We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Hotel Gold Coast to your Saves list
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Vibe Hotel at Surfers Paradise, we stayed in a studio apartment for 4 days during peak season and decided to drive up from Sydney. The location was great, close to Cavill Avenue. The studio apartment was spacious for two people with a King sized bed which was great! LCD TV and Air con worked all day and night, I felt like I was living in a fridge, the pool and bar were fantastic as well as the room service. The room service was impeccable, our rooms were serviced daily with our bed sheets and towels changed daily by friendly and polite staff. However, after a long drive we did want to find parking at the hotel and on many nights we were unable to and have to leave the car to valet, we were also called early in the morning about a complaint with what was supposedly our car but was not. Apart from the minor mishap, I would recommend staying at the Vibe, it was a great experience and close to public transport also, I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear JaninaGalvez

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful that you took the time to review us. We at Vibe Gold Coast always welcome feedback from our clients. Without feedback, we cannot know the true experience our guests have had whilst staying at the Hotel.

I can see from your feedback that you enjoyed your experience as we know when one travels to Gold Coast that you have a great number of Hotels to choose from, so thank you for choosing Vibe Hotel Gold Coast and staying with us a “hotel with personality”.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Surfers Paradise and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance in making your forward reservation.


Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    756
    343
    111
    79
See reviews for
308
750
126
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked for 2 night and realized it was a bad decision upon entering the hotel entrance.
The old carpet smell is bad and lobby furniture look like they are from 2nd hand store, still get the look but the condition is just like from 2nd hand store.

Our room is so old school, with old furniture and the sofa is very disgusting - turn yellowish/brownish from its original color.

The fridge even has a half bottle water from the previous occupant.
The mini bar food are near expiry.

The front office was not helpful at all. We were requesting for cancellation for next day and he refused to let us do so. We were thankful we went thru agent to book this room and we immediately evacuate from this hotel the next morning.

We did not enjoy our night stay with Vibe. Bad decision. Only positive point is it is next to Cavill Avenue where you get the crowd, restaurant and beach, and bus stop.

We paid a little bit more to get another clean and cozy room few steps down the road. Its all worth the trouble to leave this hotel immediately.

Room Tip: More suitable for backpacker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Cud

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

In relation to the points you have raised I will address your concerns with the Housekeeping department to improve our overall guest experience.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel 07 5539 0444.

Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

a lovely buiness hotel that you can extend your stay to a family visit on the weekend. Great location adn a lovely set up.

Staff are helpful and friendly. Stay here a few times, differnt staff but always great.

Room Tip: any rooms are great , either side has a view. if your a light sleeper go higher up to get rid of som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Janesjourney

Thank you for your feedback on the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, as we really appreciate hearing great news.

We take a lot of pride in our Vibe crew & happy to hear the service you received was friendly and helpful.

We look forward to seeing you again at the Vibe Gold Coast & please feel free to contact us directly for your

Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston

Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really do love this hotel - this was my second stay here. The rooms are well appointed and the location is great - very handy to Cavil Mall and Coles and Woolies are right across the road. The pool area is very relaxing. Only problem is the over booked and undersized carpark which always seems to be double parked so you have to leave your keys, but kudos to the staff because they will always manage to accommodate your car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Mad_ELK

The team at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from the staff & they were helpful with assisting with the parking as we do understand it can be frustrating at times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Vibe Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, good pricing, friendly staff, clean, def be back. Great view and nice atmosphere. $540 or four night, very comfy beds, air con and great showers (tall) which is important as I'm tall and hate half height showers, very pleased over all.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Jason C

The team at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the bed at the hotel & had friendly service provided by all the Vibe Team

Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed on Level 15, and it was very Loud from the Main Highway below the hotel.
The balcony gave it a 'looks and feels old' kind of feeling when you looked accross at Chevron Towers and other Fancy Hotels.
The room however was great, nice big bed and mirrors, spacious room, with LCD TV, AirCon, etc. it felt very new inside the room.

