We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I ( 60 year olds) stayed at the hotel for 5 days in late October.
Staff were extremely professional but friendly, from reception and manager to cleaners and wait staff.
The foyer area is large and spacious - a great "resort " feel when you enter the hotel.
We upgraded to the Elandra(Club) accomodation. Well worth it. 27th floor with views over Surfers plus hinterland and a little ocean.Rooms have obviously been refurbished and well presented. Very clean and fresh look with comfortable desk and lounge chairs.
Breakfast and drinks and canapes well done. A tip - don't sit inside, move to one of the two balconies where two people can sit in comfort and have the best views.
Pool area was outstanding. Choice of the sandy beach area ( with clean water!) or the long winding pool with delightful moving water in one part.
Yes, we would recommend and return.

Room Tip: Hinterland rooms give great views of Surfers and a little ocean as well as fabulous hinterland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    315
    102
    30
    28
See reviews for
409
320
32
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently had a week long break at the Marriott Resort in Surfers Paradise with our two children aged 7yrs and 5yrs.

Check-in was quick and we were upgraded to the 27th floor and to two fantastic adjoining rooms with a lounge. The spa bath was a treat with a beautiful view. The rooms were very tidy and clean and they stayed that way throughout our visit. We loved the 'turn-down' housekeeping ladies with the chocolates! The beds and pillows were blissful.

We chose the resort because of the pool areas and we weren't disappointed. Fortunately we arrived after the local school holidays had ended so the complex was very quiet and had no problems getting seats anywhere we wanted by the pool. The downside was it did mean that there weren't many staff around for poolside service and one of the poolside kiosks was closed. The kids loved all the different pools and the waterslide and having the option of the 'sea' pool and sand was great. There was a good range of pool toys for hire. Happy kids = happy parents!

The food in the main restaurant at the hotel was delicious and the breakfast buffet was particularly good. We also dined at the teppanyaki restaurant which was fun and also delicious. The staff in the main restaurant were pretty slow during dinner however and we often had to ask where our drinks were. I can understand when things get a bit stressed in a large a la carte restaurant however most diners were having the buffet option so we couldn't work out why getting drinks took so long.

The location of the resort was pretty good being a block or two back from the beach. We only ventured into the main shopping/dining strip a couple of times as it was a fairly decent walk back with tired kids and we were more than happy to stay put at the Marriott. The Surfers Paradise beach is stunning and its easy to see why it is the #1 attraction on the Coast. The weekly markets were worth a visit.

Overall, we had a very relaxing visit at a hotel where kids were welcomed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
1,140 reviews 1,140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
928 helpful votes 928 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Marriott is an excellent hotel.

It is ideal for a relaxing resort vacation, with great facilities, including an attractive poolside environment.

The hotel was refurbished last year, and the decor has been brought up to date.

If you want to stay in a high quality hotel in this area, the Marriott is one meriting serious consideration- the others are the Versace, the Sheraton Mirage, the Jupiters (adjacent to the casino) or the Hyatt at Sanctuary Cove. Each has something different to offer.

The Marriott in particular offers an attractive location and excellent hospitality.

It's worth considering upgrading your accommodation to include access to the Elandra lounge- offering daily breakfast, evening drinks and canapés as well as a place to relax during the day.

Hit
Ghly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Hotel of 2 halves. Half of the staff fantastic, the other half- not so.
Finding seating by the pool was impossible , the day beds were getting serviced ( brilliant timing for the school holidays) . Not enough staff removing people's finished lunches means those massive Ibis birds having feasts. The big draw card for this hotel was the salt water pool- be prepared to be disappointed, quite murky when we were there and not that rewarding. Watch your kids round the waterfall pool/ slide .. The current was so strong that you get washed down the pool at pace. However. If you don't find construction noise that relaxing. You will be heading out of the resort as much as possible, jack hammers really are not my idea of a relaxing day by the pool. ( building site right next for the pool)
When we did complain at 1030 pm that both my girls and I could not sleep due to the function centre party noise downstairs. We were moved from the 11 th floor to the 27th which we were grateful for.

Will we be back - No.


  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am very disappointed to hear that we did not deliver an enjoyable experience during your recent stay.

The day beds around the lagoon were out of order due to an urgent safety issue, however repairs will be concluded in the very near future.

Our pool features a swim stream which is a popular attraction for our guests, although we strongly recommend children are supervised at all times. For the not-so-strong swimmers, we also offer a still water section at the eastern side of the pool.

The Gold Coast Rapid Transit project is in construction phase throughout the Gold Coast and at times there is noise disruption and I apologise that this exterior work affected your stay at our resort. The noisy part of the project work has since concluded near our location.

We have addressed the service issues with our team to ensure that our guest experience is our top priority and hope that one day we may have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our resort again.

Thank you for taking the time to bring these items to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

No hassel book in taking only a few minutes with lovely staff, clean room very nice everything was fine no complaints, breakfast lovely, great such polite staff everywhere you go, pool looked so much fun but too cold for me :P would recommend

Room Tip: we got a hinterland room, never before had we done this and it was great the view was amazing and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for a work conference but had stayed for holiday 5yrs previous. The hotel is as you would expect from a Marriott, good quality but not over the top.
The service is good and the food is great, their buffet breakfast caters for all with good selection of both western and eastern (particularly Japanese) flavours.
The pool is amazing with its own living coral reef and fish freely swimming on the pool with you, truly a wonderful experience.
There are lots of great hotels in Surfers so it comes down to what you want and what you expect for the money....I would certainly recommend the Marriott as a base for all adventures around the Gold Coast, especially as i dont like all the glitzy nightlife which is a little further down the road. But if thats your thing then look more down toward Cavill Ave

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms above the 15th floor the view is awesome on either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay while attending the conference recently and we appreciate you providing your comments and reccomendations.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is great, beautiful building, great service and great food. The salt water, heated lagoon was amazing. Sand and sun, just like the beach but without the crowds and a short stroll to your room. Just like a warm bath so you can swim even if the weather gets chilli. Great for families. We didn't see the amazing fish everyone talks about (where were they??) but it didn't matter, we enjoyed the swim. Its a great place to relax but not cheap. We travelled with children and had two rooms, interconnecting. Kids in bed, mum and dad enjoyed wonderful room service meals and peace. Great beds and pillows, had a lovely rest. Buffet breakfast was wonderful. What a great place, the kids keep asking to go back! walking distance to shops, supermarkets etc.

Room Tip: interconnecting rooms are great for parents wanting to get away but want peace and privacy after 7pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to pass on your kind comments to our team.

It is great that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the warm weather and spend time around the pool area. Over the past couple of weeks we have been introducing a number of new tropical fish into the lagoon.

We look forward to welcoming you and you family back to our resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play with us! Our gorgeously reimagined Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa offers the Gold Coast's ultimate beach holiday and one of the top Surfers Paradise hotels. Immaculate beaches, charming hinterland valleys, and the bustle of high-fashion boutiques greet visitors nearby. Reconnect with nature at our Gold Coast, Australia resort, where verdant tropical gardens, a stunning waterfall, and the area's only private saltwater lagoon (ideal for snorkeling with tropical fish) await. Enjoy lush amenities in elegantly appointed guest rooms, then head out for an indulgent bite of the freshest Japanese cuisine at the award-winning restaurant, Benihana. Or, see what foodies have long been raving about at our famous seafood buffet restaurant, Citrique. Other creature comforts at our hotel include the Lattouf Hair & Day Spa, with a selection of spa treatments and hair services, and also an onsite, 24-hour fitness center. Book your beach holiday today, and let the daydreaming commence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.