We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary staff, food, pool, location, lobby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exemplary staff, food, pool, location, lobby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from the Marriott Gold Coast and couldn't wait to provide feedback! A brilliant place to stay - staff are truly ambassadors for exemplary service. The rooms, lobby, pool area and dining areas are superb - the lobby christmas display and decorations very elegant and appropriate! Snorkelling in the pool with the fish was a highlight for our daughter and ourselves! and the water slide a fun addition to the pool. The food was top notch and could not be faulted! The choices are amazing. The Elandra club rooms and service are very much recommended and well worth the extra $$$. The views from L27 are awesome!When things go wrong or are unexpected, the staff and management are promp to address all issues and make right.
Thoroughly recommend a stay here. Truly a luxury experience and probably one of the best places to stay on the Gold Coast. Loved it! Well done to the staff who truly provide wonderful, wonderful service! Oh, and the offering of chilled and sliced watermelon around the pool by wonderful staff was an unexpected and welcome offering! It's these little additions and extras that make a difference!

Room Tip: Opt where possible for higher level rooms overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    316
    102
    30
    28
See reviews for
413
322
32
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Marriott without a doubt would have to have the best pool area for a hotel in Australia. The lagoon style set up is a great way to relax and fantastic for kids. Being able to snorkel and see fish in a pool at a hotel was amazing and my daughter loved feeding the fish. The rooms were a good size and had a very comfy bed. Breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woongarrah NSW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wonderful stay here, where my niece's wedding was held. Beautiful pool area, and reception venue was sensational. Staff were superb and food was unbeatable. Our accommodation was first class, and the beauty spa so great for hair and makeup. This resort made our special day so wonderful as our whole family stayed here and we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: Our room was on level 12. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time I stayed at this wonderful hotel/resort. We were, once again, impressed and completely satisfied by the room, facilities & service. The lagoon is wonderful & so well laid out. The location is fantastic ... a 10 minute stroll to Louis Vuitton (!!), but far enough away from the "schoolies" revellers that we weren't aware of them. Besides the decor, dining options & spacious rooms, the best thing about this hotel is the service. Helpful, courteous, well-trained staff who obviously strive for excellence. After being out for the day, we returned to the hotel & upon entering out room, realised we'd left one of our iPhones in the car. Would we go down & get it? We decided that no, that would be too much trouble, we'd simply wait until we used the car early nest morning. Within a minute if Ben g back in our room, the phone rang. It was the concierge asking if we'd like the phone brought up to our room? Now that's service!
Such a relaxing stay! We will be returning!
P.S. House-keeping was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
WOW! Thank you for such wonderful feedback, especially in regards to our service and associates here at the resort. It is so pleasing to hear comments like these as they really motivate the team, and it is great to know that we are on the right track.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again at the resort when you next visit the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for a conference this week and I must say that the facilities were first class. Everything from the best choice of Foxtel channels experienced in a hotel for some time, to the reef pool where you can swim with the fish, and snorkle if you wish. The beds were really comfortable, and the corner twin room I had was big and open with great ocean views. I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I recently took our kids and my elderly disabled parents to the Marriott for what was supposed to be a relaxing 5 star break. After checking in and being asked to pay $400 to cover possible charges to the room, we decided to go poolside for a swim and some drinks only to be told that I could not charge anything to the room. With two thirsty children, I had no choice but to head sopping wet back to the room in search of my wallet. After thinking I had sorted this matter out, I then decided to book my parents into the $72 per head buffet dinner. When making the booking I asked if I could pay in advance as it was a surprise. The reservation attendant advised me that she would just charge it to the room. I was grateful until nine o'clock that night when my kids were sleeping and I received a call from my elderly distressed parents that there was a staff member pounding on their door demanding payment for the meal. I was appalled and disgusted. The next day I hired the Hotel Babysitter to assist my parents with the kids while we went out for a couple hours only to get a distressed phone call with my kids screaming in the background that they had been locked out of both rooms, they were cold, wet and the housekeepers were in the rooms denying them access. The Hotel Babysitter had to intervene and demand that they be given access to the rooms only to be told they would have to go down to reception and sort it out down there. The hotel staff were completely at fault for this, some error with the electronic key, yet they offered no apologies for this whatsoever. Honestly, I paid five hundred per night for three nights to endure an absolute nightmare. The room stunk, the bathroom was badly water damaged, the shower poured water out onto the bathroom floor and the mould was disgusting. I have photos that would make you cringe. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without mould and water damage, you can smell it in the air con and it fills the whol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are very disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable stay at our resort during your visit to the Gold Coast.

We would really like to have the opportunity of discussing these items further with you over the phone as we take comments from our guests very seriously and it is only by addressing these items that we are able to maintain our high level of service and ensure that our guests enjoy a 5 star experience at our resort.

Please feel free to call the Executive Department on 07 5592 9829 at a convenient time for you to discuss this matter further.

Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your experience and we hope that we may have the opportunity of regaining your confidence in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dural, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had an absolutely great short stay at the Marriott.And the buffet was to die for. My son had his wedding there and we could not have wished for better.
We all ended up around the pool after and the kids were in the water exploring all the great hiding places in this wonderful pool.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Our team and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your fantastic stay at the resort. We are very glad that your family chose to celebrate such a special occasion here and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play with us! Our gorgeously reimagined Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa offers the Gold Coast's ultimate beach holiday and one of the top Surfers Paradise hotels. Immaculate beaches, charming hinterland valleys, and the bustle of high-fashion boutiques greet visitors nearby. Reconnect with nature at our Gold Coast, Australia resort, where verdant tropical gardens, a stunning waterfall, and the area's only private saltwater lagoon (ideal for snorkeling with tropical fish) await. Enjoy lush amenities in elegantly appointed guest rooms, then head out for an indulgent bite of the freshest Japanese cuisine at the award-winning restaurant, Benihana. Or, see what foodies have long been raving about at our famous seafood buffet restaurant, Citrique. Other creature comforts at our hotel include the Lattouf Hair & Day Spa, with a selection of spa treatments and hair services, and also an onsite, 24-hour fitness center. Book your beach holiday today, and let the daydreaming commence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.