We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing Accommodation...Terrific & Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added QT Gold Coast to your Saves list
QT Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Refreshing Accommodation...Terrific & Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is an amazing hotel, so chic and retro and it has so many elements to offer guests.
From the foyer to your room and most of all, the restaurant, Bazaar and bar, Stinray. The classy and edgy decor and guest facilities makes this hotel stand out from the rest.
I have been in the hospitality game for many years and its so refreshing to see something different and reasonably priced.
Well done and congrats to the staff! I highly recommend QT Gold Coast.
Its a shame about Surfers Paradise and the roadworks and diggers in the way!

Room Tip: Ocean View Room adds to the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Lillychels,

Fun! A first time reviewer! There is nothing more cool than knowing that you motivated someone to get online and share their stay (especially when the review is this awesome!).

Yes - such a bummer about the roadworks. It's the light rail going in ou see, and once it's there it really will be an awesome thing for travellers on the coast so we are grinning and bearing it at the moment.

Hope to see you again soonest.
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    411
    136
    50
    29
See reviews for
180
575
43
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

From check in to leaving this was a great experience. Love the lemonade and iced tea in the foyer, the uniforms etc. but, all this wont matter if the rooms are hideous. They are great. (Uniforms might be an OH&S problem waiting to happen.)

Great restaurants, don't miss breakfast.......
The theme continues in your room, fantastic comfy bed, Nespresso machine, balcony and great bathroom. Everything you could want. Great room service menu, reasonable prices. I would stay here again without doubt.
Only had a function dinner, but it was excellent. Just watch out as everything is charged, the coffee pods and delicious teas are not free. I couldn't find free tea etc.

Room Tip: Not sure, but an ocean view might be possible. But the rooms are so nice it may not be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Tatung01,

YES!!!! Sorry for yelling at you but another 5 star review from a Senior Contributor. This is blowing my mind! We hope that we are delivering the best of the best, but it really hits home on here when people like you take the time to let us know that you really loved your stay.

Lol on the uniforms. I'm hearing you ;).

Thanks for the pointers about the tea and coffee for fellow travellers. It would really suck t be stung with a charge that you didn't know about while away. It's all there on the menus for the mini bar but I can imagine that people may miss that, especially if they have had a big night at Stingray the night before!

Hope to see you again soonest.
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Well done to the QT in Surfers, you saved our holiday!
After having the misfortune of staying at the Coolamon Apartments, and leaving 2 nights early due to the excessively rude Manager and the place being so dirty, we found the QT - what a relief.
Explained our predicament to the staff on Front Desk, and she quickly gave us a very good rate and let us view the room before committing.
The place is very clean and tidy, has brilliant, attentive staff, who are friendly and are only to willing to help with any questions we had.
The Stingray bar was great, and although we didn't eat at the restaurant, we had a look and kicked ourselves for not trying it - definitely will next time!

Room Tip: We had a room looking towards the mountains, so cannot comment on any others. Ours was great, with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Peter C,

Oh no! Boo to the mean (I assume) man. There is nothing worse than a grumpy bum when you are trying to have a blast on the coast!

Thanks for letting ups know that we gave you the right launch pad for a successful holiday. we really appreciate you letting us know. Oh god, how hideous would it have been coming all the way from Wellington to have a shocker of a place to stay on your holiday.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

QT certainly lived up to my expectations. I read the great reviews on Tripadvisor and had a good look at their website before I decided to book the "2 night special" with breakfast for 2 and dinner 1 night at Bazzar which was great value for money! I don't know where to start as we loved everything about this place - the amazing decor and attention to detail, the retro yet current contemporary feel, the beachy theme. The homemade lemonade stand and treats on display at Fixx cafe were a great touch. I loved the vibe at Stingray and the great casual menu. The staff were all very helpful friendly and looked great in there uniforms. Bazzar was amazing and definately the best buffet I've ever had! The place was vast yet the attention to detail in all of the common areas, restaurants, day spa, cafe, lobby, lifts & the rooms never ceased to amaze me.The other thing which I noticed was how I felt at home after returning from a day out. We ended up staying an extra 2 days we loved it so much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Sandra T,

We love the Two night stand package! That's an absolute favourite amongst our staff members too when they are looking to getaway from QT Sydney or QT Port Douglas. Such great value!

