We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House Keeping......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Legends Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Legends Hotel to your Saves list
Mantra Legends Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“House Keeping......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We enjoyed our first visit to Surfers Paradise.... the room was ok and spacious but HOUSE KEEPING was very poor... we had to ask the people in charge twice to vaccumme the room and wipe stains off coffee table. They did it on the 3rd day when it was meant to be done everyday according to the management and staffs at reception. They also never changed the beddings until just before the last day of our stay when we emphsised about it. Also one of the person at the conciege was very rude when we were trying to arrange a tour and get more information.
The girls at the reception were very friendly and helpfull. Location wise was excellent. May I will re think on staying there again unless they can get their acts together. All the best!!!

Room Tip: Room with a view will be adviseable and like ours with spa bath as well.... but depends on what your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Reginald L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am naturally disappointed to hear some areas of your stay were not up to standard and have affected your Holiday. I am pleased that you found the reception staff to be friendly and helpful, it concerns that one of my concierge was rude and lacked the customer service I would expect.

There appears to of been a communication breakdown in regards to your room servicing and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused, I have followed this up with all relevant parties.

We strive to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay and on this occasion we have fallen short, without having your specific booking details it makes it difficult to further investigate the concerns you have raised, if you could please contact me directly chris.dickinson@mantra.com.au it would be of great assistance as I would like look into this matter further.

Once again thank you for providing this feedback and I look forward to hearing from you !

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    288
    156
    65
    61
See reviews for
137
290
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late 2011. I rang the hotel at 8am when we arrived in QLD and half an hour later when we arrived at the hotel they had a room ready for us to checkin!
Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate tea in their restaurant one night, food & service was good, we were given a high chair for our toddler. The room we stayed in was small, but clean & tidy. It had two double beds and the verandah looked out to the ocean. Position is just a short stroll to Caville Avenue, there are restaurants right outside the building.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Shaz3R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, I am extremely happy that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, it’s also very pleasing you enjoyed Fables restaurant.

I would like to thank you again for providing this feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Legends Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

After arriving early to the hotel we were told that our room was not available. This is fine as we were early and with the hotel being fully booked couldn't pay for early check in, check staff continually told us we were on priority and the rooms wouldn't be long. 4 hours later we were still waiting. I would rather they told us the truth and said sorry we are fully booked it will be 2pm as per reservation than keep us waiting, it was frustrating and they didn't even offer water or anything considering you could see we were exhausted. Website also needs to be updated. I spoke to many people who thought the decor of the hotel was as per website when in fact its only the deluxe rooms etc that are renovated and the rest of the rooms are 70s throwbacks! Our studio room was humid (air not working well) and the mattress was as hard as a rock! I guess you cant beat the price for the location but that will only suffice for so long before word spreads. Hotel staff need a lesson in manners (Check in) also.

Room Tip: pay extra for a Deluxe Studio + if you want to get a nights sleep...Also parking is limited and 17/d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear jackie a,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am naturally disappointed to hear you found the service and room quality not up to our usual high standard. I would like to confirm that our check in time is 2pm and we try our best to get the rooms ready prior to this but during peak season this becomes more difficult, the receptionist should of informed you on arrival to expect your room to be ready at 2pm, there seems to of been a communication breakdown and I apologise for this.

Mantra Legends Hotel was built in 1997 and most of our rooms have been refurbished since then, we are continually trying to improve our unrefurbished rooms. I am happy that you found both the price and location of Mantra Legends to be the best.

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice so far. It is very close to Surfers Paradise beach and mall. The beds are getting old and need replacing soon (as of January 2013). The restaurant is a little over priced for the service and quality of food. But the proximity to beach and surfers paradise shops is great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear AroundWorldIn80Years,

Thank you for taking the time to share this great feedback, I’m extremely happy that you found Mantra Legends to be nice and in a convenient location, the Hotel beds are monitored and replaced as soon they show signs of ageing.

