We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added QT Gold Coast to your Saves list
QT Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane QLD
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Funky Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My daughter picked this hotel because she liked the quirky decor in the room. She wasn't disappointed. The room was large and the decor was eye catching. The bathroom was bold and sufficient for an overnight stay but longer would be frustrating as there is limited space for you toiletries.
The staff were efficient and their uniforms were bright with a hint of fun.

The hotel atmosphere is cheery and uplifting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    477
    155
    54
    31
See reviews for
210
669
50
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a great value hotel for its location and I really enjoy all the quirky design features - which is backed up by friendly and efficient service. The standout feature though is Bazaar Restaurant - which has a great breakfast and an even better dinner. I would return just for dinner!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently stayed here with a friend in one of the King Suites. After reading some of the reviews, my heart sank a little when we were told our room was on level 7 - I had read that many people were disappointed with the 'ocean view' from anything below level 9. I couldn't have been more wrong! The view was fabulous and completely unobstructed and the room was beautiful and spacious. We had the misfortune of visiting the Gold Coast during the storm surge from ex-cyclone Oswald but the comfort of the room and the friendly staff made it an enjoyable experience. There was some minor water ingress in our room from the balcony door and there was some leaking throughout the hotel but as a Queenslander I can appreciate that Surfers Paradise (and anything south of Rockhampton frankly) isn't built to withstand such extreme weather, so I can't really hold that against them. Buffett breakfast was absolutely incredible and I would highly recommend dinner at the Bazaar restaurant on at least one night of your stay. Wait staff are firnedly and helpful, food is devine and the atmosphere is electric - there was even a proposal a few tables over during our dinner! If you like a cheeky cocktail, light meal and some bubbles you must visit the Stingray bar - a true testament to it's service and value is the large number of locals who drink there. My only disappointment was that you had to pay for coffee in the room (mind you, it is a Nespresso machine not a kettle and instant coffee!) and that there was no milk supplied even if I had wanted to shell out $1.50 for a pod of coffee. In my opinion, better off walking downstairs and ordering a latte from the cafe. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooms are lovely and the views spectacular but clearly the best part about QT is the very retro cool renovation that has created the funkiest ground floor of any hotel on the Coast. I liked the little unusual touches - instead of standard white paper and pens in the room they left black paper and a white pencil and some interesting things in the mini bar. great to see some thought and innovation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A big surprise - refurbished hotel now with very quirky & stylish rooms/general areas. The staff in all areas could not have been more friendly & helpful. Its a great couples & family place - kids are looked after but not in your face - ill be back

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Don't pass on the QT Gold Coast on your next holiday, especially with such attractive rates. We have just returned from a mediocre holiday due to an ex tropical cyclone and thank goodness we had a fantastic place to hang out as the beaches were closed.

My partner and I stayed in a King Suite, on the 18th floor for four nights. Our reservation was made direct with the property which generously included breakfast daily and two dinners at Bazaar. The reservation was handled professionally and confirmation was sent immediately. The room is spacious, nicely decorated with comfy beds and a huge bathroom with rain shower and a separate deep tub with amazing views of the skyline.

The staff at the hotel are young, engaging and very friendly and helpful - from housekeeping, to Concierge, to the team at Bazaar. I must say we were a little disappointed with the check in process - not as switched on and as thorough as they should be for this standard of hotel. No explanation about breakfast, location of lifts, help with baggage etc etc. I was also advised that a security deposit of $100 would be held against my credit card. The next day i noticed a hold of around $695 on my card - half of the total stay amount - and upon enquiring about this, I was given a very sketchy explanation. Not really a big issue however hotels need to remember that travellers don't have limitless lines of credit that when held without notice, can leave one out of pocket. Who knows it could've been a new staff member?

Food and beverage is excellent. We ate at Yamagen, Bazaar and even used room service a few times. Good value for money and excellent serving sizes. Housekeeping were great, calling our room to enquire if we would like our towels and toiletries refreshed as we had the DND sign up. Little things like this just made the stay.

A special thanks to whoever organised our complimentary bottle of Proseco and Macaroons when we arrived in honour of our anniversary. Great attention to detail.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved the place. Loved the feel of it and it gave a fun atmosphere. Wasn't too far from the main strip and received really friendly service. Would definitely stay there again. Very clean and the rooms where really great and funky.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.