The TV is unfortunately locked down to PayTV and you cannot connect your Laptop to it. Which is a waste and makes the TV useless in many hotels, as I am not interested in paying for PayTV or watching Free to Air Channels on my trip. I carry my laptop with me all the time, and usally load it with entertainment. So we stuck to watching movies on my 13inch laptop rather than making use of the 32inch in room LCD.

The bathroom is also a little on the tiny side.
for a 192cm man, it the shower was a hard to use, as my head was touching the ceiling.
It didnt wasnt a good feeling and i would suggest redesining that bit.

Overall the price of $189 per night is a little high, as I got a better deal at Outriggers, and Chevron Previously, but it is not a killer price, as for much cheaper than that you ain't gonna get much better. I would like to see this hotel however drop the price to about $149 per night, as that would be more appropriate.

Locationwise, there are other that are closer to the beach, and certainly quieter, it is however pretty close to all amenities you require. And there is onsite parking available.

We stayed two nights in a deluxe room with upgrade $189.00 in Early January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Esco-Ibra

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Vibe Gold Coast.

In relation to some of the points you've raised, unfortunately the height of the showers is a design fault from when the building was built and yes the TV's have had the extra ports on them switched off due to them being programed into the hotel system, the pay tv channels your referring to are complementary & only the movies are at an extra cost to our guests which have been setup to be purchased individually or as an unlimited package over a 24hr period.

Regarding the rate you've mentioned we believe that over the Christmas/school holiday period this was a reasonable rate which was lower than our closest competition within the area.

If you decide to come back to the Gold Coast in the near future please feel free to book with us directly and we will endeavour to place you over the river view which is a quieter location.

Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Tamborine, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Pros-

Good location, near Chevron Renaissance Shopping Centre [with some fancy shops & decent priced cafes/restaurants] & close to a Coles ‘mini’ shopping centre, also not far from Cavill Ave & convenience stores.
Friendly staff, myself & husband were there on a wotif deal for $130 per night after our house was recently effected by the storm [power outage]. On the 2nd day we had discovered we could return after all with power restored, & staff were quite good about it, agreeing to refund & cancel the 2nd night as it was not required in the circumstances.
Nice enough views, of canal, not spectactular, but private [dated] balcony, at least in our room.
Decent breakfast with friendly staff, although [if you’re fussy about such things!] lacking grilled tomatoes, hash browns [potato gems instead], pastries, etc. Mix of Asian food to cater to tourists. Nice view from the café located within the hotel, of the canal & surrounds.

Cons-

Apparently it is recently refurbished but still our room at least was fairly worn looking, dusty air con vent, slightly yellowed bedding covers on the two beds which were placed together, slightly saggy mattress also [on my side, hubby said his was fine!]

During first night we noticed the fridge door was open with a towel hanging out of it, asked reception if it was broken & if we should still use it, a man arrived, ignored me, yanked the towel out & then strode past my hubby saying ‘enjoy.’ Did not appear too happy to be there [should note this is the exception rather than the rule when it came to staff].

Room Tip: With canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Carebear79

The team at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I do apologise for the inconvenience with the fridge, however I was pleased to read that you found the location and other facilities to your liking and also that even during the extreme weather conditions our friendly team were helpful!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Vibe Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Address: 42 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love the convenience of staying right in the very heart of Surfers Paradise.Your Vibe Gold Coast hotel is centrally located in the midst of Gold Coast lifestyle, opposite the Chevron Renaissance Village, just a block from Cavill Avenue, the heart of the Gold Coast shopping district, and overlooking the picturesque Nerang River.We are perfectly placed for a leisurely stroll to Surfers Paradise beach, world-class shopping, fantastic nightlife, restaurants galore and lots of fun attractions...Or you can just relax in comfort. The Gold Coast is brimming with fun filled activities including fishing charters, bungee jumping, motorbike tours, surfing lessons and even a few swings at one of the many leading golf courses at hand...And did we mention the beaches? And at the end of your busy day, return to your ideal Gold Coast hotel and relax in the comfort of your well appointed hotel room or suite, take a plunge in the pool or take an evening stroll along the promenade an soak up the atmosphere of the Gold Coast...Enjoy the vibe at your Gold Coast hotel with personality...Vibe Hotel Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Vibe Hotel Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Surfers Paradise
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.