We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valuable Accomdation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Islander Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights Save 15%
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Valuable Accomdation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Check-in when arrival. Not strictly at 2 pm for check in. Check out at 10 am. Facilities provided such as swimming pool, spa though we did not utilise it. Great Location! Close to Centro and beach. Nice reception. Great for friends trip or family trip. Charged wireless internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    66
    51
    23
    31
See reviews for
40
63
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Pirie, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed in the Islander twice but 10 days apart. The first time I had a room at the front of the hotel. It did get noise from passing traffic, and the feeling of the room was a bit shabby. The second time I stayed I asked for and got a room at the back. This had been more recently refurbished. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The Islander is good for a short stay as its in a central position, close to Cavill Ave. and shops. I also chose this hotel for its closeness to the bus terminal, located in the street behind the hotel. Tea/coffee making facilities available in each room. Its easy to get a few extra supplies from the supermarket across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Surfers Paradise. Our room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the streets from our balcony. The main shopping streets and beach was all in easy walking distance aswell as the bus stops. We had some noisy neighbours in neighbouring rooms who got a wee bit loud during the nights drinking, partying etc, but we were still able to sleep fine. We would stay here again - as its pretty good value for money :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolwarra, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location, though entry to main hotel (there is also a backpacker section with separate entry) is difficult to locate, the rooms are clean and offer kitchenettes though the bathroom and some furnishings are very dated and in need of upgrading! The hotel is very centrally located above a licensed establishment that is open to 5am - so noise from patrons coming and going onto the street tends to be loud ALL NIGHT - even with doors and windows closed on the 6th floor!
If noise through the night isn't a problem and you don't require all modern facilities then this is a value for money hotel!
P.s the fire alarm went off at 6.30am (with a false alarm) and continued until firemen arrived to turn it off - we were up and leaving that day anyway but felt for those that weren't.

Room Tip: Higher floors may help reduce noise factor from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family. We didn't spend much time here, just for sleeping and resting since we had so many places to visit. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. I actually slept at the living room and left the sliding doors open, the cool beach breeze was very calming despite the noises. Not bad, really!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you are young, want to party and look for an accomodation which will be cheap but still in the centre of the Gold Coast - The Islander will be a good choice for you.
We spent 3 night there with kids and it was too noisy for us.
Young boys and girls are partying, drinking and shouting all night - terrible!
The rooms are very basic but clean.
The lobby is a disgrace!

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here with my two children in July. Thought the location was fantastic, if a little noisy. Very clean and tidy and had everything we needed. Great basic accommodation. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay again.......just make sure you take ear plugs :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort Hotel

Address: 6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Resort Hotel is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hotel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Accommodation consists of Standard Hotel Rooms or One Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature a private balcony, tea/coffee facilities, air conditioning, refrigerator, clock radio and in-room safe. Apartments also have full kitchen facilities.Guests can enjoy free use of full resort facilities including tropical outdoor pool, spa, steam room, tennis and squash courts. Other hotel facilities include 24 hour internet café, on-site bottleshop, 24 hour reception, tour desk, on-site car rental, laundry facilities and limited undercover parking. Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor café is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Islander Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
Islander Resort Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.