I would like to thank you for your repeat business and look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Legends Hotel in the future !

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

What a rip off!
More like 3 star at 5 star price.
Rooms are falling apart and dirty.
Tv is from the early 1980s.
Pool is disgusting with hair and filth on bottom and floating on top.
Supposed to be 4 to 4.5 star and has old school bath shower set up with manky old curtains.

Never again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear TheWhingeReport,

Thank you for sharing this feedback, I am naturally disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Mantra Legends Hotel, without knowing your specific booking details I cannot be sure but it appears you have booked one of our standard rooms, we do have our deluxe room categories which have been refurbished, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies as we have clearly fallen short in meeting your expectations and ensuring the room is cleaned to the highest standard.

Without having your specific booking details it makes it difficult to further investigate the issues you have raised, if you could please contact me directly chris.dickinson@mantra.com.au it would be of great assistance as I would like look into this matter further.

I would like to thank you again for providing this feedback , I look forward to hearing from you !

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hotel in early January and we had a great time. It was super busy but the staff were always smiling and the service was first class. The room was clean and tidy and we had breakfast one morning and the selection was excellent. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jason B,

Thank you for sharing this fantastic feedback, I am extremely happy that you found the customer service to be first class as this is the level of service we aim to achieve, it’s also great you found the room to be clean and the breakfast selection to be excellent.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Legends Hotel, thank you once again for sharing your experience!

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for a week. The room was clean and neat - nothing special, but the price was very reasonable. However, the service from reservation/desk staff was "disinterested" and the advertised seafood buffet was absolutely appalling. The crab was frozen - barely defrosted - and tasteless as were the prawns; salads tired; other non-seafood dishes were overcooked and tough (chicken and fish). The club sandwich is the only thing I can recommend - although do not order it through room service, it arrived soggy and cold.
The pool was overcrowded and dirty. People were smoking (and leaving their butts poolside) in full view of hotel staff.
Advised reception staff that our room did not have a services booklet. Staff member responded: "pool is over there, sauna and spa through the door at the end of reception".
(Thanks for that! Internet, laundry services, tour desk, restaurant menu, opening/closing hours, etc . . .)
An error in our bill left us waiting in reception for the duty manager to resolve. We only found out it had been resolved by" tackling" the manager as he passed through the reception area.
Sorry Pat - advertising campaign is great, but we won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear FARNCOMB,

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback, I am happy that you found the room to be clean and neat and the price reasonable, I am naturally disappointed that you found the Front Office staff to be disinterested, this is not what I would expect as we pride ourselves on high levels of customer service.

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused by the lack of service and information given by the front office staff, I will be addressing this and ensuring all relevant staff are given further training. I would like to also address the issues and concerns you had with the Seafood buffet and room service, while we strive to ensure all guests enjoy the food selection and quality this is not always to everyone’s liking ,we do offer an extensive a la carte menu so this can supplement and offer alternatives to the buffet, I would like to apologise for the issues and delay you had with room service as this is clearly not acceptable.

I would like to thank you once again for providing this feedback as it assists us greatly with ensuring our standards are kept high !

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Legends Hotel

Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Legends Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Legends Hotel provides the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. The hotel is just a short stroll to the beach, premium shopping outlets and fine dining restaurants and Surfers Paradise's famous nightlife scene is a mere five minute walk. The hotel boasts well appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring ocean or hinterland views. All rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, in-house movies, wireless connectivity and most feature a private balcony and the option of upgrading to a deluxe (refurbished) room. On-site facilities cater to both business travellers and those on a relaxed getaway. We offer exceptional conferencing facilities as well as a beautiful outdoor pool area, fully equipped gym and steam room. We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, secure undercover parking (subject to availability) and concierge. Our hotel offers an on-site restaurant, Fables and our own Tales Bar. Join us for breakfast, dinner or simply an evening cocktail. We provide the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Legends Surfers Paradise
Mantra Legends Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Legends Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.