We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic private beach lagoon - great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic private beach lagoon - great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for over 15 years every couple of years and with its recent renovations it is like new but it hasn't lost the main feature of the beach lagoon and water slide - it has a minimum height so not for todders

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    338
    112
    33
    28
See reviews for
451
350
32
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed for a week in early NOV 12. This is was our third stay at the property. We have stayed in all room types. On the first occasion we stayed in a ocean view room, second time in Elandra Club room (hinterland view) and most recently in a hinterland view. All stays have been 5 stars.
.
Elandra club is great but you end up eating too much. Recent hotel renovations look great. Staff are excellent and cater well to children. The pool is great but I believe revision is required in the height for the water slide. My daughter was tall enough to go on the local ride the "vomotron" but not tall enough to go down the water slide?????
.
Benihana's is a great night out with delicious food. The newly refurbished cafe, lounge and hotel restaurant look great, however did not eat there.
.
If you have kids it is the best place to stay in the GC.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views however the higher floors are always beter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay there on pleasure and i can say that this hotel is located well and is a short walk to the beach. The hotel staff are just simply awesome and a pleasure to deal with. Their local area information is great. just ask the concierge for anything and they will know. I only wish i got to stay longer and enjoy the hotel more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently spent seven nights at the Marriott Surfers Paradise. The service was fantastic, the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. My 12 year old loved the lagoon pool and spent most days snorkeling with the fish. The lagoon pool is a definite highlight as are the resident lizards in the beautifully landscaped setting. Great place to curl up in the sun with a good book.

Room service was prompt and the food was high quality. The room was immaculately presented with superbly comfortable beds and pillows with the usual amenities that you would expect at a 5 star resort. A nice touch was housekeeping who propped my daughters teddy bear in different places on the bed each day. Something simple but she thought it was funny and has added to her holiday experience at Marriott.

Hotel location is convenient and theme parks are close by. The hotel is beautifully refurbished and has a relaxing contemporary vibe.

Overall one of the best hotels on the Gold Coast. Highly recommend. Love it!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

World class swimming pool with real sand and fish. Also has heated spa pools, water slides, cabanas, waterfalls and that is just the outside! Foyer fabulous, basic rooms a little small but all have balconies. Restaurant is the best seafood buffet you could wish for. Can't really fault the place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for christmas 2011 and I have finally got around to giving a review. We absolutely loved it here. Rooms were very well maintained with tasteful decor and up to date technology. We opted to include the Elandra retreat. The food there is amazing. We loved coming in from the beach and heading up for some drinks and snacks. Really worth it because the main strip of shops is quite a long walk. The pool and lagoon were fabulous and kept very neat. The lobby is spectacular. It looks so glamorous and gorgeous!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is my second review of the Marriott Surfers Paradise. Since we last stayed 5 years ago, the hotel has undergone a refurbishment. The lobby now has a fresh, modern look, and is very inviting. Reception staff met us with a warm, welcoming smile, and were friendly and helpful any time we approached them. Our room on the 17th floor had a fabulous view of the ocean and the lagoon pool. It was spacious, light and pleasant, with all the amenities you would expect at a 5-star hotel. The bed was huge and wonderfully comfortable.

Although we didn’t dine in the restaurant, we did order room service on several occasions. Service was reasonably fast, the food delicious and well presented. Even a couple of special requests were filled without difficulty.

I particularly liked the fact that the hotel uses one number, called “At Your Service” for all services, eg. housekeeping, room service, concierge, etc. However, I would have appreciated a “Please Make Up Our Room” sign to hang on the door - these are not provided. On one occasion, we returned midday to find the room had not been serviced. I subsequently discovered that a daily phone call to “At Your Service”, advising them we were leaving the room, was sufficient to ensure it was made up before we returned.

The hotel is a 10/15 minute easy, level walk both to the beach and into the centre of Surfers, but is far enough away to feel peaceful and quiet. Taxis were readily available if needed.

The Marriott is now our hotel of choice on the Gold Coast, and we will hopefully be returning there in the not-too-distant future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play with us! Our gorgeously reimagined Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa offers the Gold Coast's ultimate beach holiday and one of the top Surfers Paradise hotels. Immaculate beaches, charming hinterland valleys, and the bustle of high-fashion boutiques greet visitors nearby. Reconnect with nature at our Gold Coast, Australia resort, where verdant tropical gardens, a stunning waterfall, and the area's only private saltwater lagoon (ideal for snorkeling with tropical fish) await. Enjoy lush amenities in elegantly appointed guest rooms, then head out for an indulgent bite of the freshest Japanese cuisine at the award-winning restaurant, Benihana. Or, see what foodies have long been raving about at our famous seafood buffet restaurant, Citrique. Other creature comforts at our hotel include the Lattouf Hair & Day Spa, with a selection of spa treatments and hair services, and also an onsite, 24-hour fitness center. Book your beach holiday today, and let the daydreaming commence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Marriott, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.