We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, Big Room and Fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added QT Gold Coast to your Saves list
QT Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quirky, Big Room and Fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our second stay at this hotel. - formerly Gold Coast International. Quirky decorations and fun staff dressed to suit the style of the new hotel. Room was big and had a small kitchenette. Kids loved the pool/spa area and had a spa most nights. Close enough to walk to Surfers Paradise and lots of restaurants around.
We did get offered lemonade to be delivered to our room on arrival - which the kids were really excited about - but it never turned up... oh well...
The restaurant downstairs has a great atmosphere, but the food choices aren't for the tastebuds of kids... Very nice for adults, but no options for kids who don't like spicy..
The hotel fitout is great and lots of fun. We enjoyed our stay and recommended it to friends as a fun experience. One couple we recommended it to recently (Feb 13) honeymooned there and loved it as well.
Not the best hotel catering for kids but rooms are good and big and service (apart from lemonade being delivered) was great. Bit different when it comes to hotels and I think that's what is fun about it...

Room Tip: We had an ocean facing room which was great. Last time we stayed there heard whales in the ocean si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi calekids,

Thanks so much for a very even handed review on your stay. It is wonderful that you loved the rooms and that the pool area hit the right spot for your families stay.

The Stingray Lounge menu is quite spicy in spots being rooted in Mexican tastes. If you come back check out Fixx Cafe - this has a really great selection for the more delicate palate. I have tried the spicy sauces in Stingray and wow, you really know you're alive with some of them!

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We really appreciate it, and I hope you come back when you are next in town.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    477
    155
    54
    31
See reviews for
210
669
50
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

great hotel very nice and clean large rooms!
stayed in a king room it was huge for a hotel room. nicely decorated. we got a free bottle of wine with our room which they brought up within 5 minutes of us asking for it. 2 great restaurants down stairs. would definitely stay again. close to cavil avenue and surfers paradise only downside was that we were going to the casino at broadbeach so was a bit pricey in a taxi (around $19 each way)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Emily W,

Thanks for a fantastic 5 star review! Sounds like you had a wonderful time at the property and I bet you were an absolute delight to take care of.

I hope that you get the chance to try us out again when you are next in town.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the QT Hotel for a few days - and I've got to say - these guys have got their act together. Staff make a hotel - and the staff did a fine job of making me feel welcome and enjoy my stay.
Breakfast and Dinner with the buffet has to be one of the best in Australia - and the rooms are funky, clean and the bed was fantastic.
It's the small things that make a good hotel, and finally - there is now a Hotel Brand in Australia that understands this. WELL DONE - keep up the good work - look forward to staying at the other QT Hotels around Australia.

Room Tip: It's great - to wake up to the ocean view - but all the rooms seemed to be of similar style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi awayalot0,

Yay for the staff! Hip-hip-hooray! You sounded genuinely stoked with your stay in that review. I am so happy that we hit the mark and made you so happy.

Bet you will come again! We are looking forward to it.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We ended up here via a cheap hotel room site, so were not sure what to expect. What a funky fun place. Right from the girl at the door, so helpful, all of the staff were friendly & courteous, even to us twice the age of most of the customers. The rooms are bright, 60's inspired, the bed was huge & so comfortable, Bathroom was also big and the products best I have used, fluffy towels worth a mention too. its is just out of central Surfers , but quieter and easy to walk to the mall . we will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear handbagtraveller,

An amazing 5 star review from a Top Contributor! What a great day we are having on here.

You must have been very pleasantly surprised to get us through a deal site! Quite a little gift :) I am delighted that you loved your stay and that we delivered on our service promise.

We hope you choose to book with us next time you come to town instead of taking the punt! Please let the hotel know that I sent you so we pimp your ride even more so than what is usual.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We traveled as a couple to the Gold Coast in March 2013 and loved our stay at the QT!
From the moment we stepped out of the car in the driveway we received prompt, friendly and helpful service from all staff we came across.
Our room (King suite ocean view) was beautiful, very clean and tidy with great views and on the 13th floor we were high enough to escape the traffic noise.
The bed was AMAZING, made it really hard to come home to our saggy old mattress!
Best sleep I've had in ages.
The Stingray bar downstairs was excellent, delicious food, great service and a nice chilled out vibe in the afternoons.
I drank at least 3 litres of complimentary iced tea and lemonade in the lobby.
The funky and quirky decor just adds to the overall vibe of the hotel.
Probably the only complaint we had was that the room did not have tea and coffee making facilities, there was a well stocked mini bar and a pod espresso machine however this was not complimentary coffee. There was no kettle in the room to boil water either.
But as we were only staying for two nights it was really not a huge drama.
If I were staying longer however I would protest at having to pay $3.50 every morning for a cup of tea at the cafe downstairs (although it is lovely tea).

Would absolutely stay here again in the future and would highly recommend it to other couples, maybe not as suitable for families.

Room Tip: At the moment there is significant road works going on throughout Surfers so anywhere you stay in Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hey erininwonderland,

Such a lovely review. Thank you so much! It is so great to see such vibrant and passionate reviews on here from people who have really loved the hotel. I think it really mirrors what we are trying to say with our property. Be happy! Have fun! Be a bit silly!

I bet you were as fun as fun can get while you were in house with us and I hope you visit again soon.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel, one of the best places I have ever stayed. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating (apart from the Stingray bar - the girls there need to smile!!). The breakfast and dinner buffet is without a doubt the best buffet I have ever seen. Do not eat lunch or you'll never make it through dinner!

The rooms are beautiful and clean with plenty of amenities. Only negative is that the bathroom is very small and it's hard to manoeuvre around comfortably. Also I had no remote control or DND sign in my room but staff were very quick to provide once I called them.

Pity there was construction going on outside from 8am on a Saturday morning as it vibrated through the whole hotel and ear plugs didn't work!! No fault of the hotel, just lots of work going on in Surfer's right now.

Spa is a MUST! Reasonably priced and beautiful place. Loved it!!

Finally, watch your bill when checking out, I was charged extra breakfasts and dinner even though it was included in my package. They were removed without question though, reception staff were wonderful!

Definitely will return, for much longer next time. A weekend wasn't long enough!! Amazing hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi EuroChik,

You have an awesome smile and with that lovely blonde hair you would have fit right in with our little blonde beach bunnies on the coast!

Thank you for a really lovely review. You review is even handed and kind with a lot of enthusiasm when it comes to the staff and the spa with I agree - all are amazing!

I hope you try us out again when you next make the trip down the coast. You look fun :)

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is an amazing hotel, so chic and retro and it has so many elements to offer guests.
From the foyer to your room and most of all, the restaurant, Bazaar and bar, Stinray. The classy and edgy decor and guest facilities makes this hotel stand out from the rest.
I have been in the hospitality game for many years and its so refreshing to see something different and reasonably priced.
Well done and congrats to the staff! I highly recommend QT Gold Coast.
Its a shame about Surfers Paradise and the roadworks and diggers in the way!

Room Tip: Ocean View Room adds to the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Lillychels,

Fun! A first time reviewer! There is nothing more cool than knowing that you motivated someone to get online and share their stay (especially when the review is this awesome!).

Yes - such a bummer about the roadworks. It's the light rail going in ou see, and once it's there it really will be an awesome thing for travellers on the coast so we are grinning and bearing it at the moment.

Hope to see you again soonest.
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.