Paradise's famous nightlife scene is a mere five minute walk. The hotel boasts well appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring ocean or hinterland views. All rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, in-house movies, wireless connectivity and most feature a private balcony and the option of upgrading to a deluxe (refurbished) room. On-site facilities cater to both business travellers and those on a relaxed getaway. We offer exceptional conferencing facilities as well as a beautiful outdoor pool area, fully equipped gym and steam room. We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, secure undercover parking (subject to availability) and concierge. Our hotel offers an on-site restaurant, Fables and our own Tales Bar. Join us for breakfast, dinner or simply an evening cocktail. We provide the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Legends Surfers Paradise
Mantra Legends Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Legends Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.