We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay on the GC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Outrigger Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 View Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Night GC Special
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay on the GC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had an excellent few days at the outrigger, from arrival we were very happy, the staff were welcoming & always willing to help, got complimentary late check out although it was only for an extra hour till 11. The room itself was spacious, comfortable beds & furniture and a clean bathroom, it seemed to be recently refurbished. I did find a problem with the bad water pressure & shower head which sprayed in every direction, & also that there seemed to be a lot of noise, given it was a Saturday night, we could clearly hear the doors banging & people yelling from the street, but it was not an issue on Sunday night.
The location is fantastic, short walk from all main attractions, as well as tram station & bus stops.
Managed to get a good deal from wotif, offered free upgrade to an ocean view room which I couldn't find anywhere else. Ended up on the 17th floor, although it would've been nice to be in a south facing room overlooking the city, still had amazing views & was fun watching the slingshot & vomitron just across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    253
    136
    46
    36
See reviews for
126
230
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A friend and myself stayed for 1 night a few weeks ago. From our brief stay we rather liked the Outrigger. The staff were helpful, even letting us check in early, the room service was very nice. The only disappointing moment was when housekeeping arrived at our room at 9 a.m. when checkout was at 10 a.m. They waited outside our door urging us to leave earlier then we had planned. The Outrigger was worth the price we paid, there were a few parties in the rooms around us but we expected as much from the Gold Coast on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: The North facing rooms had quite a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger Surfers Paradise hotel for 3 nights and had a very good experience! The reception is open 24 hours so when we arrived at 2am, there was no hassle checking in.
The hotel is in the middle of Surfers Paradise, so you can literally walk to anywhere.
Sheets, bathroom, and the room in general was clean. Beds are comfortable. Our room was bigger than I expected. It had a balcony with a breakfast table and a view of the ocean.
The staff were friendly and always smiling.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. This is a fantastic place to stay. The room was really spacious and I loved the walk in dressing room we kept all the luggage in there and the room stayed tidy and organised.

Room Tip: We chose a room with two televisions so the kids could relax away from us in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in July 2014, the last Saturday of the school holidays and had booked last minute so was expecting it to be busy. We were in one of the older rooms, which had not been refurbished and it showed. The bathroom was poorly designed and when you had a shower most of the bathroom floor got soaked and was quite slippy, there was also no bath. We only paid $155 for the night so not expecting the Ritz.

We traveled with kids and ended up next to a room full of lads who were there for a night out on the town and as a result very little sleep was had, however the hotel security did ask them to be quite at 4:30am, after 30 minutes of excessive noise, they did quieten down, but the room was interconnecting so the noise buffering was not great and we were still kept awake. You would think that they could have a booking system where families were all located on 1 floor and singles, etc are on a separate floor.

The front office staff were fantastic and very friendly and the service excellent. The location was good, very handy for the theme parks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Outrigger Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mena,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Outrigger Surfers Paradise, and I am sorry that you experienced noise problems with the room next door to yours. Unfortunately it is difficult to know which guests may be noisy. We do occasionally also receive comments from other Guests when we have families with kids next door, so it is a situation which we try to manage. However I understand your concern, and should you choose to stay with us again please let me or reservations know that you would like to ensure a quiet room and we will do our very best to accommodate you to make sure that you have a peaceful stay. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments on our front office staff and our service, they are much appreciated , and I will share them with the staff.
Again my apologies.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stay at the Outrigger - this time we stayed for 4 nights to celebrate my husbands birthday and have some winter sun. The reason why we come back is that the hotel is in a great location, the rooms are always clean, beds comfy and rooms have great views over the ocean.
This time around we were a little disappointed to find out on arrival that the hotel was undergoing major air conditioning change over and that we would have limited fan/heat (no cooling) operating for the entire duration of our stay - I had booked directly with the hotel (in advance) and nothing was said at the time of my booking. We had a few times where there was no air at all (fan/heat or cool) and then a capacitor in our room unit blew up, which put an electrical burning smell through our room. Luckily the air con contractors were on site at the time.
Another disappointment was the lighting in the rooms - I know some people might like 'mood' lighting, but our loungeroom area only had a small floor lamp and even smaller table lamp which made it almost impossible to read or see anything at night. We were given another floor lamp to increase the lightning - slightly - but it was still quiet dull at night. Perhaps the hotel could add some wall lights into their rooms to increase the lighthing for those of us who like it a bit brighter.
On the positive side, the hotel management (Katie) and staff were very accommodating and did attend to our issues quite quickly. We were given free breakfast on one day and late checkout.
Although this hotel is a favourite for us, we may rethink staying at the Outrigger next time we visit Surfers.

Room Tip: Rooms on southern side have great ocean views and look over towards Cavill Avenue and out to the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Queensland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This isn't the best hotel in surfers but for $130-$150 a night it's a good deal for the price. I've stayed here twice now - the first time on new years eve & the second last weekend and will stay again when on a budget. The rooms are spacious enough, the beds comfortable & the hotel is in a good location. Haven't eaten at the restaurant but just around the corner the Clock Hotel has really good pub food at good prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Surfers Paradise

Address: 22 View Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#17 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outrigger Surfers Paradise is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, on Queensland’s famous Gold Coast. Perfectly situated at the centre of the entertainment precinct and only 100 metres from the iconic Surfers Paradise Beach. The hotel offers 411 spacious, refurbished hotel rooms with sweeping views of Surfers Paradise and the Pacific Ocean. Featuring a spacious pool area, children’s wading pool, spa, tennis court, gymnasium, business centre and conference facility, Outrigger Surfers Paradise is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. At Outrigger Surfers Paradise, everything is at your fingertips, the only decision you’ll need to make is what to do first. Beach, attractions, shopping, nightlife or dining are just moments away. Relax on white sandy beaches under the warm gold coast sun; indulge in endless dining and entertainment options or experience the Gold Coasts world famous theme parks. Just a one minute walk to the iconic Surfers Paradise Beach, or one block from the dining and entertainment hotspots found on Cavill and Orchid Avenues, discover why Outrigger Surfers Paradise is the perfect base to explore the fun, vibrance and entertainment the Gold Coast is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Outrigger Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.