We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Surfers Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Outrigger Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 View Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Midweek Special
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Had a great stay..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My friend booked me with my wife into this hotel for our short stay in Gold Coast. Hotel is near walking distance to all the attraction in Surfers Paradise and great view of the magnificient Gold Coast. Saw the great Hump Whale from my room balcony one morning and managed to get a shot of it with my tele. Saw sun rise and sun set from my room and the sight is just marvelous. just 100 metres away from the beach.

Breakfast was great with quite good spread but can be repeatable if you r staying long duration or u can eat out at plenty of eatery within walking distance.

Room Tip: choose higher floors rooms with the sea view.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Outrigger Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear LimR,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide comments on your recent stay and also must admit a little jealous as in 8 years of being on the Gold Coast haven't had the fortune of seeing the whales. The sunrises can be really spectacular and especially from the balcony or the beach.

I will be sure to pass on your comments about breakfast as sure the team will be excited to receive this feedback as I know how committed they are to providing variety and also fresh local produce.

Location is a real plus for us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and again sincere thanks for your valued feedback.

Kind regards,

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    213
    112
    45
    32
See reviews for
98
197
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

When we walked into the Outrigger on the Gold Coast, I had to ask myself, "do these people check on your Trip Advisor activity before you come?" Because the service was so good, the place so nice and the complimentary upgrade so unexpected, it was out of the ordinary.
They gave us a magnificent room on the 20th floor, and as a bonus we could see the southern end of the Gold Coast race track where the V8s were racing that weekend. The room was spacious and spotless, the facilities first class and the bed very comfy.
The staff were all very good, but we were particularly impressed by the attitude and assistance we got from Cher, the concierge, who was so helpful, recommended an excellent restaurant for lunch, and remembered us and waved every time that we went past. The breakfast was good, not great, but really that is the only partial flaw I could find in the whole place. Unless you count the lobby as a little bit soulless, which I did, but who cares, it's a lobby.
Not sure if we would head back to Surfers Paradise any time soon, but if we do we will definitely go back to Outrigger.

Room Tip: I reckon they're all pretty good, but perhaps the higher you go the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Outrigger Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Scrib310,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and sincerely appreciate your comments. One of the pleasures as the person responsible for the hotel is to read all reviews, but particularly ones that show we have contributed to a great stay.

We truly value all feedback as it allows us the opportunity of enhancing, correcting and congratulating our teams on a job well done and I could not agree more with you on the comments about Cher. Cher is an outstanding young lady and a real asset to the team, as she exhibits true Outrigger hospitality. Her standard of service is the expectation of all staff and I know with the team we have now - that this is what they are striving for.

Great that you had views of the V8 track, shame it doesn't come past the hotel as it did when it was the Indy event.

If you do come back to Surfers, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards and sincerest thanks.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormeau, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

They did not have our booking when we arrived , it took over 20 minutes to check in the room smelt and had not been cleaned properly. The staff were friendly and did fix our booking but overall experience was not great

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Outrigger Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear MarieC,


Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay was not either what you expected or what we should provide. I will be meeting with our Housekeeping Manager on his return tomorrow to discuss the cleanliness of the room, which in turn we will discuss with the team members involved and reinforce their role in providing our guests with enjoyable stays.

It would be appreciated if you could email me directly on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au regarding your booking so I can investigate this with our reservations manager and also if there is a 3rd party involved to ensure we have no booking issues.

I sincerely hope you will stay with us again to see action has been taken on your follow up

Kind regards, sincere apologies but also many thanks for providing feedback.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Unfortunately, the Outrigger Hotel in Surfers Paradise was a highly unpleasant stay for myself and friends. Problems ranged from a near total lack of room service, major issues with hotel reception who forced us to buy another room and perhaps worst of all - corrupt security guards who took bribes and bullied both our room and others with threats of eviction. Would never recommend/10.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Outrigger Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear HarryA,

I am extremely concerned about your comments on security and insinuations of bribe etc and treat matters such as these extremely seriously and would appreciate you emailing me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au so I have information to investigate.

Over the schoolies period we have received many postive comments from both schoolies and non schoolies guests on the professionalism of our staff and security, as well as generally very positive comments on schoolies.

At no time do I believe we have threatened anyone with eviction, but can confirm we did evict 3 rooms in week 1 due to balcony hopping.