Oh another beautiful review about the staff. It is such a happy place! Andrew, our General Manager, is one of the happiest men alive so it really filters down through the staff.

We would love to take care of you again.
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queesnland Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My partner DJ and I had the good fortune to stay at QT's for my birthday and Valentine's on the 16th February...we were greeted by a lovely young man Tom who organised our reservation... he had only been working for QT's for 6 weeks but he was very informative and enthusiastic...Well done QT for your staff
Unfortunately the weather was not the best but we had ocean views which was wonderful and we loved the little meringues.....nice touch

We couldn't go to the night buffet cos we had a prior engagement but we did pop into Stingrays at the end of our night and had a G&T for moi and a beer for Darren... loved our bed.... the next morning we went down to the brekky buffet which is always such a treat

You can't go past QT's.....the location and service is just fantastic but all good things must come to an end and we had to get in our car and drive 10 mins up the road

We will be back soon QT and a big Thank You for our wonderful stay

PS Just loved those green velvet high backed chairs in the foyer

Room Tip: Try Bazaars for dinner and brekky you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
LisaandDarren!

We remember you, and you're fun, you're fun, you're the funnest! Thanks for another fantastic review and thanks for being such awesome guests. We luv ya!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here over the xmas/new yrs break and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! QT has hit the mark on every aspect - location, service and quality. I booked it as a priority member (free to sign up!) and got a 10% discount plus extra perks such as late check out.

Location is fantastic - about a 3 minute walk to the beach and less than 10 mins to walk to surfers paradise bvld and Chevron Renaissance centre (where you'll find all your shopping and restaurant needs). The bus station that has bus services direct to the theme parks is also a 5 min walk away, very convenient! A very friendly and safe area around at night as well - the strip along the beach to and from the hotel is always busy with tourists and families.

Unlike most big chain hotels that has the same bland corporate décor and colours - QT has a 1940's beach theme which resonates perfectly with the surfer's paradise beach area. The bright colours, funky decor and furniture (some which can be purchased directly from the hotel gift shop) always put me in a festive mood no matter how tired I got from a big day out.

The rooms are spacious and clean with a super comfortable bed. Room has very useful amenities (such as the complimentary beach thongs and bag that I forgot to pack!), and a very tempting mini bar that was overflowing with goodies! There's always fresh homemade lemonade at the reception area which you can sip by the pool (which also has a bar that's open in the afternoon). There is a great buffet restaurant Bazaar which has an amazing variety of seafood, Asian and modern Australian. On a Friday/Saturday night the stingray bar is filled with a lively (and ridiculously good looking!) crowd. There's also a Teppanyaki restaurant and cafe located near the pool which I unfortunately didn't get a chance to try.

Super friendly staff who not only dress the part (love the uniforms!), but also provide fantastic service. Very knowledgeable about the area and they go out of their way to help and engage in conversation! Right down to the housekeeping and restaurant staff - they're all just lovely people :)

Thanks for a great stay! Already planning our next stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level for some great balcony views Sign up as a free member to get discount, drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Sandy D,

Yay! Another 5 star getaway. Thanks so much for taking the time to review the property, and especially taking so much time to run through your stay and share with travellers where we hit the right marks!

I want to say a big thanks for your kind notes to our staff. We really appreciate it. They work their little behinds off and it's awesome to get feedback directly for them.

We hope to see you again soonest.
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were there in one the newly renovated king rooms with a sea view and were truly lovely. The entire hotel is very modern looking. The breakfast every morning had a vast spread and was lovely. The location also is good , within walking distance to all the pubs and eateries. Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Choose a See view room, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi HHA-alid,

Thank you for a a wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay so much. We hope that you choose to visit us again when you next visit Australia, and we hope that you have a great trip home to India.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.