We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really happy with this one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Surfers Paradise Boulevard and Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really happy with this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had booked to stay for 5 nights and was very happy with our stay. You must go for the refurbished rooms though, not the older ones on lower levels. Great room, very comfy beds and great views from higher floors. Very friendly staff and housekeeping. Parking not secure but at least it was available. Great location and very easy to pop down to shops for supplies. Great pool area. We had a twin room with 2 doubles. Highly recommend staying here. Had buffet breakfast each day and pretty much the standard for most hotel buffet breakfasts. Was surprised there were no pancakes though.

Room Tip: Must get a refurbished room on higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear CarolineT,

Thank you for this great review of your stay with the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. It is good to read that you liked the refurbished rooms as well. They have been getting some really good feedback.
I noted your mention that the carpark is not secure, and wanted to mention that the parking lot the hotel uses is a SecurePark parking lot, and while there is no roller door, just boom gates, there are cameras fitted and carpark staff on duty 24 hours a day to help ensure the safety of the cars in the parking lot.
Thank you again for your wonderful feedback, and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    278
    172
    74
    44
See reviews for
192
249
52
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Well where do i start. Apon arrival we ented our room to find no porter cot for my 1yo daughter (who was asleep). My wife emailed the hotel only the week before we arrived to confirm there would b a porter cot in the room. There was a thick layer of dust on the shelves under the bed side tables, the glass windows were dirty and had finger prints on them. The balcony was FILTHY, it was covered in sand and ciggerett ash. Our room was a non smoking room however the balcony was covered in cigarette ash and my daughter even picked up a dirty ciggerett but from under the door frame. The t.v. was useless very poor reception, the remote bairly worked, the front desk sent a tech in to look at it but he said that's is just how the reception is & there was nothing that could b done & the remote was not perfect because it was not a genuine remote for the t.v. it was an after market unit. We tried to purchase a movie however after waiting 25mins and it still had not started i contacted reception, they told me they would have to contact the movie provider & call me back, after a further 15mins reception called me back to say there was nothing they could do, too bad! There was not even an appoligy, i then asked them to make sure my account was not charged only to find the next morning i had been charged for the movie when i checked my account. The bath/shower combo is completely useless and very dangerous when wet. The buffet breakfast is terrible, scrambled eggs were cold, the poached eggs were hard boiled eggs, the bacon was dripping in oil, the fried rice was more like fried pebbles, some of the fruit was starting to go brown it was terrible we decided not to have the breakfast the following morning. The carpark is not secure my wife did not want to go down there allown day or night. There are some good parts, the bed was second to none very comfortable, the view was great, the staff r friendly (maybe just some fine tuning on customer service skills), fantastic location right in the middle of all the action. All in all if you're not looking for fancy or luxurious then this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Michael O,
Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise.
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you found the bed really comfortable, the views great, and our staff friendly.
I was, however, disappointed to read that some aspects of your stay did not come up to your expectations. Our staff members did remember your visit, and I do apologise for the miscommunication in regards to the porta-cot not being in the room when you arrived. We do of course strive to ensure all requests are granted, and I am sorry that in your case this did not happen.
I was also disheartened to read your comments on the housekeeping, and breakfast aspects of your stay. I have passed this feedback on to our Housekeeping Manager so that he may ensure our rooms are always in the clean comfortable condition we are known for and to our Food & Beverage Manager as well. We receive many wonderful comments about our buffet breakfast from our guests, so it is a real shame that you did not feel it was up to your expectations.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how your stay went, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another visit soon.
Best regards,
Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 2 times here. In 2008 and 2010. We had great stays here. The hotel location was excellent. Nearby restaurants, shops, beaches and bus stops. The hotel located at the same block as Hard Rock cafe and a short stroll to the surfers paradise beach. The hotel room is spacious and clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Enya80,
Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
I am glad that you have been able to visit us twice, and that you found each trip to be pleasant. It is great that you found the location convenient, we think that our location is one of the very best in Surfers Paradise, with everything you need a mere stroll away.
Thank you again for your very kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best regards
Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I booked a one night stay and got a great deal on the grand chancellor website. We were put into room 2511 which was a premium ocean view room and it was amazing! Everything was so clean and new. The bathroom was lovely and the Peter morrisy products were a great touch. We had an amazing view and had another room with a couch and a tv in it despite it being a one bed unit. Check in and check out were very quick despite it being the weekend. I would defiantly recommend everyone to check this place out as some other hotels charge the same amount for a standard room as the grand chancellor does for a premium room.
The only faults of this hotel are
- the shower pressure (but this is due to gc water restrictions
- rooms can get noisy especially if you have drunken neighbours
- some of the other hotel guests were very rude but that's not hotels fault
I give 9/10 rating for the grand chancellor surfers paradise :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Georgiiia,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It is really great to hear that you enjoyed the trip so much.
I am glad you were able to experience one of the newly renovated rooms, and that you liked the views. I am also glad you did not let the inconsiderateness another guest to interrupt your lovely stay.
Thank you again for your very kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best regards
Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Coast
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel for our 2nd visit. Having booked through Wotif we specified a king bed as I am 6'4" tall. When we checked in the service was friendly and welcoming. We arrived at our room to extremely loud music from the next room. When we entered the room we were in a family room with 3 double beds - for 2 people!! We rang reception and were told there was nothing they could do at that time of night (7:30pm!!). We basically didnt sleep due to the lack of room in the bed and the continuous noise despite calling reception to complain about the noise. On check out we again mentioned the bed situation and were basically fobbed off being told that even though we booked a king bed we needed to ring ahead to ensure we could get such a bed, as the king size beds are on a first come first serve basis, regardless of how long ago you booked & paid for your room!! And they accept more bookings requesting a king size bed per night than they actually have available!! The receptionist kept saying it was a "request only" facility & was unable to fathom the fact that we specifically booked and paid for a room with a king size bed. Unfortunately this has soured our experience and we will probably look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Jandk95,
Thank you for this feedback on your stay with the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise.
I was disheartened to read this account of your recent stay with us. It is a real shame that another guests music was being played too loud for you, I am sorry that they were not more considerate of their fellow guests. We do have security officers at the hotel overnight, and they are very good about giving out one warning, then if that warning is not heeded the guests are typically asked to vacate the premises. I would like to apologise if these measures did not assist on the night you stayed.
The booking site you mentioned that you booked with allows for only requested king size beds, not guaranteed king sized beds. I do apologise if this is not clear enough on the website, though we have taken great care to ensure that on the site mentioned it is very visible; when you tick the box requesting king size it does state that it is a request only. Of course we do try to accommodate all bedding requests, however during very busy periods this may not always be possible. I would like to apologise if this has caused you any inconvenience.
Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Best regards,
Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It is an amazing hotel to spend 4 days at least...as it is Gold Coast requires time.indian food provided is delicious.one does not need to wander for food.the price is high but the hotel provides for it..one really has to die for the view we get..swimming wasn't a gud experience out der as it was cold..great hospitality from staff..will surely come back to stay here again

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Little_Jonty,
Thank you for this feedback on your stay with the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. It was great to find that you enjoyed the food so much, and I am also happy that the pool was such a hit. Thank you as well for your very kind mention of our staff, I will be sure to pass on your praise.
Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Best regards,
Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Boulevard and Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#19 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise is situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise surrounded by pristine beaches, iconic theme parks and an energetic nightlife. Conveniently located just a 150 metre walk to the beach, the hotel offers an extensive range of state of the art leisure facilities for guest’s enjoyment. Relax by the swimming pool and spa, or get active in the well-equipped fitness centre and full size tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.