While I have seen very positive feedback, I also will investigate your comments once I have received you email to do so.

Sincerely

Grant

Grat S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Me and one of my people stay on this hotel when we had our event in Gold Coast for a day...the price is cheap (might of the promo) than what I've expected after I saw the lobby,the room and everything if they ...they all nice specially the ambiance is really cool..loves it!

Room Tip: Room-so nice and comfy even if we here for event,the view is perfect,nice ambiance with the breeze o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Outrigger Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Nilda2K,

Many thanks for your positive commentson your recent stay with us.

We look forward to your future stays with us.

Many thanks for taking the time to post the review

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

stayed for 2 nights-7,8th Nov.2013.Asked for milk from room service,told to call front desk. On calling ,was hung up the phone.Same response ,when asked for international adaptor.In the evening i went down to front desk to ask for adaptor, The receptionist on duty told me that she is very busy with new guests and all adaptors had been given to rooms,although there was nobody else except me. She was rude also.this was a shock to me .I will never stay there in future,though location is excellent ,2 mnt to beach & visible from room as well.

Room Tip: stayed on 11th floor-no.1110.room was spacious,quiet,beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Outrigger Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jyot907,


I was extremely disappointed to read you review and would appreciate you emailing me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au so I can obtain additional information and be able to address personally with the employee and the front desk management team.

This is not the acceptable standard of service and it will be addressed.

I look forward to your email so I can obtain further details

Sincerely

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in November 2013. We had the good fortune of being upgraded to a higher floor - I think this was because we booked through the hotel directly rather than using Wotif or Scoopon type vouchers.

The building is designed in a way that all rooms above the 10th floor are capable of having ocean views one way or another. The service upon check-in was great, very enthusiastic and helpful.

The rooms are perhaps slightly dated but the bathrooms have been refurbished and are well-equipped. Bed was comfortable and room was spotless. The lobby has been well maintained and really adds a sense of class to the place.

Parking is a bit tricky but not ridiculous - there is some confusion as to whether or not this is free for guests of the hotel. Apparently it is not complimentary with all bookings.

The tennis court has been recently refurbished but it is so close to the beach that the wind will take your tennis balls and blow them all over the place. The pool was nice but is probably due for an upgrade - missing tiles at the bottom of the pool etc.

Was warned to expect noise from Light Rail construction - no trouble for us but I am not sure a lot of work was happening while we were staying.

Great location, walking distance to all of Surfers Paradise. Will be an even better location once the Light Rail is up and running.

I would say this hotel is good value in terms of its location and you won't leave feeling ripped off.

Room Tip: The higher the better - as close to the beach end as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Outrigger Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Wadsworth25,


Your feedback is greatly appreciated and a number of the things you commented on are being addressed now, with us reseating and grouting the pool after Schoolies and before Christmas, rooms painting has commenced, along with sheer curtain replacement and then we look at bed runner, pillow bolster and cushion replacement in 2014.

Our location as you said is great, one block from the beach, central Surfers Paradise and right next to the new Light Rail (due to commence June 2014).

I really appreciate your final comment, good value, location and won't be ripped off.

We look forward to your future stays with us.

Kind regards and many thanks

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Surfers Paradise

Address: 22 View Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#17 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outrigger Surfers Paradise is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, on Queensland’s famous Gold Coast. Perfectly situated at the centre of the entertainment precinct and only 100 metres from the iconic Surfers Paradise Beach. The hotel offers 411 spacious, refurbished hotel rooms with sweeping views of Surfers Paradise and the Pacific Ocean. Featuring a spacious pool area, children’s wading pool, spa, tennis court, gymnasium, business centre and conference facility, Outrigger Surfers Paradise is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. At Outrigger Surfers Paradise, everything is at your fingertips, the only decision you’ll need to make is what to do first. Beach, attractions, shopping, nightlife or dining are just moments away. Relax on white sandy beaches under the warm gold coast sun; indulge in endless dining and entertainment options or experience the Gold Coasts world famous theme parks. Just a one minute walk to the iconic Surfers Paradise Beach, or one block from the dining and entertainment hotspots found on Cavill and Orchid Avenues, discover why Outrigger Surfers Paradise is the perfect base to explore the fun, vibrance and entertainment the Gold Coast is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.