We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Accommodation At Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Surfers Paradise Boulevard and Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality Accommodation At Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights as part of a Scoopon deal back in April. We were told to ask for a room higher up as they had more renovations and also there would be less noise. I can't remember the exact floor but I think it was approximately 17 or 18 and could hardly hear any of the noise from traffic on the roads.

Unlike other posts the room was actually well maintained and also had fairly modern equipment. I do suggest before you book though request that you're placed high up and in a refurbished room to try and ensure quality.

Breakfast was included in the scoopon and had a wide range of fruits, breads, spreads, yoghurts and hot foods. Certainly worthwhile for a cheap and quick breakfast.

When we stayed in early April there was a "schoolies" style week which I believe is for new university students which we were not aware of which was really the only downside as well waited well over an hour to be served by reception when checking in otherwise we'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Howdy255059,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit earlier this year.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am sure your tip about requesting a higher floor where possible will be appreciated by other travellers. Also the highest floors are our newly renovated rooms, and offer a modern look and feel and a better view!

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    227
    145
    65
    36
See reviews for
161
208
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. View out of our hotel room is the beautiful view of Surfers Paradise. Walk along the sand n sea at night was romantic and fascinating.
Service of staff was good and was thankful to the perfect coordination of the staff with my sis who prepared for a surprise for my hubby and myself (celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear ParamesRaj,

Thank you for this great review of your visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. I am thrilled that you chose the hotel to spend your first wedding anniversary at; it is great to hear that you both had such a wonderful time.

Thank you once again; we hope you will return to celebrate your next anniversary as well.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Surfers Paradise is such a fantastic place and this hotel would have been the bees knees 20 years ago!Grubby in need of a serious update!Clean but tired hotel!Service nothing to write home about no service at the pool!Fantastic location

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Shamusr07840,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay at the beginning of the year. It is pleasing to read that you loved our location.

It was disheartening to hear that some aspects of your room and décor did not meet your expectations. There are photos posted on our website of both the newly renovated rooms and the older style rooms. I hope you will return to the hotel soon for a stay in one of our newly renovated rooms as I am sure it will be much more to your liking. The small upgrade fee is well worth it for the great improvement provided by these renovated rooms.

Of course if budget is a concern the older style rooms can still provide a comfortable option with all the advantages of our stunning location. It is also very exciting for me to announce that we have started renovations to the rest of our rooms in order to modernize them and you will notice some vast changes since your stay in January 2013.

Thank you once again; we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times when attending conferences. The only thing it has going for it is the central location. Each visit has had it's own issues ranging from having to wait two hours due to the room not being ready to no air conditioning. Only the housekeeping staff can be commended. The rest are unhelpful - I had to confront the manager to get a discount for lack of air conditioning. Looking for alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear FrequenTraveller108,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am pleased that you enjoy our central location and are happy with our diligent Housekeeping team.

I was disappointed to read that you have encountered some issues while staying with us and apologise for the inconveniences felt. I do hope that you will consider us again in the future so that you may have the chance to experience the usual high-level of service that we are known for.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I got a free upgrade to a deluxe room with a fantastic view of surfers paradise.
Had a beautiful room with a balcony and spacious room and bathroom.
Staff was excellent and so was the breakfast,it was right there bang on surfers paradise which was full of eating places and pubs and entertainment and the great surfers paradise.
What else can anyone want.i was in paradise myself.

Room Tip: Must take a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Venudhingra,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise.

What an amazing review – thank you so much! It is so pleasing to read that you were in paradise yourself while at the Hotel.

Thank you again for these kind words - I hope you return for another great stay soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Good location to the beach, shops, cafes and malls
Room big enough for 4, breakfast little change for 3 nights but still fill up my stomach.
Nice room view. Staffs were friendly and service was good.
Nearby to few Chinese restaurants but I preferred the small one somewhere across the street.
I would recommend this again n again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear GNOIS,

Greetings and thank you for this great review of your visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the room, to the location, staff, and views. I really appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience with us.

Thank you again for this glowing recommendation.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellys Plains
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times & would stay again. Welcomed by very friendly helpful staff, always keen to assist. Rooms are lovely with great views of the local area. Short walk to shops, beaches, restaurants and supermarket. Very handy and affordable parling. All you need for a comfortable clean stay. Prices are very good value each time we have stayed. Packages available and grab a restaurant deal if you can. Food and service in the restaurant was outstanding. ...excellent food, great wine selection, fantastic breakfasts. We would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Rachael E,

Greetings and thank you for this wonderful review of your visit to Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise.

It was great to hear that you loved the location, room and view. It was also so warming to read that you found our restaurant’s food and service to be outstanding! I will pass your glowing comments on to the team.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Boulevard and Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#23 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#34 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise is situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise surrounded by pristine beaches, iconic theme parks and an energetic nightlife. Conveniently located just a 150 metre walk to the beach, the hotel offers an extensive range of state of the art leisure facilities for guest’s enjoyment. Relax by the swimming pool and spa, or get active in the well-equipped fitness centre and full size tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.